We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cranston House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Cranston House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

72 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 66: English reviews
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Dissapointing, aged B&B, basic accomodation. Shower did not work either too hot or too cold, host didnt seem overly concernedwhen complained Price would be reasonable if breakfast was included but you had to pay extra for this which again was over priced. In general not again, there are other better options out there

Helpful?
Thank Mark H
Cranstonhouse, Owner at Cranston House, responded to this review

Hello Mark, Thank you for your review. Following your complaint at check out about the malfunctioning shower, I apologised to you and your wife for the inconvenience and said I would check the problem at once which I did on your departure. You were quite right the shower was fluctuating through hot and cold cycles. This fault had not been... More 

1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here july 30th to attend a friends 40th birthday who lived nearby. The room was advertised as spacious and fully equipped. We had to go down to reception and ask for an iron and board. We stayed in room 4, right at the top of the building. Well the tag spacious would have been true if you were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Natalie J
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

Visited while on a cycle tour. Brian and his wife looked after us very well. From helping us with taxis to storing our bikes, they could not have been more helpful. The house is spacious and welcoming, situated in a quiet residential area, but within easy walking distance to the town centre. The bedrooms were well equipped and comfortable. Breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank DRML2013
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

Really nice, clean, comfortable rooms and run by a lovely guy who really helped us out of a situation, nice quiet residential location, would happily stay there again, easy reach of the town centre, extremely helpful with local information and a really nice place to come back to after finishing work

Helpful?
Thank petermaz1967
Busselton, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2016

I chose Cranston house as it was central to my family. What a lovely surprise ! Quiet rooms with invisible cleaning fairies that came every day. The hosts Brian and Aileen were unintrusive but always helpful with any requests. The bar fridge with soft drinks only was useful as was the kettle . The hosts were happy to have you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leonie S
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2016

My partner and I went to Lingfield racing and looked for a good band b and we found Cranston House from the moment we arrived we were treated very well. The room was very clean and had everything we needed although the on suite was a bit small other than that excellent . Breakfast was full English and everything you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ian W
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2016 via mobile

Coming to east grinstead once a month, this is the most beautiful and quiet hotel I found. Aileen and Brian are almost nowhere to be seen, but magically, as soon as you need something, they appear, always with a kind word, and a smile on their faces. This is what I call service! The rooms are incredibly clean, anytime a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rebmania
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2016

I was in East Grinstead to catch up with friends and chose Cranston House because of the good reviews and the fact that it is within walking distance of the town centre. I was not disappointed. The first plus was the large car park at the front of the house which took the car off the road. Aileen was welcoming... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sandy W
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2015 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying here for a week whilst down on business. It was ideally located for my purpose but also for the town centre. Everything you may need whilst working away has been thought of, location of all local restaurants /take aways and a selection of ones that will actually deliver to your room free of charge.... More 

Helpful?
Thank NorthYorkshireTanFan
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2015

I stayed here alone and had the back bedroom that overlooks a very large garden. The owners had thought of everything with their booklet about the room/your stay and even had take-away menus should you wish to order a take -away whilst there. They had a heater in the room along with kettle/tv etc.

Helpful?
Thank betshean

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Grinstead
2.4 km away
Felbridge Hotel and Spa
Felbridge Hotel and Spa
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
1,127 reviews
2.6 km away
Premier Inn East Grinstead Hotel
Premier Inn East Grinstead Hotel
#3 of 4 in East Grinstead
327 reviews
4.3 km away
Brambletye Hotel
Brambletye Hotel
#2 of 2 in Forest Row
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
The Roebuck Hotel
The Roebuck Hotel
#1 of 2 in Forest Row
469 reviews
4.9 km away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
4.6 km away
Lingfield Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Cranston House

Address: Cranston House Cranston Road, East Grinstead RH19 3HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > East Grinstead
Price Range: $89 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Cranston House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cranston House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The upper stairs rooms have slightly smaller bathroom facilities - if you are a large person don't request room 4 .”
 of 5 bubbles leonies21, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Our room was very quite facing east so lots of morning sunshine”
 of 5 bubbles ianw194, 26 May 2016 | Read review
“if possible ask for the back bedroom on floor top floor”
 of 5 bubbles betshean, 23 Oct 2015 | Read review
“cleanliness and Wifi”
 of 5 bubbles traveller1906, 13 Apr 2015 | Read review
“I had a top floor single room at back and had a wonderful view. plus you can watch the planes flying past into gatwick. No noise just a peacfull, relaxing night.”
 of 5 bubbles Loopyleo1066, 5 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay