We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cavendish Arms

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cavendish Arms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

521 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Cavendish Arms
See the most recent reviews
Showing 521: English reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

Friendly staff. Very welcoming. Clean and tidy in a rustic decor. This is a very old establishment and the building had creaks that added to the character. The breakfast was well presented and was very tasty. Although we did not eat an evening meal here it was busy and if you do wish to eat here I strongly recommend booking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gsdbramble
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017

This was our first visit to Carmel and the Cavendish Arms Hotel. The hotel was full of character. Our room Number 7 was a smaller room but, then in a hotel of this type I can't imagine the rooms being very large anyway. We couldn't fault the cleanliness and the bed very comfy. The staff could not do enough to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean L
Upminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

This establishment is over 400 years old. It's steeped in history and character which is its main charm. Our bedroom was large, very comfortable and utterly endearing with its wonky walls and creaking floorboards. You can feel the history surround you. That said, our room and ensuite had all mod cons and a power shower in the bathroom. Just perfect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ShelleyEHall
derbyshire
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Just returned from a wonderful weekend break at The Cavendish Arms. Fantastic location, cosy welcoming pub, amazing evening meal (ate here both nights), fab breakfast (best sausages I've tasted for a long while), welcoming and helpful landlord and staff. Rooms in the pub accommodation are extremely clean but tired and in need of some updating, wouldn't put me off returning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daisyflower13
mrcav, Owner at Cavendish Arms, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and politely bring to your attention that you did pay full price.

Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

The 450 years old brings you unforgettable memories!!! Service and the crew is beyond the call of duty! I'm over 6'3'' and most of beds are with metal bed frame top and bottom. I asked them for any possibility of having a bed without frame due to my height... response was that they are full but would see what they...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bart J
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

This is a lovely b&b. I certainly wouldn't want to put anyone off staying here. The location is Good, cartmel is a great little village with a few pubs and cafes. The rooms are clean and the staff are friendly. My only slight moan was the breakfast was all a bit too posh and slow. First the toast comes out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
mrcav, Owner at Cavendish Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we really appreciate feedback as it helps us understand where we can make our offering even better. I am so glad you enjoyed your over all stay with us, and you certainly seem to have enjoyed the village as a whole, and hope to see you here again in the future. We always send toast...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Had a lovely stay here in Feb. Great Room with huge comfy bed and gorgeous breakfast. Lots of parking at the rear of the pub. Located right in the centre of the village.Richard and all his staff were lovely. I will definitely be returning as soon as I can!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KWillibobs
Reviewed 3 March 2017

This is great pub. The setting is superb. The beams are low the hops draped over them really set a welcoming scene. The fire is great too. As is the beer. We went for lunch on a Sunday. My friend had the fish pie which was superb. I chose less wisely - the roast pork. It neither looked or tasted...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PKwood
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Stayed two nights at the cavendish arms in the annex across the square. Premium room, loads of space, huge comfortable bed, large bathtub, bath robes and a lovely view over the square. Really clean and tea and coffee facilities in the room. Breakfast was great. Full English breakfast - everything extremely flavoursome good quality ingredients...the black pudding and scrambled egg...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James L
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a night , the room needs an upgrade bit for £60 inc breakfast it was clean and served its purpose. The food however was fabulous , good portions and value for money. I had the steak pie , which I have to say is the best I have had in a long time,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jusytops

138 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (126)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartmel
1.1 km away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
243 reviews
1.4 km away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
367 reviews
3.9 km away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Netherwood
Netherwood
#5 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
482 reviews
7.5 km away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newby Bridge
457 reviews
3.6 km away
Abbot Hall Hotel
Abbot Hall Hotel
#10 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Cavendish Arms

Address: Cavendish Street, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands > Cartmel
Price Range: $103 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cavendish Arms 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cavendish Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavendish Arms Hotel Cartmel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cavendish Arms staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Cavendish Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check the location of the room before booking”
915martine, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our room Number 7 was to the back of the hotel so it was very peaceful.”
jeanl545, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Apparently have newer rooms in the village.”
Roy_Dent2013, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Not known as we didn't stay”
Piusbaines, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“When arriving ask to see the room - some are good some are not.”
DouglasB390, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5