We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sleepwell Inn

Save
Share
Washington Street, Workington CA14 3AX England
Expedia.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Priceline
Agoda.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#8 of 9 hotels in Workington
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The newly refurbished Sleepwell Inn has been upgraded to 4 star guest accommodation with the AA. The Sleepwell Inn is quality good value accommodation, located 100 metres from its sister hotel The Washington Central Hotel. Offering stylish, modern and comfortable accommodation in a town centre location. Guests have use of the Washington Central Hotels facilities, including full use of the hotel leisure club, pool and spa, Central bistro and bar and its front of house services. Reservations and check in/out are all completed at the Washington Central hotel.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Nightclub / DJ
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Housekeeping
Iron
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
24Reviews1Q+A14Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 4
  • 5
  • 7
  • 4
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
paulbakerfamily wrote a review Sep 2021
Gloucester, United Kingdom25 contributions9 helpful votes
The room had a large, comfortable bed and was clean and fresh. However the extremely small window and lack of air conditioning made it very hot, and it was noisy as there is a nightclub next door. There are no services at the hotel, you even have to walk 100 metres and cross a busy junction to check in at the sister hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: If you have to stay here get a room on the opposite side of the building to the nightclub
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
GromitManchester wrote a review Nov 2020
Manchester33 contributions11 helpful votes
Stayed here in between lock downs. There is a new car park opposite which was handy and I had a good meal over at the Washington Central Hotel where you book in. Room was clean and quiet - I was around the back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Ask for a room around the back
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
sngyork wrote a review Oct 2019
London, United Kingdom64 contributions29 helpful votes
I stayted at the WCH, in the annex about 25 metres from the main hotel, and would not choose to do so again. On arrival everything seemed fine, other than they only had me booked in for one night when it was two. I went to my room. The room was a very odd triangular shape requiring me to move awkwardly around the furniture to get to and from the bed. Other than that, the room was fine. I arrived back at the hotel on the second evening and my key did not work; I could not get through the outside door. I went back across the road to reception to get this sorted out and my key was re-programmed; I got through the outside door but not into my room. I went back, came back to my room, it didn't work. I went back a third time and the receptionist seemed more interested in finding a hairbrush for her daughter's wet hair and sorting out another item for her other daughter than sorting out my room key. Eventually she came with me to the room, changed the batteries in the door lock and, my key didn't work. She gave me another programmed key and that did work. Whilst I was talking on the phone in my room the maintenance person just opened the door to come in. He did not knock or establish if there was someone in there. Having realised I was in the room he then closed the door and then reopened it to apologise.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Keith W, General Manager at The Sleepwell Inn
Responded 23 Mar 2020
Thank you trip advisor reviewer for taking the time to post a review of a recent visit to our property. Without doubt the handling of your malfunctioning door lock/key card should have been dealt with in a more pro-active and professional manner. I am sorry and apologise for actions of my staff members who did not provide you with the service that you would expect in resolving the issue in a prompt and satisfactory manner. Should you have occasion to visit Workington in the near future plaese call me personally at the Washington Central Hotel to make your reservation. Regards, Keith
Read more
Steve P wrote a review Jun 2017
Cleveland26 contributions16 helpful votes
Nicely located in the centre of workington approx 1 mile from official start point for C2C. Part of a larger hotel chain directly opposite so no on site reception however this was not a problem. 2 rooms booked, single and a double both very well equiped and clean and rooms a good size (double my wife and I booked was actually a triple) The bathroom has shampoo, bodywash and handwash in press dispensers. (It does take ages for these to be dispensedas thereis little movement allowed within the fixed securing device which hold them to the walls. The restaurant and bar is facilitated in the sister hotel directly opposite, breakfast is not included in the room booking price, we did not require breakfast on this occassion however for £10pp it seems good value to me. Staff were very polite and courteous. The only down side to our stay was the external noise. We were room 60 (ground floor corner) we could hear all passers-by conversations and all traffic noise so didnt get the best sleep whereas our son on the other hand on the first floor got a good sleep.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Keith W, General Manager at The Sleepwell Inn
Responded 6 Apr 2018
Good afternoon Steve, Thank you very much for your comments following your recent stay at The Sleepwell Inn. We are obviously sorry that you did not get a ideal nights sleep due to the street noise. We do however endeavour, wherever possible to allocate rooms when available away from the front street, please ask on your next visit. We are grateful for your positive comments on the facility, cleanliness and the staff. We hope that we can one day welcome you back to the Sleepwell Inn or Washington Central Hotel for a truly positive experience. Kindest regards, Keith
Read more
Paul C wrote a review Jan 2017
4 contributions2 helpful votes
Was pleasantly surprised when I got to the single room. Looked recently refurbished and seemed perfectly fine. Bed is very high from the floor. Bathroom lovely. Had a shower though, and was only when getting out of the shower, found that the towel had obviously been covered in black oil before, been washed, and then placed in my room, with big black oil stains over it. The bath mat also had some kind of mark on it. I walked across the road to the Washington and was given spare towels and the receptionist said she would pop over and collect the old ones. She never did. Bulb didn't work in the desk light but thankfully the other lamp by the bed did. Generally, although the room was very clean, one would expect more from housekeeping not to notice heavily stained towels and a bulb broken. Walls are really thin - could hear a couple chatting (and other things) next door. Cheekiest thing is the 3% credit card fee when leaving. Wasn't warned about it at all until I received the invoice and was out of the hotel. I've NEVER been to a hotel that charges a credit card fee, and I've stayed in many. Though a little warning prior to payment would have been handy too. I don't want to sound too critical, as the room itself was spotless and the receptionist very smiley. I could have just about coped with the dirty towels, but the credit card fee really was taking the mickey. I'd probably stay there again, but just check the towels and bulbs when I get there and ensure I pay on debit card next time!! Oh and don't plan on any bedtime cuddles with the partner, unless you don't mind the guests next door having a giggle!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2017
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Ask for a room around the side - the front rooms are facing bars open until 3am at weekends.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Keith W, General Manager at The Sleepwell Inn
Responded 21 Apr 2017
Good afternoon Paul, A review expressing both negative and positive aspects of your recent stay, shows that you have taken time to consider a balanced assessment. I am sorry for the codition of the bathroom linen, and the spent bulb...these should not have been overlooked, although it is pleasing that you found the levels of houskeeping generally to be 'spotless' . Due to bank charges it is unfortunate that we now levy a 3% surcharge on credit cards, however debit cards incur no charge at all, a note for your next visit. Many thanks for your review. Keith.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$73 - US$149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCumbriaWorkington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Sleepwell Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Sleepwell Inn?
Nearby attractions include Helena Thompson Museum (0.4 km), Carnegie Theatre & Arts Centre (0.5 km), and Opera Bingo (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Sleepwell Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and laundry service.
Is parking available at The Sleepwell Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Sleepwell Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Flavour, Paprika Workington, and Butterflies workington.
Is The Sleepwell Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Workington.
Are there any historical sites close to The Sleepwell Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Wordsworth House and Garden (11.5 km) and Isel Hall (12.2 km).
Is The Sleepwell Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.