We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ennerdale Country House Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ennerdale Country House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

486 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Ennerdale Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 486: English reviews
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2015

Stayed for 3 nights during half term school holidays; room 29 Positives: good location, excellent WiFi, beautiful grounds, staff very friendly, helpful, dog loving... Negatives: Bed was very small, mirror in the bathroom no use for 6ft+ husband to shave, no lining on the curtains, most of the tiles on the bathroom floor were cracked or broken, therefore dangerous to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank landyman2015
Alan N, General Manager at Ennerdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review from your stay with us at The Ennerdale. I note there was a variety of positive points you highlighted from your stay with us and pleased to note that the staff were friendly and helpful. Sorry to read that you did not have restfull stay with us and were disturbed by other guests....

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2015 via mobile

Stayed one night bed and breakfast. Staff on arrival very pleasant and helpful. Everything ready in room. Lovely bar service. The breakfast was really good. Our children who are very fussy loved it and said we have to return. Very good. Thanks.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
Alan N, General Manager at Ennerdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter, Thank you for your posting from your stay with us at The Ennerdale. Glad to note that you all enjoyed the stay with us, even though it was a brief stay. Glad to also read the comments of the children, who seemed to have had a nice time. Remember, you will have to do as they say and...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2015

It may be a 3 star hotel but the food and service were definitely 4 star. Very friendly and helpful staff and the food was very good. Arron deserves a special mention not only was he very professional , his recommendations for what to choose from the extensive menu were spot on. We will be going back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil G
Alan N, General Manager at Ennerdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Phil, Thank you for your recent posting from your stay with us at The Ennerdale. I was to pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and the food and service were worthy of particular mention., I will pass on your appreciation to Arron with a special thanks from myself for his noteable attention and assistance. I look forward to...

leeds
Reviewed 26 October 2015

We came on a three night deal (Thurs to Sun morning) and found this hotel to be excelent. It's always nice to have a warm welcome when you first come through the door and the lady on duty booked us in with a minimum of fuss. We were allocated a very nice room (27) which was a very good size...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank imacbeth
Alan N, General Manager at Ennerdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your kind comments posted following your recent stay with us at The Ennerdale. I was pleased to note that overall you had enjoyable stay with us and found many aspects to your satisfaction. It was pleasing to note that the team at the Ennerdale made your stay a welcoming and comfortable time and that it...

England
Reviewed 21 October 2015

Stayed for one night on a voucher deal which included afternoon tea and three course meal. Staff were lovely and we had a very large room with great view of the garden. No complaints for what we paid although the hotel could do with some investment as mentioned by other reviewers. Food was very good and tables well laid out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mlne
Alan N, General Manager at Ennerdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for posting your comments from your recent stay with us at The Ennerdale. Glad to note you enjoyed your stay with particular mention to the staff and the breakfast. Regards your note of the 'investment', since mid October, we have contractors on site addressing many issues on the exterior of the building.They are expected to be...

Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2015 via mobile

Fantastic place to stay, half term school holidays with my twin boys and picked this hotel for a place to stay...stayed on b&b for 2 nights but decided to eat in the restaurant the first night. ..not dissapointed. Twin boys can be very fussy but staff could not do more to accommodate our every needs. Breakfast is made to order,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LogieBaird07
Alan N, General Manager at Ennerdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments from your recent stay with us as feed back is very much appreciated. I was pleased to note that you chose to dine with us. It was also pleasing to note that you were well looked after by the team and you all enjoyed your dinner and breakfasts...

Reviewed 20 October 2015 via mobile

Our room was nice clean well appointed and comfortable, Patio doors to the garden made it even better. We had a weekend touring the lakes so it was perfect place to fall back to at the end of the day. If I'm being really critical food was a little hit and miss, but staff are helpful and pleasant wouldn't hesitate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fitterdog
Alan N, General Manager at Ennerdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Many thanks for taking the time to post your review from your recent stay with us at The Ennerdale. I was pleased to note that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and had a relaxing time. I also note your comments regards the food and will pass this on to the Head Chef. We are in the...

Loughborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2015

We spent 2 nights here using a voucher. We stayed in room 6 overlooking the car park. Looking at other rooms it seemed to be one of the smallest but it was still a very good size with high ceilings The room was very clean, the only thing it could do with is a chair at the desk to save...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leeandkatie2010
Alan N, General Manager at Ennerdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lee, Thank you for your positive comments from your recent stay with us at The Ennerdale Country House Hotel. It was pleasing to note that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and you were well looked after by the staff at the hotel. I note your point regards the seating in the room and will look into having...

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 October 2015 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights on a voucher deal, including breakfast. The outside does need a lick of paint but there was ample parking available outside. All the staff we came across were very polite and friendly and our room was very clean and well appointed over looking lovely grounds. The mattress was a little hard and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bsnsjone
Alan N, General Manager at Ennerdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Many thanks for you recent review of The Ennerdale Country House Hotel. It was pleasing to note the many positive points from your stay with us and glad to note you had a relaxing break. As noted in earlier reviews we are due to start work on the exterior with windows being repaired, work on the roof and...

Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 October 2015

Yet another lovely stay at the hotel.we had room 27 overlooking the gardens very dog friendly ,staff are very friendly .our evening meal was great and plenty to choose for breakfast.free wifi in room. The rooms are large more like a suite and warm this is are second time staying here .good location for visiting the lakes thanks for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pete4147
Alan N, General Manager at Ennerdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pete, Many thanks for your recent review of The Ennerdale Country House Hotel, which is very much appreciated. Glad to note that you both enjoyed your stay with us again and I trust Ruby enjoyed herself to. I look forward to welcoming you all back to The Ennerdale soon and don't forget the dog treats at reception for Ruby....

143 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (133)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleator
1.5 km away
Grove Court Hotel
Grove Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cleator
64 reviews
6.7 km away
Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel
6.6 km away
Seacote Hotel
Seacote Hotel
#3 of 3 in St Bees
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 3 in St Bees
148 reviews
11.3 km away
Melbreak Country House Hotel
32.7 km away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ennerdale Country House Hotel is a Grade 2 listed building nestled within 5 acres of tranquil landscaped gardens and Italian fountains and figurines. As you walk through our large beautifully refurbished hallways you will pass by painstakingly restored original fireplaces and ceilings and you will start to realise that this is only the beginning of an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ennerdale Country House Hotel

Address: Northern Lakes, Cleator CA23 3DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Cleator
Price Range: $88 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ennerdale Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ennerdale Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ennerdale Country Hotel
Ennerdale Country Cleator
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ennerdale Country House Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Derby, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Northumberland, Pennsylvania

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Ennerdale Country House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms with French door opening out onto the lovely grounds”
 of 5 bubbles mags48, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for one away from the main road”
 of 5 bubbles 495petrat, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Executive Rooms 21 upwards overlook the garden.”
 of 5 bubbles 364danny, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Four poster emmerdale or bitterness rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 772Mustang1, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 26 nice, great views”
 of 5 bubbles iainmic, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5