We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Washington Central Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Washington Central Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

242 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Washington Central Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 241: English reviews
Co. Durham. UK.
Reviewed 25 July 2016

The hotel had excellent staff who were helpful and friendly. Emma in Reception was amazing, she tried several times to help us when our safes wouldn't work! The breakfasts were cheery affairs with the staff being very welcoming serving a great selection of breakfasts. Heather was delightful as were the rest of the staff!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine G
Keith W, General Manager at Washington Central Hotel, responded to this review

Christine - A big thank you from us all at the Washington Central hotel, for your 'excellent' review of our hotel. Both Emmas and Heather would like to pass on their own thanks . We sincerely hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to Workington. Kindest regards, Keith.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

Went here on a groupon for 2 nights b and b value for money. Staff were good, breakfast was good, room was nice only down side was very little parking. I don't understand why hotels now over charge any other time use groupon quite a bit because again I think way over priced without offers. It's a shame. Great thing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gladiator1069
Keith W, General Manager at Washington Central Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon 'Happy' reviewer, As with most town centre hotels, our very location has its plusses...easy access to bars and restaurants, and minuses...often lack of available quality car parking spaces. Which you correctly observed; however we do have a overspill car park only 75 yards from the hotel. The positivety you expressed with the staffs hospitality, food, value for money...

Workington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 July 2016

We eat here fairly often and the food is always great, a lovely menu and very attentive staff. Very relaxing atmosphere, would highly recommend it for an evening meal in Workington. Nowhere better locally!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lola301
Keith W, General Manager at Washington Central Hotel, responded to this review

Lola, We really appreciate, not only your continued support and custom, but also that you have taken the time to comment in such a positive manner about the staff, food and atmosphere in the lounge bar and Central bistro. Thank you very much. Keith

Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

Arrived to be greeted by the barmaid who was lovely sat down ordered our food and drinks. Waitress came and took us through to the restaurant. They brought the wrong starters so we sent them back, they came back with the correct food my wife started to eat the lobster tail her face winced, she told me it tasted of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

Visited for a long weekend, the hotel is clean, staff are friendly and location is superb, the food for breakfast and throughout the day is top quality, the gym is well sized although a little old, the pool is a nice 20m and clean, loved the visit!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
Keith W, General Manager at Washington Central Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks Mark, for the commitment to posting a genuinely excellent review of your recent stay at The Washington Central hotel. Your comments on the staff, cleanliness and overall quality is very gratyfiying. we look forward to your next visit. Keith

Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed here last night and it was just what we needed. Quiet rooms, good showers and the breakfast was brilliant. I had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs and there were a good few full English breakfasts for riders loading up. Waitresses couldn't have done more for us. Would recommend it to anyone after a reasonably priced stop over!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
Keith W, General Manager at Washington Central Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon sarah, We do accommodate a lot of coast to coast cyclists using Workington as their starting point. We are all very happy that we were able to give you the relaxing nights rest and a 'Brilliant breakfast' to set you on your way. Thank yuo indeed for the recommendation. Regards Keith.

Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

Had a lovely meal for wedding anniversary would highly reccomend to family and friends daughter looking for wedding venues can't really look anywhere else beautiful setting and lovely room to get hitched

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
Keith W, General Manager at Washington Central Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Susan, We are all very grateful for your sincere and most plesing comments about our bistro and wedding suites. Thank you very much. On behalf of everyone at the WCH . Keith

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 July 2016

Came here using a Groupon voucher, I had emailed beforehand after reading another reviewer say about noise, to ask for a quiet room, which we did get. The room was really nice with everything needed for an enjoyable stay, but would definitely agree that rooms were too warm and our windows only opened a couple of inches. Staff were really...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lee D
Keith W, General Manager at Washington Central Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon lee, Thank you for your review of your stay at The Washington Central hotel, we are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and that you found the hospitality of the staff memorable. I am sorry about the removal of certain breakfast items, this is indeed unusual and normally the breakfast buffet is available until breakfast is complete....

Lancashire
Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel last night on a business trip. The room (number 5) was really good, very comfy bed and there was a selection of teas and coffee. Very impressed with the complimentary port aswell. The hotel was very clean and tidy throughout. We didn't have time to use the gym / pool but the pool looked good from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BoltonBlogger
Keith W, General Manager at Washington Central Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon BoltonBlogger, Thank you very much for the extremely positive review of your recent stay at the Washington central hotel. We are very happy that you were impressed by the bedroom facilities and high levels of cleanliness, as well as service and dinner in the bistro. We hope that we can welcome you back on your next visit to...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

We regretably could not fully enjoy this bargain break due to being allocated a rear room, which with the warm weather we had to open the windows fully, and due to the racket from a nearby night club, between 11 pm & 3 am, we had very disturbed sleep; the management obviously knew as there were ear plugs provided; unfortunately...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Les C
Keith W, General Manager at Washington Central Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon Les, Your prompt review of your stay with us last weekend is very appreciated. Unfortunately the room you were allocated is on the side of the hotel, not at the back, which is normally a lot quieter. We are acutely aware that our town centre location creates issues, especially at weekends. We have recently installed new double glazed...

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Workington
19.6 km away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#4 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
488 reviews
5.0 km away
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
0.3 km away
Hall Park Hotel
Hall Park Hotel
#3 of 9 in Workington
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Melbreak Country House Hotel
0.1 km away
The Sleepwell Inn
The Sleepwell Inn
#8 of 9 in Workington
21 reviews
0.8 km away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#9 of 9 in Workington
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Central Bistro & Bar
Central Bistro & Bar
Cuisines: European, British
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This excellently maintained and well appointed modern 4 star hotel, boasts 57 en-suite rooms and enjoys a town centre location. The hotels convenience to the West Cumbrian energy coast, and close proximity to The Lake District make it an ideal location, for both business clients and holiday guests. This luxurious hotel offers genuine hospitality and excellent facilities, which include suites for banqueting, weddings and conferences for up to 300 guests. Locally sourced food is presented with flair and imagination in the contemporary Central bistro & Bar. The Coffee shop and Caesars Pool & Leisure club are all open to residents and locals alike. The comfortable Lounge Bar offers a varied selection of fine wine, beers and spirits. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Washington Central Hotel

Address: Washington Street, Workington CA14 3AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Workington
Price Range: $150 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Washington Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Workington
#2 Luxury Hotel in Workington
#4 Business Hotel in Workington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Washington Central Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Washington Central Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The new wing bedrooms are large and contemporary, the rooms in the original hotel more classic, all excellent.”
989CarolynC, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Great night for xmas party”
karenblack606, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Do not use room 8 very noisy and located at front of building”
Norrie9032, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a window room rather than a skylight if you are claustrophic (like me)”
580christineg, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We had room 12”
leeD346, 3 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5