We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

348 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 345: English reviews
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed at the Hillcrest Hotel in Widnes purely as a sleepover after visiting Anfield for football Booked through Hotels.com and was what I expected - cheap and cheerful. Slight delay to get room as it was still being cleaned but it was no issue Room was what I booked albeit not very warm on the coldest night of the winter... More 

Helpful?
Thank carltaylor18
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review pleased you enjoyed your visit. We have several room types if you require more space comfort larger tv etc., then the tariff is more expensive however we still believe good value for money. If you found your room a little cold supplementary heating is available just ask at reception. I am expecting a... More 

Kelso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

As we have family living near this hotel it's very handy when we visit As we only paid £45 for our room we weren't expecting much - however on a very cold night our room was toasty warm when we entered an although small it had obviously just been decorated and was bright,clean and cheerful No view but for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank susiebHawick
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to give the Hotel such positive feedback. I was pleased the Hotel met your expectations and we believe we offer value for money. I would guess you stayed in a standard bedroom looking at the tariff paid you can upgrade, we have Suites and Executive bedrooms the latter will be refurbished in... More 

runcorn
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A huge thank you to Louise, Terri, Tina on reception and all the other staff at the Hillcrest hotel for making our wedding day such a special and memorable day not just for us but all our family friends and guests. From when we first booked the hotel nearly a year ago to the day of our wedding on the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank owonowonga
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your kind words regarding the teams performance on your wedding day. I will pass your comments on to the team members at our next meeting. We like to think we go the extra mile on such occasions, thank you for placing your business with us and for considering us in the future. Myself and the... More 

Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived at the Hillcrest hotel on the day before the wedding the staff at the reception and restaurant and in the bar were very friendly the room we had was on the ground floor we had the reception at the Hillcrest hotel they looked after all the family and I would recommend it we are actually going to book... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie E
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to leave favorable comments.It was a pleasure to read them and i will pass your comments on to the team on duty on the day. Equally thank you for your business in the future with your nieces wedding for next year. Look forward to welcoming you back to the Hillcrest Hotel. Thanks... More 

Bingley
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived very late and I was welcomed by the night porter. The room was a good size clean and well presented. It had everything I needed, TV, hairdryer a good clean ensuite bathroom with a bath and shower with lashings of hot water. On check out I found the receptionist Tina very helpful and chatty. I can't comment on food... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Deedaws
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback. Pleased you enjoyed your time with us and i hope you return in the near future. Thank you for your comments regarding Tina. Duncan Reich A.I.H. General Manager A.I.H. More 

Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What can I say about this hotel, only that it was actually the worst hotel I have stayed in. The outside of the hotel is the best thing about it. The room was very small and dingy. The food however was the worst I have ever had. The soup on the first night was supposed to be vegetable but it... More 

Helpful?
Thank josewalsh590
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear ??? Well what can i say. Well in the first instance we never had a resident guest by your name showing on our computer system so perhaps that says it all. Making enquiries we never had any soup returned either from the restaurant or bar menu on that weekend. We served a group in the restaurant of 53 at... More 

Travellers are raving about these Widnes hotels

Falkirk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Selected a single room (#13) at less than £40. In fairness the room was small but clean and modern. The doors and locks were very flimsy and did not give a great feeling of security. Quite thin walls so was quite noisy too as people wandered the corridors. Did the job and the staff were all very friendly. Plenty of... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Ross A
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Pleased that in the main you enjoyed your time with us. The bedroom locks are fine some are normal metal key entry and one wing are code key hole entry they are perfectly secure so no need to worry. Pleased to read you would consider us again for your accommodation requirements. Duncan Reich A.I.H. General Manager More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2016

we stayed for 2 nights at this hotel very nosey at night due to a disco both nights and people shouting out side after the disco. Food was very basic due to being with a coach party but more care could be taken when preparing the food i.e carrots that I had on the Friday night was full of carrot... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 140kathymay
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest You were with a coach group on a two night visit we had lots of compliments from your fellow passengers and the driver who viewed it as one of their better Hotel stops. We served 29 other diners 15 of which were non residents on the Saturday (same carrots) and they were happy. You had chantenay carrots which... More 

1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Weekends are dreadfull due to noise from events room. Noise from outside bad too as guest makes noise when outside entrance, road noise bad too. Food very basic and rooms are too. Not the best hotel however the staff are very friendly and obliging. Drinks a bit dear considering the hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Mr C
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest By law we have to provide a smoking are for guests that is the front of the Hotel if there is excessive noise disturbing you we will respond if requested (presuming we are not aware at the time). All of our rooms at the front have grade A double glazing if you found it too noisy we may... More 

uk
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

It's really interesting reading some of the management responses for reviews of this hotel - as they seem to centre around the fact that you get what you pay for. I paid over £80 for my room last night - to be fair the room was Ok and the wifi was good, the food however is horrendous. I had tomato... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank richardf
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Sorry you were unhappy with the food.I reply to all comments and investigate.Most of our guests are happy with the food the diner occupancy has increased all year. Taking on board your comments clearly on this occasion you are unhappy. Please contact me direct when you require accommodation. Sorry you were unhappy thank you for your comments. Duncan... More 

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Widnes
2.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Everglades Park Hotel
3.2 km away
Premier Inn Widnes Hotel
4.6 km away
Village Hotel Liverpool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Travelodge Widnes
Travelodge Widnes
#2 of 4 in Widnes
132 reviews
2.0 km away
Premier Inn Liverpool Rainhill Hotel
3.1 km away
Premier Inn St. Helens South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hillcrest Hotel, Widnes is a modern hotel ideally located for overnight stops for those en route to the Lake District or the South of England. Situated in a rural setting the hotel offers access to all motorway networks, bringing Chester, Manchester and Liverpool within easy reach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes

Address: The Hillcrest Hotel 75 Cronton Lane, Widnes WA8 9AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Widnes
Price Range: $62 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillcrest Hotel Widnes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
over a year ago
Forfar, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are quite they have 50 rooms”
 of 5 bubbles MaggieE542, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid Room 6, it smells! Unsure about any other rooms”
 of 5 bubbles jilljilani2016, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the ground or 1st floor for better water pressure.”
 of 5 bubbles longfellow57, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles derechReigate, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't choose Room 5. It's too dark”
 of 5 bubbles kathycY8964PM, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay