We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Black Cock Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broughton in Furness
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

160 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Black Cock Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 159: English reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2016 via mobile

We went for lunch on our travels the food was delicious and a proper plateful beautifully cooked and very friendly staff. We would definately reccomend this pub.they sell a nice range of ales most of which are "Blonde" beers but very tasty all the same, parking around the pub is limited however we did not have any issues at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 May 2016

4 of us ate here last night , not the poshest of pubs but the food was good at a reasonable price and the staff were really friendly , so don't walk past go in.They were busy but we had booked in advance

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank christine s
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 May 2016 via mobile

Visited here again, as heard there was a new menu and some new additions to the kitchen. Visited on sat at 1:30, to find the pub with several dinners inside and out, also with a group of men watching the football in the sports bar area and beer garden! I had choose to eat in the restaurant which was well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barrowiz
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 May 2016

The food was excellent and the service so quick and friendly. There was a good range of well kept ales which was served by cheerful helpful staff. A good pub and a credit to the landlord Andy and his team, thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PcJenno
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Tempted to try the food by a very tasty looking menu, we were left sorely disappointed. A prawn cocktail with a sauce containing whisky and ginger tasted of neither. Garlic mushrooms with the breadcrumbs being all you could taste, in fact finding a mushroom was difficult. Then a mains of upside down pie.....meat so dry you couldn't get it on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rachie1260
stacey l, Owner at The Black Cock Inn, responded to this review

Your prawn cocktail was refunded, you were not charged for this even though we had sold at least 10 that day and everyone else was more than satisfied so I'm sorry this was not to your taste, our steak and ale pie is braised for at least 6 hours so I'm actually struggling to comprehend that the meat was dry...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 January 2016

Pretty village location, this old timber framed pub has a great atmosphere with a fabulous open coal fire in the bar. Nice selection of beers and food. Rooms as you would expect in this old quirky building with low ceilings and different floor levels. Very pleasant staff. Very poor mobile phone reception in this area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoff563
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 January 2016

My wife and I were visiting relatives and stayed here for one night. The room was clean and comfortable, the owners and staff very friendly and the breakfast excellent. Would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John M
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 January 2016

We booked in this lovely quaint villiage pub for a couple of nights it was delightful, The lovely young couple i believe Andy and Stacey were very pleasent, and made our stay more than enjoyable, looking forward to our next visit, the food was amazing my word that chef can call himself a chef,

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank amy t
Blackpool, England
Reviewed 14 January 2016

We have been going to the Black Cock Inn on and off since the late 1980's so have seen it change hands a few times-currently under the management of young couple Stacey and Andy. We travelled as a group of 10 adults and stayed between Christmas and New Year (having done the same last year). The Inn dates back to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly G
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2015

Just returned from the black cock inn after spending two nights there for the second year running, we will NOT be returning , the rooms are tired and very much in need of a refurb, the bar area is very quaint and the food is good (as long as you book in advance as residents get no priority ) the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Carol G
stacey l, Owner at The Black Cock Inn, responded to this review

Well I actually find it incredible how you can relate a person to a clock.... Being that some clocks have more than one face as do some people quite clearly, are you speaking for all 10 of you that stayed here, given that our rooms have new bedding new mattresses new cushions new bins new tea caddies new ornamental objects...

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Other (51)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broughton in Furness
18.0 km away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
311 reviews
13.1 km away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#7 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
108 reviews
15.4 km away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 km away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dalton-in-Furness
235 reviews
3.9 km away
No photo provided
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 2 in Kirkby in Furness
14 reviews
5.0 km away
Brockwood Hall
Brockwood Hall
#1 of 3 in Millom
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Black Cock Inn stands in the heart of an attractive small market town of Broughton in Furness, within easy reach of some of the Lake District's finest scenery. The 16th Century Inn has low beamed ceilings, an open fire to sit around on those cold days and which provide wonderful traditional ambiance. There is always a selection of real ales and lagers on offer, and we serve locally sourced food lunch and dinner. We have 5 en suite letting bedrooms which boast of an'olde worlde' charm. We also have a secluded 'beer garden' which is a haven for those nice summer days. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Black Cock Inn

Address: Princes Street, Broughton in Furness LA20 6HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Broughton in Furness
Price Range: $49 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Black Cock Hotel Broughton-In-Furness
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Black Cock Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Black Cock Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We didn't stay over night but on the basis of the bar area would recommend a stay.”
GillyandMike08, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We only ate here.”
traceyjaneh2016, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Away from the street may be a bit quieter.”
, 27 May 2016 | Read review
“Did not stay in pub only ate there.”
grahamb736, 6 Nov 2015 | Read review
“All rooms but 1 face the rather busy high street.”
gordonr132, 9 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5