We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
02/07/2017 03/07/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Alston Youth Hostel

    The Firs | The Firs, Alston CA9 3RW, England
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    02/07/2017 03/07/2017
    1 room
    • 1 room
      2 adults
      • 2 adults
        0 children
        • 0 children
          Traveller (8)
          Room & Suite (5)
          Dining (3)
          Lowbyer Manor Country House
          191 reviews
          #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Alston
           
          Nent Hall Country House Hotel
          545 reviews
          #1 of 2 hotels in Alston
           
          Alston House
          268 reviews
          #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Alston
           
          YHA Dufton
          38 reviews
          #2 of 4 Speciality lodging in Appleby
           
          Overview
          • Excellent76%
          • Very good17%
          • Average5%
          • Poor2%
          • Terrible0%
          Travellers talk about
          “drying room” (5 reviews)
          “bike storage” (3 reviews)
          Free Wifi
          Free Parking
          Non-Smoking Hotel
          Family Rooms
          Laundry Service
          Self-Serve Laundry
          Air Conditioning
          Pool
          3.0 Star Hotel
          All hotel details
          Lowbyer Manor Country House
          191 reviews
          #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Alston
           
          Nent Hall Country House Hotel
          545 reviews
          #1 of 2 hotels in Alston
           
          Alston House
          268 reviews
          #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Alston
           
          YHA Dufton
          38 reviews
          #2 of 4 Speciality lodging in Appleby
           
          {"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null}
          Write a Review
          Reviews (40)
          Traveller rating
          Traveller type
          Time of year
          Language

          1 - 5 of 40 reviews

          Reviewed 4 weeks ago

          I stayed here while walking the Pennine Way last year, and it's conveniently right on the Pennine Way. The staff were excellent, Alston the town is interesting to walk through, and the facilities were well-maintained, with a good kitchen and comfortable beds. However, what set...More

          Thank Jon M
          Response from LindaAlmond, Manager at Alston Youth HostelResponded 4 weeks ago

          Dear John Many thanks for taking the time to review our hostel and your very positive and kind words. We are very happy that the squirrels kept you entertained whilst you had your breakfast and helped to make your stay even more memorable! We keep...More

          Reviewed 10 May 2017

          We've stayed in many hostels, large and small, urban and rural, at home and abroad and relished the experiences we've had and the people we've met at all of them ( apart from Sheringham, terrible room ). But squirrely Alston has clearly had a lot...More

          Thank salixman
          Response from LindaAlmond, Owner at Alston Youth HostelResponded 4 weeks ago

          Thank you so much for your very kind review! We do work hard to keep the hostel clean and welcoming as we thinks it's so important for weary travellers however they arrive here to have a comfortable stay and a hearty breakfast! Clearly our little...More

          Reviewed 4 March 2017

          We only had a brief overnight stay on the way to the Lakes, but we were given a very warm welcome. A well laid out kitchen & dining area and an excellent breakfast with the supporting act of red squirrels through the big window.

          Thank Geoff and Clare L
          Response from AlstonYH14, Owner at Alston Youth HostelResponded 5 March 2017

          Thank you for your very nice review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope your return visit is just as good! The squirrels have been primed for more breakfast time antics to keep guests amused!

          Reviewed 3 October 2016

          blown away by lovely people, never stayed in a youth hostel before, these people took the concept of hospitality and help fullness further . Wish I was there tonight. Good luck guys. Each one of the owners impressed me with their wit and friendliness

          Thank Chris E
          Response from AlstonYH14, Owner at Alston Youth HostelResponded 4 October 2016

          Thank you so much for your very kind words! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and made your first experience of a youth hostel a positive one!!

          Reviewed 27 September 2016

          From a very friendly welcome, to the superbly clean rooms, this is everything a hostel should be. The breakfast was freshly cooked for each guest and was excellent. Although this hostel is within the YHA network, it is privately owned and run as a YHA...More

          1  Thank Pete M
          Response from AlstonYH14, Owner at Alston Youth HostelResponded 28 September 2016

          Dear Pete. Thank you for taking the time to leave us such lovely feedback after your stay with us! We do work hard to keep our hostel clean and welcoming but it makes it all worth while when we get such nice comments from our...More

          Lowbyer Manor Country House
          191 reviews
          #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Alston
           
          Nent Hall Country House Hotel
          545 reviews
          #1 of 2 hotels in Alston
           
          Alston House
          268 reviews
          #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Alston
           
          YHA Dufton
          38 reviews
          #2 of 4 Speciality lodging in Appleby
           
          About
          Awards & Recognition
          Certificate of Excellence
          Amenities
          • Top amenities
          • Free Parking
          • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
          • Hotel Amenities
          • Free Parking
          • Self-Serve Laundry
          • Laundry Service
          Details
          • Hotel class
          • Room types
          • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
          • Family Rooms
          • Number of rooms
          • 7
          • Location
          • United Kingdom >
          • England >
          • Cumbria >
          • Alston
          Add Photo Photos
          Traveller (8)
          Room & Suite (5)
          Dining (3)
          Hotel & Grounds (15)
          Nearby
          Nent Hall Country House Hotel
          545 reviews
          4.11 km away
           
          Cumberland Inn
          113 reviews
          .28 km away
           
          Nearby Restaurants
          The Crown Hotel
          47 reviews
          .42 km away
          Cumberland Inn
          125 reviews
          .28 km away
          Alston House
          155 reviews
          .28 km away
          The Moody Baker Co-Op
          25 reviews
          .40 km away
          Nearby Attractions
          South Tynedale Railway
          170 reviews
          .55 km away
          Killhope Lead Mining Museum
          187 reviews
          11.32 km away
          Allendale Forge Studios
          55 reviews
          15.51 km away
          Allen Banks and Staward Gorge
          59 reviews
          19.80 km away
          Questions & Answers
          Get quick answers from Alston Youth Hostel staff and past guests.
          Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
          Posting guidelines
          Submit
          Room Tips
          "Rooms are all top notch"
          Read review
          "there aint any good rooms its a hostel"
          Read review
          "Ask for a bigger room - some are slightly small."
          Read review
          Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
          Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing