We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holmefield Guesthouse

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Holmefield Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

126 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Holmefield Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 126: English reviews
Keighley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The room was lovely,a good sized,comfy bed and attractive décor.We had a peaceful sleep and enjoyed a really delicious breakfast in the morning.Due to business commitments we did not stay long but the hospitality and help we received could not be faulted.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank amanda f
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had a marvellous and unforgettable weekend at Holmefield with our family. On arrival the steam train was just passing which was a wonderful experience. The owners were extremely welcoming on arrival and just couldn't do enough for us throughout our stay. As the weather was warm and sunny were able to spend a couple of hours relaxing out on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lenna A
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had a good stay. Geoff was more than helpful booking us a taxi and greeting us. The room was clean and had everything we needed. The room was a little small. The bed was very comfy. Our cooked breakfast was ok, however the sausage was of poor quality and beans amount small. The décor in and around the guest...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Thomas R
holmefieldguesthouse, Owner at Holmefield Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you did not enjoy the sausages at breakfast, they are made at the local farm shop and most guests enjoy them, but it obviously didn't hit the spot with you, however, they are certainly not poor quality. With regard to the cost of your stay, you booked for a single Saturday night...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Very dissapointed. We stayed with a Groupon offer £159 for 2 nights B.&B. and one dinner. We were greeted with a lady who rushed us up the stairs gave us the keys and that was that, we never saw her again. Our room faced the main road which was very noisy. The room on late rooms is priced at £109...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AnnWoodLeeds252
holmefieldguesthouse, Owner at Holmefield Guesthouse, responded to this review

What a silly review, the rate for the room you quote as being £109 per night, you stayed two nights which would make the real cost £218 plus dinner which we charge £19.95 per head for three courses, totalling £257.90, you paid £149 for peak season stay, a bargain in anyone's book ! I can't find any record of your...

Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Really lovely hotel with no pretention just excellent service and a carefully created environment. Superb owners whose attention to detail in re-furbishing is clear to see. Breakfast was perfectly cooked and set us both up for the day ...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steve s
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 June 2014

A couple of nights spent there did me the world of good. The owner had thought of everything and I could hear lovely comments from many guests as they signed out , so was not the only one! Nice people , lovely room, great view. Would go back again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ancenator
Birmingham, UK
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Lovely,welcoming guesthouse. Professionally run but with a personal touch. Situated on main A6 road but hardly any noise and slept well. Grounds are beautiful, overlooking steam railway. Rooms, are well stocked and comfortable. Position is excellent for Bakewell and Chatsworth house. Evening meal was tasty and plentiful , as was the the breakfast. Thoroughly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank perryjw
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The guest house is a lovely place in a wonderful location but we felt let down by the hospitality . We had booked a table for dinner at 7 30 after emailing the guest house to say we would be arriving from work , due to an accident on the motorway we arrived at 7 50, to be told we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jilc60
holmefieldguesthouse, Owner at Holmefield Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I would just like to clarify the situation at Holmefield with regard to evening meals as you seem to have misunderstood. Evening meals are booked in advance with menu choices being given by 6.00 p.m. at the latest to enable me to cook from fresh ingredients, the meal of our guest's choice. You arrived at...

Northumberland
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in the Coach House that is set apart from the main house. It was a ground floor room with a patio door and a small patio, overlooking beautiful countryside and the line of a preserved railway. The room was on the small side and we had to keep moving the heavy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SeaEagle10
St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Booked this guesthouse for a quiet weekend away. Rest quality can only be described as shocking. Significant noise past 0230. The room was pleasant enough but basic. It would have been nice if the previous guests underwear had been removed in advance. Food quality was very average with breakfast served by an extremely grumpy member of staff. Checked out a...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank R0BIN_83
holmefieldguesthouse, Owner at Holmefield Guesthouse, responded to this review

We are sorry you had a disturbed nights sleep on one of your nights with us caused by some high spirited guests enjoying their weekend, this is not the norm and we did apologise to you personally on the following morning and gladly do so again on this worldwide web page. However, we have to dispute very strongly some of...

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darley Dale
6.8 km away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
120 reviews
2.1 km away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
6.2 km away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
360 reviews
0.5 km away
Deeley House Bed & Breakfast
0.3 km away
Barringtons
Barringtons
#3 of 6 in Darley Dale
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Holmefield Guesthouse

Address: Dale Road North, Darley Dale, Matlock DE4 2HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Darley Dale
Price Range: $221 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Holmefield Guesthouse Hotel Darley Dale
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holmefield Guesthouse staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Holmefield Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all good rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles , 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All rooms I believe look out onto the Dales”
 of 5 bubbles blades22, 2 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The ground floor annex rooms come with a balcony, which was lovely to sit out on. The guests house cat likes to come over and say hello.”
 of 5 bubbles 341vikkij, 16 May 2016 | Read review
“West facing over the dale.”
 of 5 bubbles Clanger62, 17 Sep 2015 | Read review
“we had a room towards the back of the house which faced the Derbyshire dales”
  • Matlock bath
  • Views from gardens
 of 5 bubbles 4374beckyc, 8 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5