We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Crown Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Crown Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

313 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Crown Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 311: English reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here just for the location. Interesting building but not overly impressed. Bed was a small double. Breakfast nothing special. Very noisy at night till 3am though this obviously isn't the hotels fault. Seemed to be dogs everywhere and I'm not a fan so that's probably made me less than impartial.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rachel K
Crown_Hotel_CW55AS, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Rachel and thanks for your comments. I'm sorry that you are not a dog lover, we are extremely well known as being pet friendly although we have areas that pets are not allowed in such as the Grill restaurant and the Breakfast room so there is always a bit of respite for those that don't like the four legged...

Reviewed 8 September 2016

Very good restaurant with a lovely old style pub with a modern finish. Not much to choose from for children on menu but outstanding choice for adults. Amazing choice of beers and wine, a must visit at anytime.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karl I
Crown_Hotel_CW55AS, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Karl. Great Review! Children are always welcome in our Grill and should they want something that isn't on the menu, then please ask the staff and they will be happy to oblige if they can! Hopefully see you again soon Michael

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2016

We decided earlier this year (March) to visit Nantwich Food Festival, so though had better book 4 rooms in advance. On arrival helpful Manager who sorted out our parking and gave us the use of our rooms to deposit our bags. We had already decided not to use the hotel for meals, but to try something different. The rooms were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TNG0121
Crown_Hotel_CW55AS, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Hi TNG and thanks for your comments. Our renovation programme of a selection of our rooms is under way and the rooms you were allocated are currently being actioned as we speak. Apologies for any discomfort caused. The noise is another matter altogether and one of which we are completely powerless to change unfortunately. Your suggestion of a night watchman,...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2016

We stayed one night here whilst walking the Two Saints Way between Chester and Lichfield. Nantwich itself is a pretty town - rebuilt in the mid 1580s after a disastrous fire in 1583. The Crown was built in 1585. It seems to have many original features including bowed floors steep winding staircases and huge beams of dark wood cut, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
Crown_Hotel_CW55AS, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Sarah and thanks for your lovely comments. I'm glad that you appreciated our wonderful building and all that we have to offer. You are always welcome back. Michael

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2016

I appreciate that when we booked our choice of rooms was limited - we were guests at a local wedding. We were allocated a twin room, which was extremely small with a tiny picture window. There wasn't an extractor fan in the bathroom and as such the room was extremely hot and stuffy; thank goodness it wasn't a particularly warm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rachellh996
Crown_Hotel_CW55AS, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Rachel and thanks for your review. We have taken your comments on board and criticism at times is far better than praise. Michael

Clevedon, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2016

I ordered the steak burger, it came out warm (perhaps was left waiting a while to come out) and it was pink in the middle. I ordered it with bacon and cheese, sadly the bacon was missing. I left half of it, I wasn't impressed, on reflection I should have had a word with the waiting staff. My wife had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rich S
Crown_Hotel_CW55AS, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Rich and thanks for visiting us. I'm so sorry that your burger wasn't enjoyable. It has become a great seller since the relaunch and we have so many positive comments regarding it. In the future, please, please, please tell us if you aren't satisfied with a dish and we will investigate and replace if necessary. Hope to see you...

Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Staff really friendly, uneven floors and walls give the place a cosy and curious charm. Room was spacious. No air conditioning so with having window open had a bit of noise when local drinking establishments closed but wasn't that bad. Would stay here again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moody M
Crown_Hotel_CW55AS, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Moody and thanks for taking the time to review us. I'm glad that you appreciated the age and character of the building and despite being a town centre Hotel, you were able to enjoy your time with us. Hope to see you again soon Michael

Nantwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Four of us had a very good meal at the historic Crown hotel.The restaurant had been refurbished and it was such a contrast to the old building.The waitresses were friendly and helpful but was not to sure about the head waiter who didn't have much personality. The food was very good and we all enjoyed our meals. I had the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dennis w
Crown_Hotel_CW55AS, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Hi dennis and many thanks for your kind words. I'm pleased that your group were able to enjoy your dining with us. Both of the dishes you mention are firm favourites since the relaunch. i hope you can return to try more! Michael

Stoke on Trent
Reviewed 27 August 2016

I was originally going to score this a 3, but in retrospect a 2 is more fitting. Service was initially good, but we waited 45 mins + for our meals which only came after we chased them up. We were not told there would be any delays. By then we had long since finished our drinks, no one came to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
Crown_Hotel_CW55AS, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Christopher and thank you for your comments. It would appear that you visited during an extremely busy period and I am sorry that you were underwhelmed with the food that you received. I have spoken to the chef regarding the sauce issue and he has ensured that each pie will be served with extra from now on. Although being...

Livingston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Last minute booking for work, required 2 rooms and asked reception for honest room condition before arrival. Restaurant was fine, serving nice food with excellent service... (If you don't mind yapping dogs) The rooms however were nothing short of horrendous. How they can charge £75.00 for filthy ripped carpets and unfinished bathrooms is beyond me... Telly from the 60s being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1robbo1874
Crown_Hotel_CW55AS, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Hi 1robbo and thanks for your review. I can see from your individual points that you were disappointed with your stay and I apologise for this. We aim to exceed expectation with each guest and we have faile don this occasion. In mitigation to some of your points, we are a dog friendly bar and as such a lot of...

85 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nantwich
0.2 km away
The Cheshire Cat
The Cheshire Cat
#5 of 5 in Nantwich
195 reviews
1.7 km away
Premier Inn Crewe (Nantwich) Hotel
3.7 km away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#1 of 9 in Crewe
2,020 reviews
6.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Crewe Arms Hotel
8.0 km away
The Hunters Lodge
The Hunters Lodge
#3 of 9 in Crewe
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Crown Hotel is a grade II listed building in the beautiful historic market town of Nantwich. The hotel has been a central feature of Nantwich for more than 400 years.The 3 storied building was burnt down in the fire of Nantwich in 1583, The hotel was quickly rebuilt by Queen Elizabeth 1st, with timbers from the nearby Delamere forest. The Crown Hotel now boast all the features the modern day traveller expects yet, retains many original features including an abundance of Oak beams, wattle & daub plaster walls and roaring open fires.All our 18 guest rooms are well appointed with en suite bathrooms and Individual designed features. Diners in our Bar & Grill, which has been recently renovated, can expect cuisine of the highest quality using fresh local products and wines from around the world in a relaxed and unique setting. The Bar offers an excellent choice of ever changing real ales. We are a CAMRA real ale venue. FREE car parking and Internet connection are offered to all guests.The hotel is central for the Nantwich Jazz festival, Food & drink festival and many other local and Cheshire events. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Address: 24 High Street, Nantwich CW5 5AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Nantwich
Price Range: $104 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Crown Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel And Casa Brasserie
Nantwich Best Western
Best Western Nantwich
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Crown Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Crown Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Old rooms are at the front are older, very quaint but quirky! If you prefer more modern comforts request a room at the back of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles cgleef1515, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Can't help with this as getting to them all is not easy”
 of 5 bubbles JeanMcGlynn, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“At busy times -such as end November/December,when the hotel is catering for parties -choose a quieter room -ours, No7 was excellent..”
 of 5 bubbles 798angusg, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“You're not drunk it's the age of the building no straight lines!”
 of 5 bubbles TonyJ752, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The restaurant is 2 differing styles. The traditional Tudor as indicated by the building itself, and the newer development more modern”
 of 5 bubbles NormaCartwright, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5