We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The White Mare

Expedia.comUS$105*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The White Mare
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 115: English reviews
Start your review of The White Mare
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Absolutely a must. The staff are so polite and professional. The food to die for. Stunning pub with an exceptional taste of class. Can't recommend enough. Our food came like a Michelin star restaurant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gill Bragg D
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After reading some of the reviews on TA, I have to say that our stay here could not have been better. The staff were friendly, the food was lovely, and the bed was really comfortable. The room was quirky in its shape, and the sound of the river made it extra special.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tiggermum
DianneIrving, Owner at The White Mare, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review, I am really glad you enjoyed our accommodation and food. We hope to welcome you back sometime in the near future.

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Called in for Sunday Lunch after our good meal on a previous visit. We both decided on a beef dinner. We ordered drinks which for me was a pint of Amstel, lovely pint it was too I had to have 2 more. Dinner was served and it was delicious a very generous amount of meat and served with veg that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
Dianne I, Owner at The White Mare, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your meal, Sunday Dinner is one of my personal favourites! Just a pity you couldn't manage a pudding as our dessert chef is excellent!

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were staying at another hotel and they recommended the White mare for food. We were not disappointed as the food was very good and the atmosphere cosy and welcoming . The staff were very pleasant and efficient. Lovely village and great beer garden also in hotel for these sunny days . Woud come back here for the food which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ksb14
Dianne I, Owner at The White Mare, responded to this review

I am really glad that you enjoyed your visit to us and that the sun was shining enough to allow you to make use of our beer garden by the beck. I am delighted you enjoyed your food and we would love to welcome you back sometime soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went for a meal and we both steak, asked for it well done, was pink and cold. The portion size was pretty good, large steak and large onion rings. Was taken back and changed for another one, steak was cooked well done, but was disappointed with the size of the meal which was way smaller than the first one, small...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jamie2431
Dianne I, Owner at The White Mare, responded to this review

I am sorry that you had a disappointing visit to the White Mare. I remember your visit and I apologise that your steaks were not cooked as you asked. This was a genuine mix up in the kitchen and was immediately recognised by our staff who took your meals away, apologised and had them recooked from scratch. The meals were...

Valencia
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

This is a great place to stay in a lovely small village. All the staff from the couple running it to the chief and even the cleaning girls made us feel very welcome. We where included in the villages egg thumping contest they made meals even when they where shutting the kitchen and the food and breakfast was very good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank boothy22
Dianne I, Owner at The White Mare, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments, we are really delighted that you had a great weekend and hope to welcome you back soon.

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Located in a quaint village setting next to the church the White Mare welcomed us with a first class service and the owner made us feel immediately at home. With modern spacious bedrooms, beautifully decorated and comfort Lenny Henry would be proud of. The bar/ restaurant has a great atmosphere and the menu has something for all palettes, their popularity...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JaneWay265
Dianne I, Owner at The White Mare, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments, we are delighted to have an excellent staff team who all work extremely hard to make your stay enjoyable, its lovely to have such positive feedback to share with them

Pitlochry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 March 2017

went out for an evening meal. this visit was much better than the previous visit we were warmly welcomed and served quickly, the meal was excellent and with one exception all the staff were friendly and courteous

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ch00chter
Dianne I, Owner at The White Mare, responded to this review

I am glad that you enjoyed an excellent meal and a warm welcome on your recent visit to us; we have made some small staff changes in the last few months and are confident we have an excellent team driving us forward. If there were any exceptions to this rule please let me know personally and I shall deal with...

cumbria
Reviewed 26 February 2017

We ate here a couple of weeks ago and decided to go back, I'm glad we did. The food was delicious, I had red Thai chicken curry and it was beautiful, just a little kick to it nothing to serious, my husband had Cajun chicken and that was equally nice. The staff were really nice, not too in your face...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katelin H
Dianne I, Owner at The White Mare, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed some of our new dishes. We have an excellent New Head Chef who has been experimenting with various dishes over the past month and is now about to launch her very own signature menu. If you enjoyed these I am sure you will love what is coming!

Malvern England
Reviewed 22 February 2017

This place is ideally located in the middle of Beckermet with picturesque surroundings opposite the village green, it has a nice bar/restaurant, a good selection of real ales and good food. We were initially placed in room 6, accessed via an external fire escape. This room was noisy being too near the kitchen so we asked to be moved further...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Johnnywozere
DianneIrving, Owner at The White Mare, responded to this review

I am delighted that you found our location in the middle of Beckermet pleasing we do indeed have a very picturesque setting. And indeed our bar and restaurant do have a very good selection of real ales and excellent food. This was recognised this year when we were voted Best Pub in Cumbria in "The National Pub and Bar Awards"...

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beckermet
6.0 km away
Gosforth Hall Inn
Gosforth Hall Inn
#2 of 2 in Gosforth
144 reviews
5.7 km away
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
1.9 km away
Sella Park Country House Hotel
Sella Park Country House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Calder Bridge
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 3 in St Bees
152 reviews
7.6 km away
Seacote Hotel
Seacote Hotel
#2 of 3 in St Bees
411 reviews
14.8 km away
Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Breakfast Available
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Following a £400,000 makeover, the White Mare in Beckermet now has 6 refurbished bedrooms available for discerning customers. Our fully refurbished Executive Rooms have been fitted out with new bathroom suites, new bedroom furniture (including luxurious king size beds) and have been tastefully redecorated throughout. Our orthopaedic mattresses and Egyptian cotton bedding are sure to aid a good night's sleep, while free internet access and new TVs will provide all you need for a relaxing stay. We also have two twin bedrooms, again fully refurbished with original bathroom suites. All rooms are located in a private courtyard with an outdoor private seating area for residents. Our new restaurant area has been fitted with a folding door screen to provide private conferencing and dinning areas for business clients or private parties. Seating up to 30 people, the room is fully equipped with a state of the art projector and screen plus all of the equipment you would expect from a quality venue. Hospitality ....The way it should be. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The White Mare

Address: Morass Road | Beckermet, Beckermet CA21 2XS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Beckermet
Price Range: $170 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The White Mare 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The White Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The White Mare staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The White Mare staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I believe some rooms are bigger than others. We had room 3 which was perfect for the two of us for two nights.”
Tiggermum, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“Didn't stay just ate here”
KatelinH_13, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Our room was nice and cosy, but up some metal steps, so people with disabilities should check first before booking.”
444philt, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Would advise asking for ground floor when booking a room if you have a disability as some of the rooms are up a flight of stairs.”
123SJK1, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Our friends stayed in the suite and said it was amazing!”
N8846KPjulied, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$105* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$105
Hotels.comUS$106
Orbitz.comUS$105
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates