We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island

02/04/2017 03/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

346 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island
See the most recent reviews
Showing 338: English reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2017

We paid over $300 per night for a 1 bedroom apartment. The view was fabulous. The apartment was tired, sorely in need of maintenance and definitely did not live up to the description of "luxury beach house style apartments, most with a myriad of creature comforts, quality appliances and exquisite features". It seemed that the apartment had not had a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Karen N
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

My best friend and I had an absolutely incredible stay. Marc and Miranda were so friendly and helpful. The view was outstanding, the pools were sensational (rooftop was my favourite). It was walking distance to restaurants, supermarkets, car hire and the ferry. The room itself was big enough for the two of us. We had a wonderful time. Will definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica W
Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 2 January 2017

There are two things going for this apartment hotel - the view, if you happend to get a room with one, and its location next to the ferry terminal, supermarket, bus stop etc. And that is where it ends. We reserved a 2 bedroom apartment for a couple of nights between Xmas and New Year. The ducted air conditioning no...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Chris C
Wirral UK
Reviewed 30 December 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights on a Groupon deal. We had a 2 bed, 2 bath apartment. The ferry journey from Townsville was fun and fortunately we had great weather. Check in was friendly and efficient, though we had difficulty in opening the security barrier. Initially they thought it was our fault and did not believe us, but when...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank NeilandBarbara
Reviewed 16 December 2016

Grand Mecure is a short walk from the ferry terminal, apartments are huge. 2 Bedrooms, two bathrooms, big lounge with two leather sofas, views are spectacular, 4 pools and all very nice to swim in. One rooftop where you can get awesome sunset pics over the mountain. Was nice and quiet for us as we went before the school holiday...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fiona L
Ingham
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Our ladies tennis group had our annual xmas break up party here. We were extremely well looked after. Accommodation was exceptional with spectacular ocean views in all apartments we stayed in. We had a roof top pool party that was set up for us by the wonderful management and staff. Everyone was very happy with our stay. Would highly recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank all0uisel
Eric D, Manager at Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to host a group like yourselves whom bring a happy cheer to Grand Mercure! The rooftop pool area is a great place to host Christmas functions and we are glad these facilities are being utilized. We would love to have you ladies return next year. Please contact us directly +61 7 47582100 and we are more...

Wollongong, Australia
Reviewed 22 November 2016

This island feels like an outer suburb of Townsville - a very pretty, unspoilt island with many permanent residents. Go there for the walks, the water, the lovely little eateries and the tranquility. It's not a shopping destination nor is the landscape dominated by tourism development. The Mercure apartments are clean, stylish and contain a fantastic pool - perfect for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marina0418
Eric D, Manager at Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island, responded to this review

We really appreciate all feedback from valued guests like yourself and are really wrapped to hear you enjoyed your stay! With the natural beauty of Magnetic Island and "unspoilt island" is just how to perfectly describe our beautiful home. Thank you for putting the effort into writing a review for us at Grand Mercure! For any future bookings please contact...

Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 19 November 2016

These are truely self contained apartments, 400 metres from the Magnetic Island ferry. The apartments have everything you need and there is a supermarket 300 metres away where you can purchase anything you need to make you stay comfortable. There are two types of accommodation, ocean front or setback, make sure you get the ocean front.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey F
Eric D, Manager at Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and putting the effort into writing a review for us at Grand Mercure! We really appreciate all feedback from valued guests like yourself and are really glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! With the convenience and natural beauty of the apartments it is hard to want to leave! For any future bookings please contact...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 10 November 2016

Great location, incredibly friendly staff, but unfortunately the least clean and unhygienic room I have ever encountered. First time I've ever had to complain to hotel staff- they were very apologetic. Also I still don't understand why the bath tub is in the bedroom! Trendy it may be but practical it is not.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GeorginaBurrows
Eric D, Manager at Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and putting the effort into writing a review for us at Grand Mercure. I am very sorry to hear of the bad cleaning experience. We hope to think this didn't entirely tarnish your entire stay.

Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

The location and staff were nothing short of amazing. The rooms were fantastic and the facilities were great. However, upon arrival we were greated by one of the managers who was nothing more than rude and condescending. She constantly spoke to me and my friends in a rude manner and had all around terrible people skills. She warned us of...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jacob W
Eric D, Manager at Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island, responded to this review

Thank-you for your response. The instructions for all full mooner guests were simple. Fake blood and makeup damages to the room would incur a loss of bond. Unfortunately in today's society, people tend to not want to take responsibility. We have photo images and evidence if you would like me to resend these to you. Please, dear sir, I would...

210 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (197)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (24)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Magnetic Island hotels
1.9 km away
Arcadia Village Motel
Arcadia Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Arcadia
228 reviews
4.5 km away
Sails On Horseshoe
Sails On Horseshoe
#4 of 5 in Magnetic Island
103 reviews
0.5 km away
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
#2 of 5 in Magnetic Island
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Island Leisure Resort
Island Leisure Resort
#3 of 5 in Magnetic Island
178 reviews
1.4 km away
Arcadia Beach Guest House
Arcadia Beach Guest House
#2 of 8 in Magnetic Island
175 reviews
0.2 km away
Beachside Magnetic Harbour Holiday Apartments
Beachside Magnetic Harbour Holid...
#7 of 18 in Magnetic Island
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With the character of Magnetic Island reflected in its distinctive architecture, Grand Mercure Magnetic Island offers a secluded sanctuary, with oceanfront accommodation comprising of four buildings nestled around tropical landscaped gardens. Grand Mercure Magnetic Island offers a selection of deluxe one, two and three bedroom beach house style apartments designed to take advantage of uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea and enhance the natural space and lighting with sliding door panels, louvered walls and breezeways and private balconyies. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island

Address: 146 Sooning St, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia (Formerly Mantra One Bright Point)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Price Range: $210 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grand Mercure Apartments Hotel Magnetic Island
Mantra One Bright Point Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Always ask for a water view room”
 of 5 bubbles WayneK53, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Buy some groceries and supplies on the mainland”
 of 5 bubbles kimw92486, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try to get an apartment that has a door on the shower and not need a step ladder to get into it.”
 of 5 bubbles Elgrad, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try Peppers”
 of 5 bubbles 41terri, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Chose a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles ChrisC638, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
Agoda.com
Hotels.com
Priceline
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates