We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Speewah Country Tavern

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Speewah Country Tavern
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

20 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 20: English reviews
Kuranda
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have lived in the area for twenty years and have seen the fare wax and wain over that time. However the current meals thanks to the new chef are beyond reproach both in taste and value. Keep the chef and I am sure people will keep coming back, I know I will.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Z_FNQ
Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 15 December 2016

I have been reading what others have been saying about the food in this tavern and unfortunately fail to agree .. The food is apalling and the prices beyond belief .. We moved to this area a year ago and had many a good meal but I have a feeling both management and without doubt the catering personnel have changed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daleturnbull12
hilt5962, Owner at Speewah Country Tavern, responded to this review

The management has not changed in 15yrs ,the chef has been here for 10mths, if you had a problem as none of our staff new about ,& the prices have dropped within the last 6mths. If you won't to complain you could see us direct or tell us what you you ordered on the day Instead of writing the above...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Speewah country tavern is the perfect place to eat great food, drink plenty of booze, relax and rewind. The staff and locals are friendly and it really is a place where you can let loose and have a good time. The accommodation is perfectly set only walking distance to the bar, shop and pool with a backdrop of the rainforest....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hiltonroofing
Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

Excellent ambience and food is good. Prices are good and you get value for money. Very kid friendly place with a swimming pool near restaurant and bar. Overall good food, all round great place to visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Myrtaceae19
Norman, Oklahoma
Reviewed 3 November 2016

This tavern is in a tranquil setting and it offers clean and comfortable accommodation at reasonable prices (90aud per night). The room was spacious and clean with comfortable bed and clean bathroom. A microwave, refrigerator, toaster and electric kettle were very handy for simple meal preparation. There is a nice swimming pool and a restaurant that appears to be popular...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarracenia
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Great little Country Tavern with very friendly staff and bloody delicious (and well priced) meals. Also very easy to find, only a stones throw from the highway. Looking forward to coming back, was well worth the drive from the Northern Beaches. If you're going past I definitely recommend stopping in for a drink and a feed.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank WildMan84
Launceston, Australia
Reviewed 13 August 2016

Great meal !., well priced and friendly service !! Had the seafood plate was scrumptious !! Couldn't finish it all !., sat outside under th verandah The pool looked so inviting !., definetly go back again !., the menu was full of so many choices !.,

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Whitty1955
cairns
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Spacious and Spotless motel rooms with beautiful bush scenery. The Tavern boasts a "Bill of Fare" comparable to a top class city tavern and justifiably backs it with meals that are delightful and full of flavour.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ralph231
Launceston, Australia
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

Friendly and helpful staff, a relaxed environment, great quality food, and a beautiful setting. All for a reasonable price. Highly recommend for a meal with family and friends, or a few drinks. Amazing looking pool as well. It's well worth pulling off the main road and calling in.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elise A
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 March 2016

The food here is excellent and very reasonable. The portions are enormous, so make sure you are hungry. Pizzas, steaks, Sunday roasts and fish to name a few. They are served quickly with friendly service. You can also visit for just a drink. They have a meat draw on Friday evenings which is fun and a pool table is available....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ladon1

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuranda
4.5 km away
Cedar Park Rainforest Resort
0.0 km away
Ronday-voo Bed & Breakfast
8.2 km away
Lake Placid Tourist Park
Lake Placid Tourist Park
#19 of 88 in Cairns
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
No photo provided
Kuranda Villas
#1 of 1 in Speewah
20 reviews
8.4 km away
Kuranda Ngorongoro Lodge
Kuranda Ngorongoro Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kuranda
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This charming,family freindly retreat is located just off the kennedy highway,nestled on the edge of world heritage rainforest & bounds on to fresh water Grove creek.The Speewah Country tavern is the perfect escape from the daily grind or pefect base for tourists wanting to experience the 1st class attractions of the Atherton tablelands has to offer .Most within 10-20 minute drive from your cabin. Barron George National park,Douglas & Smith walking tracks. Horse riding school,short walk to kids play grounds & tennis court. 5 Minute drive to Kuranda village. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Speewah Country Tavern

Address: 38 Speewah Rd | Speewah, Kuranda, Queensland 4881, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Kuranda
Price Range: $87 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Speewah Country Tavern 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Speewah Country Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Speewah Country Tavern staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Hinchinbrook Island, Australia
1 month ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Speewah Country Tavern staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take your pick, they are all great”
 of 5 bubbles hiltonroofing, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are good, and more or less the same (other than some are double and some double and twin depending on your specific requirements)”
 of 5 bubbles reginah459, 1 Feb 2016 | Read review
“The rooms at the back are quieter, but there's no mobile phone reception here so make your calls before you get there.”
  • The cabins are basic but clean and well presented.
  • Clean and tidy bathroom with plenty of room.
  • All the rooms look out onto the rainforest.
 of 5 bubbles 949dukes, 10 Apr 2015 | Read review
3 of 3
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay