We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (52)
Room & Suite (16)
Pool & Beach (4)
Overview
  • Excellent67%
  • Very good23%
  • Average6%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“coast to coast”(43 reviews)
“drying room”(23 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Rooms
Bar/Lounge
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveller rating
167
60
17
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
167
60
17
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoast to coastdrying roomalfred wainwrightkidsty pikehost ianhonesty barb blittle gemvillage shoplocal pubovernight stopstriding edgewarm welcomewhite lionday's walkhomemade jamsexcellent breakfast
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 256 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely place to stay Owners gave us a superb welcome Room was immaculate Breakfast was plentyful with lots of local produce Very highly recommended Even chocolates on our bed And a great conversation with the owner in the bar in the evening

Thank Jcuds
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was one of our accommodation highlights on our Coast to Coast Walk. Warmly welcomed, we were honoured by being given the Place Fell room which was Wainwright's old haunt whenever he visited to write his many books. It was a lovely little room with...More

Thank wokabaut_meri
Reviewed 24 February 2018 via mobile

You don't have to be on the coast to coast walk to enjoy all that this lovely guesthouse offers. Having spent several weeks walking the Pembroke coastal path in Wales and a memorable break also at Ullswater, I booked three nights at the Old Water...More

Thank jkdevon
Reviewed 9 February 2018

My friends and I stayed here last Autumn. It was my first visit to the lakes and I was completely blown away by the scenery and views from this delightful B&B. Andrea and Dave really were fabulous hosts. Nothing was too much trouble and they...More

Thank 956MelJ
Reviewed 25 January 2018

I finished my Coast to Coast Walk in UK in the fall of 2017. By the time I reached Patterdale from Rosthwaite through all high routes, i had been waking 13 hours and 15 minutes straight, my legs did not want to move another step....More

Thank Lixin A
Response from Dave R, Owner at Old Water ViewResponded 10 February 2018

It was a real treat having you stay with us on your C2C. Many thanks for the review and do stop by to see us again if ever you return to the lakes to walk many of the other routes available.

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Things to do
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$153 - US$156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$153 - US$156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (52)
Room & Suite (16)
Pool & Beach (4)
Dining (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Suzanne A
16 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from rutherfords2009 | Reviewed this property |
I would strongly recommend your ring/e-mail Dave the new owner of the OWV with your question. I can never remember seeing any dogs in the times I have stayed at the OWV but Dave might have a different policy than the... More
0
Votes
Suzanne A
16 November 2017|
Answer
Response from JohnHerring | Reviewed this property |
Sorry - but not having dogs, I don't know the answer to that. I certainly didn't see any there. Having said that, the owner at the time (June 2017) was about to conclude a sale of the property and emigrate to the USA, so the... More
1
Vote
Trevor D
13 May 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Lakeshiker | Property representative |
Hi, we are a vegetarian family so that is not a problem. The Bothy room has no stairs leading to the room but has 5 steps leading to the bathroom. Ian
1
Vote
Room Tips
"All of the rooms were lovely."
Read review
"The "Place Fell" if its available."
Read review
"Ask for a room overlooking the river"
Read review
"Ullswater Room is next to the Road but gives good views of the River"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing