We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Varsity Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Varsity Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

122 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 116: English reviews
Lima, Ohio
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've stayed here several times during medical visits to Columbus. It is a very basic motel - no breakfast, and the outside pool has been closed during several of my summer visits - but the price is reasonable and Bob Evans and Tim Horton's are just steps away. I have only once had an issue with room maintenance and that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GJK_12
var1445, General Manager at Varsity Inn, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to give us a review. We do have many eateries nearby along with shopping. I am glad to hear your maintenance issue was addressed. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I am still staying this hotel. Today is my 29th consecutive day staying at this hotel. I booked the hotel from Japan from Oct 9 to Nov 8, 2016 for 2 persons. We have been told that we have no available room for two football weekend (Oct 28-29 & Nov 4-5). The other days they took our reservation at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shahnewaj M
var1445, General Manager at Varsity Inn, responded to this review

I thank you for submitting a review and apologize for the miscommunication. I appreciate you staying with us while visiting The Ohio State University Area.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at varsity inn for a campus visit and a football game at Ohio State. Clean, comfy beds, and great location. About a 15-20 wall to the stadium. Bob Evans in the parking lot, Tim Hortons right next door, and Target was also a quick walk. Drive thru check in was nice

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamie G
var1445, General Manager at Varsity Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! I will pass on the on positive notes to our team. We are definitely surrounded by many options for shopping and eating along with OSU being a mile away. We look forward to your next visit with us.

New York City, New York
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I selected this hotel because I am allergic to dust mite and the hotel bragged about availability of hypo-alergenic bed. I almost chocked when I enter the room they provided me; the previous guest was a smoker. I had to ask for another room. The second room they gave me was the dirtiest room I have ever seen. The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank meseretyilma78
var1445, General Manager at Varsity Inn, responded to this review

I thank you for taking the time to give us a review as the feedback assists us in improving issues. Unfortunately, guests do smoke in our Non-Smoking rooms as we are 100% Non-Smoking now. I am happy to hear the team was able to assist you getting checked out early.

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed for one night as we were attending a nearby Halloween event. Craig made check in actually FUN!! Nikka was helpful friendly on the phone. Awesome bed pillows.. shower. 1 more trash bin would b nice!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Elizabethsmom1999
var1445, General Manager at Varsity Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! I will pass on the kudos to the team! I am happy to hear you think the pillows are awesome as we have replaced all bedding and pillows with our renovation. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Holland, Ohio
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Stayed this last fri nite and sat nite. Front desk check in was friendly, fast, and staff was very pleasant. We wound up changing the type of room with no difficulty, Thank You staff for that. Room was clean once we got it, however, sat clean up was not so good. Bed was kidda just thrown together, towels were just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JOHN P
var1445, General Manager at Varsity Inn, responded to this review

John - Thank you for taking the time to give us a review with honest feedback. I will pass on the kudos and room for improvements to the team. I am happy to hear they were able to assist in a room type change at check in. We look forward to your next stay when in the area.

Lima, Ohio
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Bedbugs! When I was leaving there was Orkin truck at a room a few doors down. Dirty bathroom and floors!Worst hotel I have ever stayed in! Here with my mom while receiving treatment at OSU! Very unclean and bathroom was full of dirt and mold! I would not recommend this hotel for a dog! Very noisy not only are people...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kim S
var1445, General Manager at Varsity Inn, responded to this review

I thank you for your review and apologize for the noise. We do preventative maintenance with Orkin to ensure we do not have a pest issue for our guests. Unfortunately, we do have a railroad directly behind us. I am always available if you would like to discuss the issues with your room. Thank You, Robyn

Fombell, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Had to go to Columbus for my dogs surgery and stayed at Varsity Inn South both times. Extremely satisfied with the front desk and the cleanliness of the room. The bed was very comfortable and we were able to get to sleep quickly since it was quiet. Definitely would recommend it to anyone looking for an inexpensive but very nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sharidee66
var1445, General Manager at Varsity Inn, responded to this review

It was my pleasure! I hope all went well with the dogs! Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We look forward to your next visit and I will pass on the Kudos to the team.

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Another football season still the same issues. We thought we would give this place a second chance mainly because of the location. The front desk staff was friendly but the bathroom was disgusting. We complained and were told nobody was available to clean the bathroom so we were issued a discounted rate. Rates are cheap but filth is not acceptable.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bucknut54
var1445, General Manager at Varsity Inn, responded to this review

I thank you for taking the time to give us a review. I apologize for the condition of your room and how it was handled. I am available if you would like to discuss this matter in further detail. Cleanliness and guest satisfaction is something I take very seriously and will be looking into this incident.

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 6 September 2016

This was my 1st time staying in Columbus OH and I have to say when I called to see if they had a room I was devastated when he said yes but the check in time was not until 4pm. I had been up since 0300 and the flight had my head and ears hurting so bad it was killing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank desheai24
var1445, General Manager at Varsity Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and giving us a review. I am glad to hear Craig was able to get you checked in early. Our guest rooms were renovated last year and all our rooms have 40" flat screen TVs. I will pass on the kind words to Craig and staff as we appreciate all feedback.

10 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
3.2 km away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University
0.1 km away
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU
4.2 km away
Motel 6 OSU
Motel 6 OSU
#117 of 142 in Columbus
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus OSU
2.1 km away
Holiday Inn -Ohio State University Area
3.6 km away
Comfort Suites - Columbus / Clara St
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Varsity Inn

Address: 1445 Olentangy River Rd, Columbus, OH 43212-1449
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Price Range: $77 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Varsity Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Varsity Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varsity Hotel Columbus
Varsity Inn Columbus, Ohio
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Varsity Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Varsity Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid this hotel by any means!!”
 of 5 bubbles kimsJ3790RD, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“my room was 204 very nice clean and a comfy bed”
 of 5 bubbles beverliep2015, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“Choose the B Building if you want to be away from it all. Very Quiet,”
 of 5 bubbles eqjdr, 15 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Rooms on east side may be quieter, west side backs on railroad tracks.”
 of 5 bubbles Toomdc, 23 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Building B, 2nd floor, facing Bob Evans.”
 of 5 bubbles Roogiesdad, 6 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay