We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Spicers Tamarind Retreat

Agoda.comUS$267*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$407*
US$267*
Great Deal
US$407*
US$407*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Spicers Tamarind Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

622 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 621: English reviews
Start your review of Spicers Tamarind Retreat
 Click to rate
Tannum Sands, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

The food was fantastic, the rooms well appointed and had everything needed, the grounds are well looked after and have great walking paths and trails. the spa was fantastic and they made you very welcome on arrival.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank douglasleas
GM_Spicers_Ryan, Manager at Spicers Tamarind Retreat, responded to this review

Dear douglasleas, Thank you for your recent stay. It was pleasing to read your review and that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. Going for a walk on the boardwalk through the rainforest is a relaxing way to start your stay at Spicers Tamarind Retreat. We hope we can welcome you back to the property again in the near...

London
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for a weekend at the falls villa, two families travelling with twi kids under, the rooms were spacious and well maintained, short stroll to the water fall. The degustation menu was excellent, the breakfast was superb. Definitely recommend Spicers tamarind retreat for a relaxing break.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Krishna_Venkatesan
GM_Spicers_Ryan, Manager at Spicers Tamarind Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Krishna_Venkatesan, Thank you for your recent stay at Spicers Tamarind Retreat. We are pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the retreat. It was nice to read your comments in regards to our degustation menu as Dan Jarrett our Head Chef has recently changed the menu to incorporate a more 'family style'. I will...

Brisbane
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There were lots of little things not quite right. The outside lights didn't work, nor did the torch on the key ring. We had to tell three different people about a food allergy. There was no way visible to turn on the microwave. The shower was great - if you wanted to wash the whole bathroom and toilet. The wi-fi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ortho85
GM_Spicers_Ryan, Manager at Spicers Tamarind Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Ortho85, Thank you for your recent stay and valuable feedback. Please accept our apologies for the issues noted during your stay. These are certainly not up to our usual standards and we have addressed the points you have raised. In regards to the food allergy I would appreciate being able to speak with you in person about this so...

Flaxton, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited Tamarind in Maleny for breakfast on my Birthday. Selected the restaurant due to its close proximity to my residence in Flaxton and have been very fortunate enough to have frequented it over the past few years for lunch and dinner and was favourably impressed with same. Read the Menu online and was determined that this would be the venue...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
GM_Spicers_Ryan, Manager at Spicers Tamarind Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Sandra M, Thank you for choosing The Tamarind Restaurant as your destination of choice to celebrate your birthday! We certainly take pride in our breakfast offering as we understand how important it is to start the day full of energy and in a positive frame of mind. It was pleasing to read your breakfast experience with us was memorable...

Noosa, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a birthday meal and stayed the night recently. The Asian-fusion meal was amazing, the environment is so peaceful and the outdoor hot tub was a wonderfully relaxing start to our evening. Breakfast service was a little slow - which really doesn't matter if you're there to relax, however top marks go to the dinner service team who managed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AussieItchyFeet_13
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 20 March 2017

If you want to have one of the best experiences of your life this is the place to go, from accommodations, staff, services, restaurant, and quality for money this is one of my best ever experiences truly 10 * or more. When we came from cottage for dinner it was raining and as we discussed getting umbrellas from boot, angels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank honeyandwine
Reviewed 18 March 2017

What a wonderful surprise.We stayed in villa number 6 complete with a very comfortable bed ,huge bathroom, an outdoor hot tub and magnificent views down to Obi Creek. All the staff were fabulous and the food at both dinner and breakfast sensational. We highly recommend Tamarind if you are looking for a tranquil getaway with all the trappings of a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
Hervey Bay, Australia
Reviewed 9 March 2017

First arriving at Tamarind you are greeted by the reception staff (John) Wonderful welcome and service! As we were walking to our villa the thing you notice is how manicured the grounds are. Our villa was maintained beautifully. Very clean and well decorated! The bed very comfy! Out door cedar spa--what a nice touch! Good way to end the day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SallieBobbie
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 8 March 2017

We went to Spicers Tamarind Retreat for our Wedding anniversary 2016 just for dinner and the service, food, staff were all fantastic. The grounds are really lovely very tranquil super place to chill out. We will definitely head there for a weekend. Super place

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GandJ-Australia70
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewed 7 March 2017

We snuck up to the Retreat for a nigh getaway while staying down in Noosa and it was an unbelievable experience! The grounds were well kept and peaceful, our room was very nicely appointed and bed was really comfortable. We slept so well, we almost missed the end of breakfast! Out favorite part of the stay was the 5 course...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bouldertim

411 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (181)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (98)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (214)
Viewed
1 Bedroom Luxury Falls Villa (52)
Viewed
2 Bedroom Luxury Forest Villa (90)
Viewed
Amenities (27)
Viewed
Pool (4)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Spa (2)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maleny
6.7 km away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#2 of 2 in Montville
171 reviews
8.2 km away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
10.1 km away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Spicers Clovelly Estate
Spicers Clovelly Estate
#2 of 9 in Montville
491 reviews
4.0 km away
Maleny Tropical Retreat
6.7 km away
Secrets on the Lake
Secrets on the Lake
#1 of 9 in Montville
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set near a waterfall in stunning rainforest in the Sunshine Coast hinterland just 3 km east of Maleny, Spicers Tamarind Retreat is an intimately unique hideaway. Intimate, private and romantic, every villa is your escape from it all. Curl up in front of your own wood burning fireplace, relax and read a book, or just sink back into the luxurious King-size bed. Pure zen. Spicers Tamarind Retreat offers a choice of stand-alone villas:- five x 1 bedroom villas with lounge, large bathroom, king bedroom, fireplace and outdoor cedar hot tub- six x 2 bedroom villas with lounge, open fireplace, outdoor day bed, two bedrooms, two large bathrooms and rainforest views- one x 2 bedroom villa with wheelchair access and amenities. The Tamarind restaurant is an award-winning Modern Asian restaurant and cooking school, recently being awarded Two Chef's Hats by Qld Good Food Guide and AHA Best Boutique Hotel 2015. Spicers Tamarind Retreat boasts a destination Day Spa with four large treatment rooms, hydrotherapy room, mineralised spa, steam room, rain shower, private change rooms and bathrooms, open deck and specialty foot treatment room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Spicers Tamarind Retreat

Address: 88 Obi Lane S, Maleny, Queensland 4552, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Maleny
Price Range: $495 - $631 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Spicers Tamarind Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spicers Tamarind Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Spicers Tamarind Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all room were fantastic”
douglasleas, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We were in Villa 3--private with beautiful views; but all the villas have the same privacies with very manicured grounds.”
SallieBobbie, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“opt in for the breakfast and dinner package, it was a good value”
bouldertim, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“It was VERY hot in Feb, we had the Rainforest room which was a bit cooler.”
leeloo189, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All villas are lovely, they just have different aspects.”
beafletcher, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$267* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$407
Booking.comUS$407
PricelineUS$270
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates