We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holmefield Guesthouse

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Holmefield Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

126 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Holmefield Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 126: English reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2015 via mobile

We have just returned from a two nights stay. We had room no 2 which was small but comfortable and very clean. We booked this on a Groupon deal so didn't expect a big room. The deal we had was a really good price. The food we couldn't fault. Breakfasts and evening meal on the second night we both enjoyed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PandP46
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2015 via mobile

I only have the most positive things to say about Homefield. The owner Kate has done everything to make it the most comfortable yet beautiful guesthouse possible. Every care has been taken to ensure you would want for nothing. The room was charming, classy and elegant with breathtaking views across the dale. In fact it is difficult to decide whether...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SarahUney
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 March 2015

Don't normally take the time to write reviews but wanted to make an exception on this occasion. On receiving email confirmation of our booking I entered into conversation with Kate reference local places to eat and attractions. I mentioned that my partner was heavily pregnant so it was our 'last break away' before the baby arrived. Kate could not have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
holmefieldguesthouse, Owner at Holmefield Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and for the comments regarding your stay. We are so glad you enjoyed your short stay with us and that you felt refreshed and relaxed ready for the next stage in your life! It was a pleasured to assist with your booking and to advise you of the suitability of rooms for your needs....

Reviewed 30 March 2015 via mobile

A Traditional English Guest House. We were put in a room very close to the A6 which meant that we were unable to have the window open during the night. The Guest House did not appear to warrant a 5 star standard. We were supplied with toiletries for one person and they were not replaced for the 2nd night. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deborah H
holmefieldguesthouse, Owner at Holmefield Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent stay which was purchased via Groupon at a heavily discounted rate. Your room was cleaned and checked before your arrival and carpet thoroughly hoovered and bathroom cleaned. On your second day, we do not normally hoover but tidy the room, remake the bed etc and replenish the tea tray which was done...

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2015

A great big thank you to Kate and her staff for making our anniversary such a special time.We stayed in the Stable Block the room was well furnished spotlessly clean and comfortable.Nothing was to much trouble for Kate. The food was very good and there was plenty of choice. We went on a Groupon deal for two nights so excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susan12242015
holmefieldguesthouse, Owner at Holmefield Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to go some way to help you celebrate your anniversary. It was a delight to meet you both.

Reviewed 5 March 2015 via mobile

My friend and I got a groupon deal for 2 night stay at Holmefield. We arrived at 2.00pm not knowing the check in time was at 4. We called the emergency number and left a message to someone called Geoff who called back stating that "kate" must be out shopping and that they don't usually check in until 4. We...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lucia R
holmefieldguesthouse, Owner at Holmefield Guesthouse, responded to this review

Well to say I was expecting this is an under statement!! I did not scowl at your angrily when I arrived at 3.00 p.m. , an hour before our check in, I was trying to see if there was anyone in the car through the heavily blacked out windows. I explained the error in the email was due to an...

Kettering, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 February 2015

Me and my partner stayed here at the guesthouse on the 21st and 22nd of Feb and where absolutely blown away. Due to me working on the Saturday we couldn't arrive at the guesthouse until 8pm which was previously agreed with Kate when we booked a few weeks in advance. This was our first stay in a guesthouse for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blake C
holmefieldguesthouse, Owner at Holmefield Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your fabulous review, it was a real pleasure to have you stay with us, so glad you liked your room. I appreciate the comment regarding the shower and will look at upgrading to a power shower. Really pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, hope to see you both again and thanks again for the...

Reviewed 4 November 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights on a Groupon deal. Sat nav a bit of nightmare because it told us it was on the right but it was on the left! Not their fault in the slightest though and not a big deal just thought worth mentioning. The actual guest house itself and the grounds are absolutely beautiful! It is very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Laurynem
Sheffield
Reviewed 4 November 2014

We received 2 nights at this Guest House as a generous present! We were not expecting too much knowing Darley Dale is partly industrial and as a consequence all the older buildings are very soot blackened. Additionally we knew this Guest House is situated in an awkward position right bang on the busy main road through the village. However once...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SerenaMoonSeason
holmefieldguesthouse, Owner at Holmefield Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I must admit I was very mystified by the title as I am not sure what you would be expecting having been given a two night stay in a 5 star gold awarded establishment but I am glad we didn't disappoint. I would however, like to correct some of the statements in your review which...

Whalley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2014

We stayed here on a two day Groupon offer in early July - we missed the turn off the first time as the guest house is approached directly off a busy main road. We found the main house and were shown to our room by a lady who didn't introduce herself but we assume she was the proprietor. Nice room...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank junee j
holmefieldguesthouse, Owner at Holmefield Guesthouse, responded to this review

I am sorry you found your stay with us 'average but having viewed your other scathing reviews can see that this is quite the norm for you. I do sincerely apologise if your eggs were overcooked at breakfast but will not offer any apology for the evening meal and would challenge you to find many guest houses offering equivalent quality...

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darley Dale
6.8 km away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
147 reviews
2.1 km away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
6.2 km away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
363 reviews
5.6 km away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 51 in Matlock
394 reviews
0.3 km away
Barringtons
Barringtons
#3 of 6 in Darley Dale
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Holmefield Guesthouse

Address: Dale Road North, Darley Dale, Matlock DE4 2HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Darley Dale
Price Range: $154 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Holmefield Guesthouse Hotel Darley Dale
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holmefield Guesthouse staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Holmefield Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all good rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles , 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All rooms I believe look out onto the Dales”
 of 5 bubbles blades22, 2 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The ground floor annex rooms come with a balcony, which was lovely to sit out on. The guests house cat likes to come over and say hello.”
 of 5 bubbles 341vikkij, 16 May 2016 | Read review
“West facing over the dale.”
 of 5 bubbles Clanger62, 17 Sep 2015 | Read review
“we had a room towards the back of the house which faced the Derbyshire dales”
  • Matlock bath
  • Views from gardens
 of 5 bubbles 4374beckyc, 8 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5