We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Atherton Travellers Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Atherton
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Atherton Travellers Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

8 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 8: English reviews
Vimmerby, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2016 via mobile

A good working hostel. Atherton is one of the best places to do your farmwork in australia, and this hostel get work for almost everyone when you are there in the right season. Manager can be a bit bad but he gets you work and that's the most important. Also very good commonarea.

Helpful?
Thank Gunnar H
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2015

I'm pretty sure this is my first bad review on trip advisor. I love posting good ones but this is the first place I've felt so negatively about. Stayed here for almost 2 months . When I first got here with a friend it seemed super dodgy. When we arrived we were looked at like we had a third head,... More 

Helpful?
18 Thank Monika F

Travellers are raving about these Atherton hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2015

This hostel is by FAR the worst accomodation i have ever stayed in. After 5 years of traveling the world this is the 1 place a would definitely not visit again. They are money grabbing scammers. They mislead you with false information of a job. If you are one of the lucky ones to get a terrible job, your rent... More 

Helpful?
13 Thank Gibbbooo
Ruaire H, Manager at Atherton Travellers Lodge, responded to this review

Giboo I understand you were not happy. We can not make everyone happy and you were very hard to please. We connected you with a farm job however when advised we couldnt help your girlfriend with a job when she arrived you became very unreasonable. Your attempt to take a job we secured with you resulted in your being fired.... More 

1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2014

My time in Atherton Travellers Lodge was by far my best time in Australia. The minute you walk in the door you are welcomed as family and once you respect everyone and your surroundings this will never change. The owner and management work so hard for everyone who comes in the door and if you're not working they're not happy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maobh M
Ruaire H, Manager at Atherton Travellers Lodge, responded to this review

Maobh you were such a star. Miss having you with us and my little girls ask often about you. We have had many people come and stay from your recommendation and appreciate it so much all you have said here makes it all worth while. Is hard to see some he horrible things people write when all we want to... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2014

this is a rewires that should tie a lot of negativity out of the past reviews. for starters: I have lived in the Lodge for 6 months and was having the best time of my life! As in every Hostel there we’re people from different countries. and the owner (Ruaire) and the manager (Jin) gave their best to keep it... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JanHuss51
Ruaire H, Manager at Atherton Travellers Lodge, responded to this review

Jan what can I say. You were and remain one the coolest dudes ever come to the lodge. Friends to all any conquer of the ladies ( settled on the best). Miss the good tunes and vibe you bought with you. Such a positive and motivated dude. Was so glad you were a part of our lodge and appreciate you... More 

Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

They claim they are a working hostel and that they will help you get a farm job. In truth they are only able to get a few backpackers jobs. I met people there who had stayed for months and worked three days! They are only after your money, and even make you pay a deposit that you wont get back... More 

Helpful?
16 Thank Ingie E
Vannes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I had a really great time in this place. I got a full time job straight away when I arrived there and had a really nice experience meeting up with amazing guys! I don't have anything to complain about except maybe the dishes not always done but can't blame anyone else than ourselves!

Helpful?
2 Thank celinefeu56
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Dodgy owner, dirty place with bedbugs. Unfortunately the owners see backpackers as scum who only serve the purpose of giving them money. They advertise with 4-6 bed dorms, but when you arrive they put you in an 11 bed dorm, which becomes so smelly during the night and are very noisy because of the number of people, that it for... More 

Helpful?
25 Thank Ndavila
Ruaire H, Manager at Atherton Travellers Lodge, responded to this review

Lydia Harrison well what a shock. You worked the whole time you were here. You stayed at the Barron Valley for starters that is not even my property or premises. The bed bugs at the barron valley is no reflection on our cleanliness at Atherton Travellers Lodge. Bed bugs are trafficed by backpackers, they are not native to Australia. We... More 

2 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atherton hotels
3.6 km away
No photo provided
2.0 km away
BIG4 Atherton Woodlands
BIG4 Atherton Woodlands
#1 of 9 in Atherton
199 reviews
1.6 km away
The Atherton Motel
The Atherton Motel
#1 of 4 in Atherton
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Tolga Backpackers
Tolga Backpackers
#4 of 4 in Atherton
4 reviews
0.6 km away
Atherton Hinterland Motel
0.3 km away
Atherton Hotel
Atherton Hotel
#5 of 6 in Atherton
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Additional Information about Atherton Travellers Lodge

Address: 37 Alice St, Atherton, Queensland 4883, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Atherton
Number of rooms: 43
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Atherton Travellers Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There is no good or bad bedrooms, you can't chose at first but then you can ask the landlord to change!”
 of 5 bubbles celinefeu56, 24 Oct 2013 | Read review
“Do not stay here!!!”
 of 5 bubbles Ndavila, 11 Jun 2012 | Read review
2 of 2