We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

O'Mara's Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stanthorpe
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
O\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

11 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 11: English reviews
Stanthorpe, Australia
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Visited this hotel last week and found the food very basic, My Husband had a burger which he said was tasty but served in a huge toasted roll with lots of salad. He had to remove most of the salad so that it would fit in his mouth. The chips that came with it were oven chips, I had sausage...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanie M
Reviewed 31 March 2016

Took the family out for dinner on a Wednesday evening. The dining room was busy but not noisy. Kids meals were $7 and that included veggies, a soft drink and ice cream! Had a couple of frosty Guiness from the handy bar that is in the dining room. Our meals were a good size with plenty of veg. Loved the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keperraboy
Coralie W, Owner at O'Mara's Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for coming and we are glad you enjoyed your time here

Brisbane Region, Australia
Reviewed 1 February 2016

Our lunch experience was excellent - friendly staff and prompt service. The menu was extensive and meals were country style, home cooked meals. A lovely old historic pub with clean dining facilities. The beer choice is limited though, but in saying that, it is not known as a craft beer pub so there was no expectations.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Weekendwanderer2015
Coralie W, Manager at O'Mara's Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for visiting us at O'mara's Hotel, it is always our pleasure to have wonderful guests passing through and admiring our wonderful 100 year old pub we hope to see you again. from the O'Mara's Family.

Mount Nathan, Australia
Reviewed 1 March 2015 via mobile

Had a really nice time at this pub. Friendly service. Cheap lunch was very good had guiness pie and was delicious My husband had a steak sandwich also excellent. Checked out all the pubs in town and this was the best

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jennifer P
Coralie W, Manager at O'Mara's Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Jennifer, we are always very happy to hear our guests have enjoyed their visit to our wonderful Hotel. see you again.

Reviewed 2 January 2015 via mobile

We stayed here on Trip Advisor recommendation and were delighted with the friendly welcome we received. This is no dumpy old neglected pub, but very tasteful and character-filled. Nothing was too much to ask, the room was very cosy and clean, and to top it all off, it cost only $50 for the night for the three of us. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank libertyfarm
Coralie W, Manager at O'Mara's Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your wonderful review, We all work very hard to make all our guests feel comfortable when staying with us. Its such a wonderful feeling to know we have made your stay in our great little town a delightful one. Hope to see you again. From the O'Mara's Family.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 1 November 2014

For $40 /night we got a good nights sleep before and after the annual Stanthorpe races (which I can highly recommend). Cooked Breakfast was great value and hearty country food but not a lot of choice. This is the third year running we have booked here and we will be back next year. Shared showers and toilets, no en-suited rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul H
Coralie W, Manager at O'Mara's Hotel, responded to this review

We look forward in seeing you again, it was our absolute pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for staying with us see you again soon. From the O'Mara's Family.

Cootamundra, Australia
Reviewed 26 September 2014 via mobile

Having cancelled thoughts of camping the night in lovely Stanthorpe due to big storms I booked into O'Maras hotel. Room spacious ( it was a double/ single but I was only charged $50 ) no ensuite but no matter. Very comfy bed and clean. Bit of a rabbit warren upstairs ( maybe after too many wines lol)! Good value pub...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nangus
Coralie W, Manager at O'Mara's Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You for your great review we appreciate your kind and very positive words. We hope to see you again.

Glen Innes, Australia
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Wife and I have had lunch here many times and I have enjoyed the bar scene here on a Friday night when we have our monthly trips to Stanthorpe and stay overnight This place is always friendly and warm (log fires in winter) Will definitely return regularly The Apple and Grape Motel is a five minute walk away so you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank geordie031
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Our entire trip to Stanthorpe has been so disappointing. It was like a ghost town,,,closed up for the winter possibly. Our meal at O'Maras was nothing short of horrible. A most unfriendly cook who took our order and then served up a very very ordinary meal..Pub food is usually wholesome, our four meals were appalling. We went to the local...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Poppy1918
Coralie W, Manager at O'Mara's Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest and constructive review, we never like to hear that our customers have had an unpleasant time with us. That is why it is very important and extremely fortunate that we have the opportunity to read and therefore learn from the mistakes that were made. Every single person that walks through our doors are important to...

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We had a group of 26 gardeners have an alternate drop meal here and ALL of us were very happy with our meals.We chose battered fish and salad, rissoles and vegetables. The atmosphere was lovely with tables in readiness for our arrival. Staff were very friendly and the service top notch! This venue was recommended by a local garden club...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shirley M
Coralie W, Manager at O'Mara's Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You very much for your wonderful review, There is nothing more rewarding then having happy customers enjoying their visit with us at our great old Pub. It really does make all the hard work worth while. Thank You Coralie Wilson

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stanthorpe hotels
1.3 km away
Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages
1.0 km away
Granite Court Motel
Granite Court Motel
#8 of 8 in Stanthorpe
18 reviews
0.2 km away
Apple & Grape Motel
Apple & Grape Motel
#6 of 8 in Stanthorpe
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Stannum Lodge Motor Inn
Stannum Lodge Motor Inn
#1 of 8 in Stanthorpe
207 reviews
0.2 km away
The Boulevard Motel
The Boulevard Motel
#2 of 8 in Stanthorpe
245 reviews
0.4 km away
The Vines Motel
The Vines Motel
#5 of 8 in Stanthorpe
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
O'Mara's Hotel has been serving its cold beer's and wholesome Meals for over 100yrs. We have kept the historical beauty of this wonderful old building and added some spacious features to create more room to entertain our guests. If you are looking for good old fashioned fun and laughter then O'Mara's Hotel is the place for you. Pop in for a nice cold beer and stay for a delicious meal, Nana O's always cooking up a feast. Enjoy the surroundings and history that is O'Mara's Hotel. We look forward to meeting you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about O'Mara's Hotel

Address: 43 Maryland St | Qld, Stanthorpe, Queensland 4380, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Stanthorpe
Number of rooms: 10
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from O'Mara's Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We ate here but did not stay in hotel”
 of 5 bubbles joaniem600, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Didn't stay in room- just dinner”
 of 5 bubbles Keperraboy, 30 Mar 2016 | Read review
“All similar.”
 of 5 bubbles PaulH972, 31 Oct 2014 | Read review
“I have never stayed here overnight”
 of 5 bubbles geordie031, 1 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Give it a miss.”
 of 5 bubbles Poppy1918, 2 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5