We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes

403 reviews
Save
Traveller (61)
Room & Suite (40)
Dining (7)
Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good24%
  • Average19%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“four poster bed”(14 reviews)
“coach trip”(8 reviews)
“wedding night”(4 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Family Rooms
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (403)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
400 results
Traveller rating
135
99
77
44
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
135
99
77
44
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour poster bedcoach tripwedding nightnice atmosphereevery member of stafffootball pitchtrouser presscoach partyfull english breakfastwould stay againstaff were very friendlyhoneymoon suitebar pricesbar mealplenty of hot watergreat nightwedding breakfast
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
51 - 55 of 400 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2016

Room 39, a "suite" was all that was available at this hotel. As I checked in I noticed there were signs for a 80th birthday party, complete with a live band. Fantastic for the recipient, not so for the unsuspecting traveller. I complained straight away...More

1  Thank Fortisetlibor
Response from gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel WidnesResponded 14 December 2016

Dear Guest Why would you expect the Hotel to inform you we have an 60th birthday party or a wedding,conference or anything else ?that is our business and its to be expected. Why should we tell you we have a large group staying? normal business...More

Reviewed 12 December 2016

Me and my family (a party of 8) went to a Christmas party Night on Saturday 10th December, It was a brilliant night with lovely food and classic entertainment. We paid £20.00 each and for that we got a 3 course meal with tea, coffee...More

Thank Gemma C
Response from gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel WidnesResponded 13 December 2016

Dear Guest Thank you for your positive comments so pleased you enjoyed the evening.We think its good value and a lot of our clients this party season have voiced that. Hope to see you return for next years Christmas party season. Thanks again for taking...More

Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

We decided to hold our Christmas doo here this year, there were 16 of us and we asked to be sat near the bar. Gorgeous hotel, clean and tidy, pleasant staff. The reason for my 3 Stars is, the food was rubbery and cold &...More

Thank jackster37
Response from gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel WidnesResponded 12 December 2016

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments. Cant agree with most of your views we have had lots of compliments regarding the food ,nothing rubbery at all. All the main courses beef , gammon and turkey are prime quality and generally i random sample every...More

Reviewed 10 December 2016

Great night. Lovely setting,plenty of room in between tables. Service was fantastic well organised. We were served starter and desert, good selection to chose from,the main was a help yourself carvery. The food was lovely and hot and plenty of it. The waitresses worked hard...More

Thank BernieBarwise
Response from gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel WidnesResponded 12 December 2016

Dear Guest Thank you for your positive comments we think we are very competitively priced offering value for money every year, which is probably why we are full all Fridays and Saturdays before Christmas and Christmas day. Thank you for your custom i hope you...More

Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here overnight as for my friends 40th which was nearby, we upgraded to an executive room. We have previously stayed at the Premier Inn St Helens South, which was similarly priced, but this was a much better standard of room....unfortunately I did find the...More

Thank Vicky S
Response from gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel WidnesResponded 5 December 2016

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments. We have a full maintenance programme all the executive bedrooms will have a full refurbishment next year as part of our commitment to guest comfort i expect completion late spring if all goes well. Sorry if you found...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
191011121380
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Free Parking
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Room Service
Meeting Rooms
Banquet Room
Dry Cleaning
Business Centre with Internet Access
Breakfast Available
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$53 - US$110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$53 - US$110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (61)
Room & Suite (40)
Dining (7)
Pool & Beach (1)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (4)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Kerry P
15 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Andrew I | Property representative |
Yes we supply bath and hand towels in all the rooms. We also supply toiletries free of charge.
0
Votes
Lozzzz1
31 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Andrew I | Property representative |
Morning you consume the Hotels drink only when staying. Thanks Duncan
0
Votes
TravellingTh
14 October 2015|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Samantha-m2017 | Reviewed this property |
No the suites don't have fridges and the hotel is of a poor standard with regards to service and food. They also are not able to get information right about a guests stay and reply to complaints by dismissing them and... More
0
Votes
PreviousNext
12
Room Tips
"Front rooms have traffic noise but not too excessive."
Read review
"Definitely not the suites on the first floor by the bar"
Read review
"First floor is the quietest"
Read review
"Executive Rooms are lovely"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing