We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes

4.2 km from Widnes centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
The Hillcrest Hotel 75 Cronton Lane, Widnes WA8 9AR, England
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

360 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes
See the most recent reviews
Showing 357: English reviews
Widnes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 June 2016 via mobile

My Sister had a wedding vow renewal ceremony a few weeks ago .After ceremony we had to wait for hours to be seated for the meal . What a let down when we finally did get the meal PRETTY AVERAGE, just slat on the plate no presentation at all .Things didn't get any better the evening buffet looked like it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DoubleDee63
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Your comments are totally misleading, lets go to the facts.We take instructions from the client and its contracted, that was for the main meal to be served at 4.00 p.m. As always we try and give the best service. On the day taking account of the arrival time we suggested that the long wait until 4.00 p.m. may...

Reviewed 8 June 2016 via mobile

All of it was lovely apart from the food, the food was shockingly bad especially if you are not a meat or fish eater. I thought the selection, even though my sister-in-law had already given them plenty of advance notice was terrible. If their chef thinks serving a pepper stuff with yellow coloured rice is an acceptable alternative, then their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nita g
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest All your comments and others regarding this function are unfounded the quality of the meal was good throughout and the menu content served was as selected by the client. I find it especially unusual that all the other weddings and other functions who have similar or the same menus seem to be happy. I find it equally strange...

Reviewed 7 June 2016

We attended a vow renewal several weeks ago. It was particularly poignant as it had necessarily been postponed due to one of the couple's ill health. The wedding room was beautifully laid out and the 'service' was very moving. It took an age for us to be called to the wedding breakfast. Once we were the starter was delicious but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Loulie S
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments. The wedding breakfast had a contracted time given to us as 4.00p.m. We have only serviced one wedding vows renewal this year and it was only three weeks ago last Saturday, very strange that i should be receiving a few comments now. We suggested to the bride it would be a long wait...

Runcorn,Cheshire
Reviewed 7 June 2016

Attended friends Wedding Reception, have been to the Hillcrest for a meal but a while ago. Meal in restaurant was not as good as previously had. Ordered steak but had to ask for steak knife, ordered peppercorn sauce to go with meal, but again had to ask for it as it had been "forgotten". Unfortunately was disappointed with wedding meal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Superhilt
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are aware of your party the Operations Manager was serving you in the restaurant. She remembers the details including the complements on the night from those who were renewing their vows and others. You never had to ask for the peppercorn sauce Sarah informed you it would be with you shortly when your mains were served. At...

Woonona, Australia
Reviewed 7 June 2016

I attended a wedding at your hotel and yes before you say you probably know which one. However, as I attended your restaurant the previous night so I could have foreseen the food which would be presented to us. I couldn't eat my food the night before due to the smell from the fat from the chips on my plate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Speshl67
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments there was nothing wrong with any of the food or service so no excuses needed not that ever give any. All the guests received a quality product at a reasonable price. The Chef has been here three years and is a stalwart of 25 years experience, very capable not perfect as none of...

Reviewed 2 June 2016

Booked this hotel for my recent wedding vow renewal what a disappointment. Room was lovely and very comfortable however they didn't service it for the evening of my wedding as when they came to service it a male voice informed them it wasn't required. Not sure who that could be given as all the occupants where infact female. I returned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debby G
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest I have already written to you under separate cover.We tried to service your bedroom on your second day and we were informed this was not required after knocking on the door. That is further confirmed in that reception contacted you to see if you didn't want your room servicing then we could leave fresh towels outside the bedroom....

Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

Nice hotel with nice decor and staff however the food served up was dire, an hour to produce simple straight forward food and when it did turn up it was foul, sent it back and it took at least another 30mins to add mince to a spag Bol. The chef has really let this hotel down

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Trudy G
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest You ordered tagliatelle bolognese at the bar. You said it wasn't right and the barman thought you were referring to wanting more cheese. Returning to the kitchen adding more and cheese and returning. We were then informed you wanted more mince, by this time we decided to cook you a fresh repeat meal. There was a delay as...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 May 2016

Stayed for the weekend for a family wedding. The meals we had at the restaurant were poor, the meat was overcooked and some even missing from the mixed grills. We had to chase up things such as sauces etc. The wedding breakfast wasn't nice at all - it was barely lukewarm, I had a few mouthfuls but didn't continue the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danielle g
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest We remember you. On the Friday you ate in the restaurant party of about 13 said everything was lovely. You would have been informed prior to ordering that we no longer serve pork chop with the mixed grill and offered a full steak or chicken breast as alternative. On the night you said everything was great .....how different...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 May 2016

We recently held our wedding at the Hillcrest and we have to say it couldn't have been any better. From the grooms party arriving on the Friday night to check out on Sunday we were looked after superbly by every member of staff. The service, food and overall stay was excellent. The wedding day itself went perfectly, as a very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KarenDrew0516
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments. A wedding is such a special occasion and its pleasing for myself and the team to read how much you enjoyed everything at the Hotel. It was so kind of you to mention the team and how you felt relaxed on the day. I will make sure Sarah is aware of your positive...

St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 May 2016

Went here for a celebration just recently. Drinks were expensive and the food both for the sit down meal in the afternoon and the buffet at night was less than average. The vegetarian option was a red pepper stuffed with boiled rice. It was a big let down. There was also a problem with not enough staff both on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HelenG350
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest I totally disagree with your comments and i know of the function you attended.Fact we have the cheapest drink prices by far of any Hotel in the area against our competitors. The buffet served was excellent value for money and is our most popular. Bell of red pepper stuffed with pilau rice is a regular dish for vegetarians...

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Widnes
2.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Everglades Park Hotel
3.4 km away
Premier Inn Widnes Hotel
2.1 km away
Premier Inn Liverpool Rainhill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 km away
Suites Hotel & Spa -  Knowsley
4.6 km away
Village Hotel Liverpool
9.9 km away
Village Hotel Warrington
Village Hotel Warrington
#11 of 21 in Warrington
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hillcrest Hotel, Widnes is a modern hotel ideally located for overnight stops for those en route to the Lake District or the South of England. Situated in a rural setting the hotel offers access to all motorway networks, bringing Chester, Manchester and Liverpool within easy reach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes

Address: The Hillcrest Hotel 75 Cronton Lane, Widnes WA8 9AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Widnes
Price Range: $69 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillcrest Hotel Widnes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Liverpool, United Kingdom
over a year ago
over a year ago
Forfar, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms used by family seemed quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Camperjacky, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There are some rooms only accessible by stairs so be careful to ask if you have any mobility problems.”
 of 5 bubbles nicolaphillips70, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask when booking if there are any private parties booked.”
 of 5 bubbles Wideparting, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask the hotel if they can guarantee a quiet room.”
 of 5 bubbles Fortisetlibor, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“book early so not to miss out next year!”
 of 5 bubbles GemmaJ226, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5