We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach

CancelonUS$78
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$160*
US$78*
Great Deal
US$81*
US$81*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

752 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
See the most recent reviews
Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 18 February 2016

We spent a night at Castaways. The room was beautiful and spacious and very well equipped. It wasn't completely clean and there was a bit of dusty around but still liveable. The reception staff were wonderful and very accommodating, although when we asked for a ground floor unit (we have kids) we were told they were all booked, which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacovos_Family
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Jacovos, I am sorry that we have not met your expectations, i have taken on board your comments and will be addressing the staff services delivery issue you raised, on most occasions the feedback on our staff is outstanding, I must say i cant agree with you on breakfast being over priced, serving are plentiful and the standards very...

Reviewed 18 February 2016

We chose Valentines Day to visit the restaurant at the Castaways Resort. You immediately feel at ease with the ambiance accelerated by the view through the palm trees over the water to Dunk Island and the group of islands nearby.Well thought out lunch menu with small serves on on side and full meals on the other side. We chose scallops...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dera Brian, Thank you for your review we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us in Mission Beach, please let me when next you stay, let me buy you a coffee. regrads

Reviewed 14 February 2016 via mobile

Million dollar views, absolutely cracking place to have a drink and bite to eat while watching the sun go down But quite expensive for a small room though, the rooms on either side of us had pool access gates while ours was just a glass pool fence Super friendly staff though

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AustenBuckley
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Austen Thank you for your kind word, we naturally agree with you about the views and the supper friendly staff. I think you may have book a hotel room, resort and coral sea rooms all have balconies. Come back we look forward to having you stay with us again. Regards

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 13 February 2016

We have been here twice in 10 years. It is a great setting, right on a beautiful beach which is hardly occupied even in the middle of holiday season. The breakfast buffet could be improved with a wider range but this is not a deal breaker. The staff were friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary_TDM
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Gary, Thank you for your review and feed back, we agree with you our staff are friendly and helpful, we will review the breakfast buffet, but it is a complimentary offering the main menu does have more offerings on it. Cheers

Perth
Reviewed 8 February 2016

We stayed at Castaways overnight on our way to Townsville. I had previously googled the resort and thought it looked nice, I rang and inquired about the rooms and the girl did ask me if I wanted to book I said no we will have a look when we get there We arrived a bit later than we had wanted...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dianne583
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2016 via mobile

So I stayed here for 2 nights, I checked in around 7pm at night & my first room was ok...it was in the rainforest part or the resort. It smelt of mould, very basic and dated interior & the bathroom had cockroaches. So I instantly phoned reception and demanded a change of room. They instantly upgraded me to an apartment...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UnitedKingdom44
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear United Kingdom, Thank you for your feedback, our rainforest property is our economy brand, and while older than the beachside property it is clean and comfortable. Your morning visitor was a white-tailed Uromys its a protected species by the Queensland government. We have called in the wildlife staff to have it safely relocated from the property they are not...

Reviewed 7 February 2016 via mobile

Web pictures do not match this 2.5 star resort. Breakfast included is poor, rooms are dated and unclean. Restaurant prices and bar prices are expensive and service is slow. I expected a 4 star resort but left disappointed

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pat C
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Pat, I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations, we do have two properties at Castaways Beachside and Rainforest, i sorry if you booking was in rainforest which is our economy brand, it does clearly explain the difference between these properties, however i do take on board your comments and will again view how the information is...

Antwerp Province, Belgium
Reviewed 6 February 2016

Nice place to stay. Good breakfast (included) with nice view on the beach. We stayed in a Rainforest room which is not as bad as many comments on the website here seem to incline (although we stayed shortly, I cam imagine it's inconvenient if you are staying longer). Wifi was not working either and no business center despite being advertised.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank K H
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear KH, Thank you for your review and comments, We have been experiencing Wifi issues in Mission Beach so it was not isolated to the property, I will review your booking to determine why the booking site would say we have a business centre as clearly we dont. I do trust that you were not inconvenienced by this Kind regards

South East England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 February 2016

Contrary to previous reviews we could not fault helpful and friendly staff, the service or the accommodation and facilities. The restaurant was kept open to cater for our late arrival. It's true to say that Mission Beach is very quiet which suited us but may not suit all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet T
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Janet, Thank yo for your kind comments we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us In Mission Beach. Regards

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 2 February 2016

When we arrived in the main reception it was very pleasant and clean, we were told we had been upgraded which was a surprise. The surprise was if we had been upgraded what from as when we found our room in the Rainforest Resort Rooms, as we opened the door the smell of dampness was quite powerful and the place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephensteve D
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Stephen, Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, I am very sorry that you found frog in your room, the rooms are of course cleaned daily, and the matter of the frog was discussed with me. I am delighted that you found our front desk staff helpful and we trust that you enjoyed your drink at...

386 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (364)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (56)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (152)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mission Beach hotels
5.5 km away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
151 reviews
1.7 km away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#2 of 23 in Mission Beach
252 reviews
3.2 km away
Mission Beach Resort
Mission Beach Resort
#5 of 11 in Mission Beach
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Boutique Bungalows
Boutique Bungalows
#1 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
362 reviews
3.0 km away
Sealords
Sealords
#4 of 11 in Mission Beach
81 reviews
7.0 km away
Apollo Jewel Beachfront Apartments
Apollo Jewel Beachfront Apartmen...
#11 of 23 in Mission Beach
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Castaways Resort & Spa offers a wide range of accommodation, with 48 luxury beachfront rooms and self-contained apartments, a private beachside villa and 18 lush rainforest rooms, spread over two centrally-located properties. All rooms located within our beachfront property other than the hotel rooms, feature a private balcony or garden patio with stunning views out to the Coral Sea and Dunk Island. Our beachfront hotel rooms feature a full length windows with views of the beautiful beachfront. All rooms located within our rainforest property are surrounded by our lush rainforest gardens, providing wonderful serenity and privacy. All guests have access to all of our facilities, including our 25m lap pool, beachfront leisure pool, rainforest lagoon pool, gym, laundry, Drift Day Spa and Bibesia Restaurant and Cocktail Bar, which is open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Wifi is free and accessible throughout the resort and all parking is off-the-road and complimentary. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach

Address: 2 Pacific Pde, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Price Range: $111 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach Hotel Mission Beach
Castaways Resort And Spa Mission Beach
Castaways Hotel On Mission Beach
Castaways Resort On Mission Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Cronulla Beach, New South Wales, Australia

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Beachfront resort rooms are great. I don't recommend the rainforest rooms - they are across the street from the resort with no view”
, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“Definitely ask for an first floor room to get a balcony and reduce noise distrubence”
890shanew, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“For perfect beach views, ask for a room on level 3.”
  • Beautiful view from our room 315.
slharris90, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“Great view from the third (top) floor.”
Sir_Rancelot, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Get a beachfront room with pool access!”
, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Cancelon
US$78* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$81
PricelineUS$81
TripAdvisorUS$81
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates