We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Barcaldine Country Motor Inn

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Management photos
Barcaldine Country Motor Inn
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

109 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Barcaldine Country Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 109: English reviews
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

It had been 4 years between visits and I still would recommend staying here. Having foxtel is a bonus and the location is more convenient compared to other places as you head out of town towards Blackall. It's only a short stroll down to the pubs yet far enough away that you won't get any noise from the revellers. Otherwise... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris B
Carolyn M, Owner at Barcaldine Country Motor Inn, responded to this review

thanks chris for your review its always good to know our customers keep coming back. 90% of our rooms now have 5mm laminated glass to block out the noise of the trucks, for those who are light sleepers. yes and it is great that we dont have any crime in barcaldine, so people can park their bigger cars or trucks... More 

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

Staff were friendly and our villa was at the back of the complex on the end. Making it quiet and private. It was a villa for the disabled which lacked a lot of storage options. It also meant no vanity space around the basin. The pool and barbecue area were very well maintained and our villa was clean. My only... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dianne G
Carolyn M, Owner at Barcaldine Country Motor Inn, responded to this review

hi Dianne, I did not realize you weren't told that you were booked into the disable villa, as that was the only one left at the time of your booking, we very rarely rent it to a disabled person. if you would have come and told me you were not happy in there, I could have changed you to a... More 

Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2016

We stayed here only 1 night but were pleasantly surprised how well equipped our room was (it was one of the renovated ones) and a very reasonable price. The owner is very friendly and helpful and relaxed:) We also had dinner here and although it was a Sunday and a limited menu, the food was plentiful and well cooked. Being... More 

Helpful?
Thank AussieEggy
Carolyn M, Owner at Barcaldine Country Motor Inn, responded to this review

aussieEggy, thank you so much for your lovely review, we strive to make people happy and try to make it like home for them. so pleased you enjoyed your dinner, as we only had a limited menu because of the tour coach we had in that night. sorry you had to be woken by one of the other guests so... More 

Ballina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2016

Have stayed twice at Barcaldine Country Motor Inn, once with family and once for business. Perfect location with easy walking distance to main street. Cozy, clean rooms and love the home style country meals which you can have in the dining room or delivered to your room. Will stay here again

Helpful?
Thank Krista H
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2016

Typical motel accommodation with clean rooms and all amenities. Only grip was that the soap holder in the shower had not been cleaned and there was still soap in it. Rest of visit was excellent and I would recommend

Helpful?
Thank 1234Col
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2016

We stayed in a Villa at this motel for 2 nights. Very comfortable with everything one could need and nice and quiet. Very centrally located as we walked everywhere from here including two night walks to the Shakespeare for great meals. Highly recommend staying in these Villas

Helpful?
Thank Jeanette N
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Good accommodation Clean well equipped, great bed!!! Very welcoming staff, arrived early not a problem on a busy corner BUT no noise problem. Will be back, very convenient Restaurant on site. Undercover car park.

Helpful?
Thank Pgjoh
Carolyn M, Owner at Barcaldine Country Motor Inn, responded to this review

thank you so much for your review, its great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, see you next time More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

I booked into this motel online and expected to get this motel! Instead when I arrived they had shoved me across the road in a completely run down old unit in an old hotel they had obviously purchased from someone who probably went broke as no one would stay there! On arriving there was only one light working in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Simone L
Carolyn M, Owner at Barcaldine Country Motor Inn, responded to this review

Simone, We are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. The cleaners have checklists to go by, but obviously they did not check it properly that day, if your lights were not working. The maintenance man who changed your light bulb, heard you comment "OH DAMM, I DID BOOK THE BUDGET ROOM" after checking something on your... More 

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

This motel has two parts the villas or motel style accommodation. We stayed in a villa for one night with two kids under 9. I highly recommend staying in the villas. They are absolutely spotless and very comfortable. The beds are super soft and towels soft and fluffy! They have full kitchen and wi fi. It also has an air... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank BlackMc
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2016

Tidy room with a level of refurbishment of an older motel design. Easy check-in - friendly and relaxed. It would have been more convenient if items like hairdryers and irons were in the rooms rather than at reception. Beds are of very good quality. Bathroom is a bit dated but clean and functional. Parking outside unit but not undercover. Some... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maccas78

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcaldine hotels
1.1 km away
Landsborough Lodge Motel
Landsborough Lodge Motel
#3 of 3 in Barcaldine
41 reviews
1.1 km away
Ironbark Inn
Ironbark Inn
#1 of 2 in Barcaldine
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
BARCALDINE COUNTRY MOTOR INN IS A QUALITY AAA 3 1/2 STAR AIR-CONDITIONED MOTEL SITUATED ON THE CORNER OF THE CAPRICORN AND LANDSBOROUGH HIGHWAYS. THE MOTOR INN HAS THE BEST POSITION IN TOWN BEING IN THE CENTRE OF THE LOCAL TOURIST ATTRACTIONS AND THE MAIN SHOPPING CENTRE AND EATERIES. IT HAS 20 CLEAN AND COMFORTABLE ROOMS, INCLUDING 1 DISABLED AND 2 X 2 BEDROOM UNITS THAT SLEEPS UP TO 6 PEOPLE. IT HAS A LICENSED DINING ROOM AND SHADY VERANDAH WHERE YOU CAN ENJOY LARGE HOME COOKED MEALS AND RELAX AMONGST THE COUNTRY GARDENS 7 DAYS A WEEK. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barcaldine Country Motor Inn

Address: Cnr Landsborough & Capricorn Hwys, Barcaldine, Queensland 4725, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Barcaldine
Price Range: $80 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcaldine Country Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Barcaldine Country Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Barcaldine Country Motor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles Scottthesalesrep, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Our room was 26, recently refurbished, but waiting a new bed.”
 of 5 bubbles AussieInAsia, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in Room 12 which was halfway along the newer section opposite the CHOICE petrol station”
 of 5 bubbles AussieEggy, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Lots of rooms to choose from all with different rates so you can have a better room for more money, its your choice”
 of 5 bubbles 1234Col, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the older style motel room, was wonderful, Room 24.”
 of 5 bubbles UrsulaH81, 9 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay