We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.
Save
Share
14 Market Place The Green, Burnham Market PE31 8HD England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline
US$214
View deal
Booking.comUS$214
eDreamsUS$214
StayForLong
Agoda.comUS$214
Etrip
Expedia.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (386)
360
Panoramas (37)
Room & Suite (310)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
Updated 06/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 06/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Burnham Market
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Hoste and Vine House Hotels and Hoste Beauty are located in Burnham Market at the heart of the North Norfolk coast. The Hoste's historic bar, The Hoste Arms, dates back 400 years. There are also restaurants, a sheltered walled garden, fitness centre, and beauty spa and luxury 20-seat cinema. The Hoste was recognised as one of the leading ‘cool hotels’ by The Times in 2017 as well as one of the top 25 best food destinations in the UK.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Board games / puzzles
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Car park
Public wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Waxing services
24-hour security
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Separate living room
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Bath / shower
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, French
1952Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 873
  • 467
  • 313
  • 169
  • 130
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
james060157 wrote a review 23 Jan
King's Lynn, United Kingdom16 contributions11 helpful votes
We stayed here several years ago; it was then excellent in every respect. Our recent stay was disappointing. We requested a pet free room, was allocated No 55 in The Vine House. The room was small shabby and noisy. There was mould around the edge of the shower tray and above the sink. The public areas of the hotel looked tired. The food was edible but not good. Such a shame.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Hoste
Responded 2 days ago
Dear james060157 Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Vine House. We are all so saddened to read that your recent break with us was not up to the usual high standards you have come to expect from The Hoste. Please be assured that your feedback has been shared with the General Manager, Maintenance Manager and Head Housekeeper, and as part of our ongoing refurbishment plan throughout the hotel, we have prioritised room 55 to avoid any further disappointment, such as yours. We are however, surprised to read that you found the public areas of the hotel to look tired, as these has recently been refurbished. In spite of this, your comment has been shared with the Management team for review of these areas. We do hope that your recent visit will not deter you from returning to The Hoste, or The Vine House, as we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future for a seamless, enjoyable stay. Kind Regards
Read more
Jonathan L wrote a review 16 Jan
Norfolk, United Kingdom7 contributions9 helpful votes
I booked the Hoste Db&b for a sunday night as a nice away day for my wife, even paying 35 for early check in so we could dump our bags and go to the beach to walk. unfortunately our eldest daughter felt unwell on the Saturday night and first thing Sunday morning I rang the Hoste to try and move (not cancel) our booking to another day to suit us and the hoste. The young man said it was not possible due to the terms and condition to do anything at all, "why dont you get somebody other to look after your younger daughter ? (how about the older one who's unwell) ? then he said why not get someone to come in your place ? (as you can imagine when I told my wife this she hit the limiter) So I decided to write an email explain the above and ask for some compassion towards customers who have been coming to the Hoste over twenty five years. Imagine how disgusted I was to get no reply and at 1.30 pm to have my card charged in full including the early arrival fee and the dinner. Just disgusting to think this place has now stooped to utter money grabbing and fraud against customers. I will never set foot in the Hoste again as long as I live. look to other small hotels and avoid this place, its no longer Pauls dream.....
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
DavidBarbara B wrote a review 13 Jan
Cambridge, United Kingdom102 contributions41 helpful votes
My wife and I booked a night here to enjoy the delights of the north Norfolk coast over two days. The weather was great - bright crisp January sunshine, super walks and wonderful birdlife. We had a very comfortable and spacious room in the hotel, all the staff were very helpful and welcoming, evening measl and breakfast were superb and price very reasonable. Although we didn't use it the spa loked good and reasonably priced and the private cinema was another unusual attraction. All in all a first class experience we are anxious to repeat
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Hoste
Responded 1 week ago
Dear DavidBarbara B We are delighted to read of your superb review regarding your recent stay at The Hoste. We certainly have been very fortunate with the beautiful weather, and of course our wonderful location. Your comments regarding the comfortable and spacious room, very helpful and welcoming team members, and our reasonably priced, superb food has been shared with the entire team, who cannot thank you enough for your very positive review. We do hope you'll come back to visit us and enjoy some more walking very soon. Kind Regards
Read more
susu7777777 wrote a review 9 Jan
norwich12 contributions11 helpful votes
My daughter and I have just returned from the Wellness Weekend at The Hoste . We enjoyed every minute and thought it was fantastic value for money . It was obvious that much thought and effort had gone into planning this weekend, and it was a great pity that there was only one other person partaking , apart from us. We were accommodated in a beautiful Divine Room . The meals were of excellent quality, including the special healthy breakfast where everyone from the yoga class was very friendly and welcoming Most importantly , the 2 yoga classes provided were great and the teacher was excellent. We couldn’t fault the entire experience and thank you to everyone who made it special.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Hoste
Responded 1 week ago
Dear susu7777777 It is always so rewarding to hear that we are doing things right, and our guests are happy and left feeling satisfied (and relaxed!). Feedback such as yours encourages us to look at offering a similar package again in the future. Please look out for these packages by email or on our website for any future dates. Your comments have been shared with the entire team, who have enjoyed reading your positive review and all very much look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards
Read more
Jamie B wrote a review 4 Jan
Southwell, United Kingdom97 contributions106 helpful votes
Booked for a family stay just before Christmas, I was a little put off by some of the reviews saying it had slipped since becoming part of a chain. Not a bit of it, warm welcome, great atmosphere, immaculate dog friendly room, good food and great residents lounge areas . Great stay,many thanks
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Hoste
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Dafttea We are all so very thankful for your kind words regarding The Hoste, the team and the good food we serve. It is disappointing to read that some unfortunate negative reviews almost put you off coming to visit us however, we are so pleased that you were able to enjoy The Hoste for yourselves. Please be assured that we have all read your valued feedback here at The Hoste, and all very much look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$155 - US$286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hoste arms hotel burnham market
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hoste Arms
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaNorfolkBurnham Market
NUMBER OF ROOMS
45
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Hoste
Which popular attractions are close to The Hoste?
Nearby attractions include Holkham National Nature Reserve (6.3 km), Brancaster Bay (6.7 km), and Holkham Hall (5.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Hoste?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a fitness centre.
What food & drink options are available at The Hoste?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Hoste?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Hoste?
Conveniently located restaurants include Socius, The Crab Hut, and Tillys Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Hoste?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is The Hoste located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Burnham Market.
Are pets allowed at The Hoste?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Hoste offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Hoste?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to The Hoste?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Holkham Hall (5.3 km) and All Saints Church (2.1 km).