We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Ginn House Inn

Save
Share
Old Ginn House Moor Road Great Clifton, Workington CA14 1TS England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (48)
Dining (30)
Room & Suite (28)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
Read more
Updated 31/07/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 31/07/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 9 hotels in Workington
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Old Ginn House Inn is an excellent choice for travellers visiting the Western Lake District and Solway Coast. It has been converted from a 17c farmstead into a charming village Inn, with an appealing courtyard and patio area with ample free parking. The Inn is conveniently located for Cockermouth, Workington, Whitehaven, the Lake District UNESCO World Heritage Site and the Solway Coast. It is also convenient for those visiting the area on business. The restaurant offers a hearty Cumbrian grill breakfast (plus many other breakfast choices), and an extensive menu for lunch and evening meals. The Bar is the Ginn Room after which the Inn has been named. This unique rounded room where, in bygone times, horses walked around turning the grindstone to crush the crops, known as ‘ginning’, offers a good selection of soft drinks, wines, spirits including a variety of local gins, and local Cumbrian Craft Ales. Enjoy your stay at the Old Ginn House Inn!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Kids' meals
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
242Reviews4Q+A29Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 130
  • 75
  • 23
  • 7
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
keith d wrote a review Nov 2021
2 contributions
old Ginn house is lovely place for a meal i came with family for a birthday meal in November we all had wonderful meals i had Yorkshire pudding with Cumberland sausage with chips one had fish and chips two fishes and the other had steak pie we eat everything up we all had desserts the service from the staff was excellent we were polite to the staff we will keep coming back all the time thanks from Keith Donaldson
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
sngresty wrote a review Nov 2021
Romiley, United Kingdom24 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
Booked in here for a night after a week holiday in a lodge as this was close to a work location I had to pop in to and I'm glad I did. Upgraded the room to a "Courtyard Suite" which was clean, spacious, well fitted out and very comfortable with a jacuzzi (pillows were a bit flat!). Had a lovely meal in the restaurant and a delicious breakfast. Every single member of staff that we encountered from checking in, bar staff, waiter/waitresses etc. were very friendly and always had a smile on their faces. Thanks for the great service.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Courtyard suite with jacuzzi was super but adds to the cost
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from OGH oldginnhouse, General Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for placing a review following your recent stay in our Superior Double room with jacuzzi bath. We are so pleased that you had a nice time and that you had a lovely meal that was provided with great service from our friendly staff.
Read more
RhiwDragon wrote a review Nov 2021
Cardiff, United Kingdom171 contributions16 helpful votes
Lacks the refinement of a real 4 star hotel, and the food is notable for quantity over quality but the service makes this hotel so much better than the (more expensive) chains. Sara deserves a special mention for her care and attention, but all the staff were exeptionally friendly and helpful. My room suffered from loud snoring coming from adjacent room
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Check if your roon has a skylight or window if this is important to you
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from OGH oldginnhouse, General Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. Our staff are grateful for your kind words. It is lovely to hear when guest have enjoyed the service from our staff as it makes all the hard work worthwhile. Please note that we are a 4 star Inn - a pub with rooms not a 4 star hotel and our prices reflect this. However we do hope that you will stay again in our Inn.
Read more
SheMiddlesbrough wrote a review Oct 2021
Middlesbrough90 contributions15 helpful votes
Had a mostly great stay. The staff were very friendly and the meals were amazing but was very disappointed in the room we were allocated. I booked a classic room after looking at the pictures on the website. Was allocated a room with a sloped ceiling and no window only a large skylight which was above the bed making the room very claustrophobic and it was not nice not being able to look out of a window. I questioned the room with reception as the website stated the cheaper standard rooms were on the first floor and only had a shower which was exactly what we had but was told room 31 was the more expensive classic room. I will be visiting the hotel again because of it's good points but will make sure I request a room with a window
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from OGH oldginnhouse, General Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you meals were amazing and our staff to be friendly. Our Classic rooms are of various sizes of which 2 of them do have skylights. You stayed for 3 nights and as far as we are aware you made no complaint at the time or asked to move to a different room. We only have 1 Standard Room which is in a different block to the 1 that you stayed in. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future but please ask for a room with a window.
Read more
sally_spencer2 wrote a review Oct 2021
Workington, United Kingdom53 contributions42 helpful votes
Visited the Old Gin House on many occasions and never had reason to complain its always been one of my favourite places to eat.. infact always recommended to friends and family. However last night it was a big disappointment, opted for the mixed meat platter, the beef looked raw so couldn't eat it and the turkey and ham had no taste whatsoever. The salad consisted of chopped lettuce, huge chunks of cucumber and onion, 4 cherry tomatoes and 4 large slices of orange. Usually come away from there store fed but last night actually came out still hungry. Not sure if the staff were having a bad night but they weren't at their best either.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from OGH oldginnhouse, General Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. We are pleased that we have been one of your favourite places to eat to come for a meal. We have checked back with all of the staff and have no recollection of an issue with a mixed platter. We can only apologise that you did not find this up to our usual standards and hope to see you again in the near future and hope your dining experience is that of our usual high standards.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$97 - US$123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCumbriaWorkington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Old Ginn House Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Old Ginn House Inn?
Nearby attractions include Lakes Escapes (4.7 km), Buttermere Lake (7.8 km), and Wordsworth House and Garden (7.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Old Ginn House Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Old Ginn House Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Old Ginn House Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Old Ginn House Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Her Citi, Aspava Restaurant, and Captain Nelson Tavern.
Are there any historical sites close to The Old Ginn House Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Wordsworth House and Garden (7.8 km).
Is The Old Ginn House Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.