We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

359 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 356: English reviews
Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Nothing wrong with this hotel. Reasonable price, comfortable bed, clean rooms. Very nicely decorated Maritime bar. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Was pleasantly surprised when we were allowed to bring a takeaway pizza into the bar as they had finished serving evening meals. Thank you

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Camperjacky
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here as the hotels in Liverpool on Saturday night were just extortionate and you have to pay for breakfast and parking too. This is a clean, efficient and well run hotel with suites which are luxurious and, for £60 are absolute bargains. One of the best value nights I have ever had.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kevin P
Barry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed over the Christmas period and the staff made us feel very welcome and made us feel 'at home.' Every member of staff, from the front desk, to the waitresses , to the bar staff couldn't do enough and always with a smile. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is the hotel is in need of some...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank nicolaphillips70
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your positive comments. Pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you found the team attentive. Hope you return in the future. In 2017 we will be refurbishing the Executive bedrooms which should be completed by May which includes the bathrooms for that wing of the Hotel. Thank you. Duncan Reich A.I.H. General Manager

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 December 2016

Stayed at the Hillcrest as part of a coach tour weekend. The hotel was nice an clean, looked like the rooms were having a re-fit. On arrival we noticed that a wedding party was in full swing. Thinking that the noise from he disco would keep us awake, but no, very quiet. The food was good for dinner and breakfast....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wideparting
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review unfortunately it would appear that you are unaware of the arrangements made for your group. The actual arrangements made with your operator a number of months back were for dinner at 5.00 p.m. due to the function already booked. Unfortunately that wasn't adhered to by the driver whose estimates of journey time to...

Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

Not bad evening for a Christmas do- carvery, bar and table service was good, nice venue and DJ was good. Reasonably priced and reasonable food- nowt particularly bad about it but nowt special either £20 odd quid for three course carvery and entertainment so not bad I suppose - at least we could hear ourselves talk to each other in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chunkymunky24
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your positive comments. Pleased you enjoyed the evening we like to think we offer value for money. Lots of our competitors are £10/£15 per person more, some for what i believe is less content. Hope to see you return in the future Thanks Duncan Reich A.I.H. General Manager

Reviewed 13 December 2016

Room 39, a "suite" was all that was available at this hotel. As I checked in I noticed there were signs for a 80th birthday party, complete with a live band. Fantastic for the recipient, not so for the unsuspecting traveller. I complained straight away of the loud music, coming from the hired function room opposite the bedroom and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fortisetlibor
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Why would you expect the Hotel to inform you we have an 60th birthday party or a wedding,conference or anything else ?that is our business and its to be expected. Why should we tell you we have a large group staying? normal business for a Hotel. Every event wedding ,engagement party night, funeral birthday party will have participants...

Runcorn
Reviewed 12 December 2016

Me and my family (a party of 8) went to a Christmas party Night on Saturday 10th December, It was a brilliant night with lovely food and classic entertainment. We paid £20.00 each and for that we got a 3 course meal with tea, coffee and mince pie to finish. The food tasted great and the meat from the carvery...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gemma C
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your positive comments so pleased you enjoyed the evening.We think its good value and a lot of our clients this party season have voiced that. Hope to see you return for next years Christmas party season. Thanks again for taking the time to write such a positive review. Merry Christmas. Duncan Reich A.I.H. General Manager

Runcorn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

We decided to hold our Christmas doo here this year, there were 16 of us and we asked to be sat near the bar. Gorgeous hotel, clean and tidy, pleasant staff. The reason for my 3 Stars is, the food was rubbery and cold & cheap but what do you expect for £20 for three courses I suppose. We sat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jackster37
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments. Cant agree with most of your views we have had lots of compliments regarding the food ,nothing rubbery at all. All the main courses beef , gammon and turkey are prime quality and generally i random sample every night. Its exceptional value for money ,cant see why any staff member would want to...

Widnes
Reviewed 10 December 2016

Great night. Lovely setting,plenty of room in between tables. Service was fantastic well organised. We were served starter and desert, good selection to chose from,the main was a help yourself carvery. The food was lovely and hot and plenty of it. The waitresses worked hard and did the hotel proud. Disco was good, nice atmosphere. Suitable for all ages. Great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BernieBarwise
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your positive comments we think we are very competitively priced offering value for money every year, which is probably why we are full all Fridays and Saturdays before Christmas and Christmas day. Thank you for your custom i hope you book with us again in 2017 there will be a modest price increase , and...

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here overnight as for my friends 40th which was nearby, we upgraded to an executive room. We have previously stayed at the Premier Inn St Helens South, which was similarly priced, but this was a much better standard of room....unfortunately I did find the room to be a bit too cool for my liking, even with an extra heater...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicky S
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments. We have a full maintenance programme all the executive bedrooms will have a full refurbishment next year as part of our commitment to guest comfort i expect completion late spring if all goes well. Sorry if you found a little cool we could have increased the output with another heater had you mentioned...

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Widnes
2.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Everglades Park Hotel
3.4 km away
Premier Inn Widnes Hotel
3.2 km away
Travelodge Widnes
Travelodge Widnes
#2 of 4 in Widnes
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Village Hotel Liverpool
9.9 km away
Village Hotel Warrington
Village Hotel Warrington
#11 of 21 in Warrington
1,378 reviews
2.1 km away
Premier Inn Liverpool Rainhill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hillcrest Hotel, Widnes is a modern hotel ideally located for overnight stops for those en route to the Lake District or the South of England. Situated in a rural setting the hotel offers access to all motorway networks, bringing Chester, Manchester and Liverpool within easy reach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes

Address: The Hillcrest Hotel 75 Cronton Lane, Widnes WA8 9AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Widnes
Price Range: $67 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillcrest Hotel Widnes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Liverpool, United Kingdom
over a year ago
over a year ago
Forfar, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms used by family seemed quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Camperjacky, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There are some rooms only accessible by stairs so be careful to ask if you have any mobility problems.”
 of 5 bubbles nicolaphillips70, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask when booking if there are any private parties booked.”
 of 5 bubbles Wideparting, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask the hotel if they can guarantee a quiet room.”
 of 5 bubbles Fortisetlibor, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“book early so not to miss out next year!”
 of 5 bubbles GemmaJ226, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay