We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Waverley Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Waverley Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 153: English reviews
Start your review of Waverley Hotel
 Click to rate
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's a clean hotel rooms are comfy, our bed was comfy, bathroom clean overall a very pleasant stay. The breakfast was plentiful self service, but food kept hot, only was a bit bland could do with better beans and option of fried eggs, only scrambled ones and I don't like those. Tea fresh and hot. The staff are lovely and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank seriouslysunseeking
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us again found our rooms comfy and clean and enjoyed your breakfast, we regret your disappointment about fried eggs as these are cooked on request. We are pleased you liked our improvements and decoration we have a continuing refurbishment programme to keep up the standards we have achieved over the last 29...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

great place and recommend 100% and would stay there again and would advize anyone to stay there,its warm,comfy and the owners are great,its a wonderful place and very welcoming,it is very clean and lovely interiors and lovely warm rooms

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review we are delighted you enjoyed your stay, found our rooms clean, warm and comfy and would recommend us. We would love to see you again soon.

Rochester
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Following a recent visit to Workington we stayed at the Waverley Hotel. Both my wife and I are disabled and unfortunately the hotel has no lifts to the upper floors. We had to cope with a flight of stairs to the first floor and then a series of two to three steps along the corridor to reach our room. This...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fevertoo
Lynn P, Manager at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

We are pleased you found our rooms and facilities to your liking and our staff looked after your needs. We are disappointed you had to struggle with the staircase we do specify we do not have disabled rooms at the hotel.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Would recommend the hotel as in a good location and had good quality food. Room was modern and nicely decorated. It was a pleasure to stay and nothing seemed too much bother for staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gabrielritchie
Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2017

The welcoming approach and the excellent staff. The rooms were fantastic and clean and roomy, bathrooms were also very clean and the added luxury of bathrobes was very welcome. The food and facilities were brilliant and the staff couldn't be more helpful. The bet nights sleep I have had in a hotel for a long time! Beds are so comfy!...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review we are all delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, our team looked after your needs and found our facilities great. We look forward to seeing you again.

Whitehaven, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Please note this is a review of the restaurant, not the rooms in the hotel. After a below average meal in Wetherspoons last year, we decided to try The Waverley for Christmas 2016 as the previous works meal there in 2012 was good. Must say the staff were pleasant, the dining room wasn't cramped and the service was efficient and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GlennA946
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 February 2017

The staff were helpful and Imformative ,I was in an upgraded room which was fine ,the bathroom was clean and looked refurbished. I stayed at the premier Inn prior to this and it was better than this in terms of parking and quality of food and also clientel . It seems to be more of a working mans hotel with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nahim A
Workington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

Been here many times with the family friendly staff decent food badly priced though location in an undesirable part of workington great with kids offer a loyalty card that u have to pay for to build up so many points for money off in the long run not really saving anything adjust the prices of drinks and food accordingly to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank theflitmeister
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted you enjoyed our food and service, we offer 3 course lunches for £6.25 and early bird meals are £5.95(buy 2 child eats free) our loyalty card entitled you to 10% discount off all drinks and points to pay for food.

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2017

The room was absolutely lovely ....the staff couldnt do enough to help , the food was gorgeous and plentiful . We stayed here for 4 nights from the 30th December till the 3rd January , Lynn the owner is lovely , Janet . Zoe and all the rest of the staff are so conciensious and attentive . We have already...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anthony L
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we could make your New Year stay and enjoyable one. We look forward to your next visit :)

Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

Had a great night food was lovely the staff where very friendly and entertainment was excellent as well. The food was served as soon as we got there we got a welcome drink as well and we will be going back again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stacy W
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much the team are delighted you had a great time at our glitter ball and enjoyed our food and hospitality. We look forward to seeing again.

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Workington
0.9 km away
Hall Park Hotel
Hall Park Hotel
#3 of 9 in Workington
121 reviews
5.3 km away
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
0.2 km away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#9 of 9 in Workington
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Washington Central Hotel
Washington Central Hotel
#4 of 9 in Workington
242 reviews
4.2 km away
Melbreak Country House Hotel
7.7 km away
Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Waverley Hotel

Address: 1 Gordon Street, Workington CA14 2EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Workington
Price Range: $93 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Waverley Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room one is small but we did request it as I am disabled and it is the lowest room.”
seriouslysunseeking, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“just ring and they will help u”
Y3273RBianw, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“go for upgraded”
987nahima, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are good”
870anthonyl, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“You get what you pay for”
davev218, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5