We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

McKinley Grand Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
McKinley Grand Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

295 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for McKinley Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 293: English reviews
Denver, CO
Reviewed 9 January 2015

We recently stayed at the McKinley Grand for 1 night our good friends' wedding. The staff were kind and helpful. The location was perfect for staying in downtown Canton. Our room was definitely dated. Could benefit from a furniture upgrade (TV stand, end tables, desk), however the beds and pillows were very comfortable. We didn't have a chance to visit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoTravelguy
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 5 January 2015

We have stayed at the McKinley several times and have always had a great time! The staff is very friendly and helpful. The restaurant is delightful and great food. I enjoyed the pool as well! They have a covered walkway to the parking garage ~ very nice in bad weather! It's a lovely place to stay, the rooms are quite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CleveFoody
Reviewed 28 December 2014

I've been staying at this hotel for 20 years running, as there is no other place I'd stay at when I visit Canton each year. I've experienced all of the changes over the years (carpeting, pool restoration, game room changing into classic car display, Chats lounge becoming Thorpe's, and even ownership changing hands. I must say that the staff has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Todd7711
North Canton, Ohio
Reviewed 22 December 2014

Hotel rooms are poorly maintained. Our room (702) had water stains on the ceiling and appeared to be mildewed, smelled musty, dirty walls, peeling wallpaper, furniture was damaged and appeared to be second hand, door missing from closet, water slow to drain in sink and tub, heater/air conditioner was loud, and you can hear every conversation and TV of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
Falls Church, Virginia
Reviewed 3 December 2014

Arrived late and was warmly greeted by the desk staff and advised where to park for free. Manager saw me wandering in the lobby and apologized that the bar was closed and offered to make me a cup of coffee. The room was in superb condition with everything in working order. Hotel was on discount through Priceline so my expectations...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sabar3
Shanghai
Reviewed 10 November 2014

I was staying in Canton to visit my wife's hometown and wanted somewhere central so that we could get out and about quickly. As many people have commented the lobby, front desk and staff are all lovely but the rooms are dated and noisy. The location is generally poor and while the parking garage was now monitored I didn't feel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gporritt
McKinleyGrand_DOSM, Manager at McKinley Grand Hotel, responded to this review

gporritt Thank you for your review regarding your stay with us. We wanted to thank you for your kind words regarding our newly renovated lobby and great staff. That being said, we are saddened to hear we fell short in other aspects of your time with us. I have taken your comments to our Chef and he is able to...

Canton, Ohio
Reviewed 9 November 2014 via mobile

The lobby was beautiful. Rooms were clearly a little older, but that gave it a nice "home away from home" feel. Front desk staff was helpful and efficient. It's the perfect place to just get away for the weekend. Will definitely be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leemarie1234
McKinleyGrand_DOSM, Manager at McKinley Grand Hotel, responded to this review

leemarie1234 Thank you so much for your kind words! We appreciate the mention of our lobby which was newly renovated, summer of 2014. We are so pleased that you feel at home when you stay with us, as this is the goal of our entire staff!! We look forward to seeing you again for another weekend getaway! Stop in and...

Riverside, CA
Reviewed 7 November 2014

Husband and I had a two night visit on our recent trip. The lobby was nice looking and clean. From what I understand this property was formerly a Hilton hotel and it has that feel to it when you walk in. The room however had a bad smell. To me it smelled like a room that was formerly a smoking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank metawnny1
McKinleyGrand_DOSM, Manager at McKinley Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Metawnny1- Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! Thank you for mentioning our nice lobby it was renovated in Summer 2014. We are a %100 percent smoke free facility, and it is truly regretful to hear that you were in a room that had been smoked in previously. When guests disregard our policy they are...

Reviewed 2 November 2014

I stayed at the McKinley for business. The lobby was beautiful and the staff was extremely friendly. Unfortunately once I got to my room I was very disappointed, It certainly did not live up to the entrance and staff. The decor was very dated, felt old and, although it didn't appear dirty, it certainly felt that way. The parking garage...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DonnaC1217
McKinleyGrand_DOSM, Manager at McKinley Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Donnakcrowe- Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience here at the McKinley Grand Hotel. With reviews like yours we can focus on all aspects of guest satisfaction. We appreciate the mention you made in regards to our friendly staff and our lobby that was renovated Summer of 2014. I am saddened to hear that you did...

Saegertown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 30 October 2014

Although the place was somewhat dated we enjoyed our stay. Having read some negative reviews I wasn't sure what to expect. We got the room on Hotwire for $48 :) My wife and I feel we ended up getting a better than average value. It came with a simple but good hot breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ramblingdutchman
McKinleyGrand_DOSM, Manager at McKinley Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Ramblingdutchman- Thank you so much for your kind words! I am so pleased to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us! We want each guest to feel as though we can be their home away from home. We are also currently phasing different upgrades and improvements to the hotel. We would love to have you back...

94 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (67)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canton hotels
5.5 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Canton South
8.1 km away
Hyatt Place Canton
Hyatt Place Canton
#3 of 18 in Canton
306 reviews
7.4 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Canton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Canton
8.0 km away
Staybridge Suites Canton
9.4 km away
The Bertram Inn at Glenmoor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about McKinley Grand Hotel

Address: 320 Market Avenue South, Canton, OH 44702
Region: United States > Ohio > Canton
Price Range: $141 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — McKinley Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your McKinley Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mckinley Grand Canton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from McKinley Grand Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from McKinley Grand Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Parking is 8.00 per day across the street.”
PVallest, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“North side will have the best views”
  • pealing wallpaper
757rudyr, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a city side view upstairs”
JeffBreedlove, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Be certain to ask for a parking garage ticket or the charge is eight dollars.”
Hlmiller49, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask which rooms are least affected by the railroad horns.”
RickR950, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5