We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Roof Inn & Suites Middletown/Franklin

Save
Share
3510 Commerce Dr, Franklin, OH 45005-5231
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Snaptravel
Orbitz.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (46)
Room & Suite (43)
Dining (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 24/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 24/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 8 hotels in Franklin
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Red Roof Inn & Suites Middletown – Franklin is 100% smoke-free with newly-renovated rooms. This hotel is close to Miami University Oxford – Middletown Campus, Atrium Medical Center, Miami Valley Gaming, IKEA West Chester, Start Skydiving, Dayton Mall and Beach Water park. Ideally located between Cincinnati and Dayton, this location is also close to Country Club of the North by Jack Nicklaus, National Museum of the US Air Force, Cincinnati Zoo and Newport Aquarium as well as both the Dayton Convention Center and Duke Energy Convention Center Cincinnati. When you check in, check out the fantastic new amenities in our newly-renovated rooms! The rooms at this 100% smoke-free inn feature 150 plus cable channels and many premium HD channels, comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, new high-end bedding, new flooring and a large, flat screen TV. Enjoy our indoor heated pool, open year round! All of our guest rooms feature free Wi-Fi, flat screen TV, microwave, mini-refrigerator, and hairdryer. A $100.00 cash or prepaid card deposit is required from all guests for incidentals. Deposit will be refunded at check-out
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Vending machine
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Full view
144Reviews2Q+A26Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 75
  • 33
  • 9
  • 6
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
LisaOhio wrote a review Dec 2019
Parma, Ohio294 contributions54 helpful votes
We selected this hotel because it has an indoor pool. We have to give this hotel a "Poor" rating because the indoor pool room was disgusting. Visible mold on the window that clearly has been there for a very long time, it's actually visible from the front desk. The ceiling by this window has some type of damage as there was debris on the pool deck floor, right next to the pool. Also appears to have been there a very long time. The pool itself has 2 holes in it on the 5 ft deep end that are not covered, this can be dangerous as it would be very easy to get your foot stuck in there. The water fountain and a door in the same pool area are rusted. This pool area is clearly a health violation. While our room was nice, we asked for a quiet room, so the desk clerk put us on the 2nd floor. Then they checked in a bachelor party or something and put them right next to us. The men screaming and yelling from that room late at night upset me and my 10 year old niece, they didn't even have their door closed. It did stop after I called the front desk.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from DevinH800, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Middletown/Franklin
Responded 2 Jan 2020
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the RED ROOF INN & SUITES MIDDLETOWN - FRANKLIN. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please accept our sincerest apologies. I can assure you that corrective measures will be taken to ensure a similar situation does not occur in the future. At Red Roof, it is our intention to have your confidence in our abilities to prevent similar problems in the future. Please know that we value you as our guest and appreciate your business. Thank you for sharing your concerns and I hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you at Red Roof the next time your travel plans require lodging.
Read more
Misplacedeyes wrote a review Sep 2019
1 contribution
This location is filthy, walked into our room and with In a minute i saw 3 cockroaches on the ground. The rooms were not stocked at all. No sheets on the bed just the mattress cover and comforter. Which was dirty. No pillow cases at all. Trashed bathroom. The pool area has some nesting on the seems of the walls. Holes in the walls. Mold everywhere. And guess what, cockroaches there too. I spoke with the desk clerk about it he really didn’t seem to care. I then checked out 2 hours immediately after checking in.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Avoid this hotel at all costs. I didn’t even make it to seeing if there were bed bugs the...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from DevinH800, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Middletown/Franklin
Responded 29 Sep 2019
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the RED ROOF INN & SUITES MIDDLETOWN - FRANKLIN. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please accept our sincerest apologies. I can assure you that corrective measures will be taken to ensure a similar situation does not occur in the future. At Red Roof, it is our intention to have your confidence in our abilities to prevent similar problems in the future. Please know that we value you as our guest and appreciate your business. Thank you for sharing your concerns and I hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you at Red Roof the next time your travel plans require lodging.
Read more
F976XZalexd wrote a review Apr 2019
Los Angeles, California78 contributions22 helpful votes
In a few words: DO NOT STAY HERE. Im so surprised that the name Red Roof Inn would be associated with this horrible place. I did not plan to stay here as it was set up by my business travel department. There is no elevator. There is no breakfast available. The stairway is so squeaky that i thought they would break! If you want to print something, you need to email your document to the front desk and the clerk will print it for you. While I was waiting at the front desk, a customer needed a room and paid cash for a room! Most normal customers pay with a credit card. While I was getting ready to leave in my car, I observed hotel guests in the rear parking lot take a large flat screen TV from a car and take it inside the room through the window on the lower floor! The windows on the first floor do not have screens! This tells you what kind of guests stay here. The questionable kind stay here. The outside of the hotel has a sign that reads "New rooms". What a lie. The only thing new in my room was the hardwood floor, which was a good idea. I can only imagine how dirty it must have been with carpets! The decor was so outdated and the hallways so dingy. Super thin walls. Again, avoid this place if you can. You've been warned.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Find a better hotel
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from DevinH800, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Middletown/Franklin
Responded 23 Apr 2019
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the RED ROOF INN & SUITES MIDDLETOWN - FRANKLIN. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please accept our sincerest apologies. it has been on our web side to that we do not offer the breakfast and we do not have the elevator. every hotel there are some guest who wants to pay cash. if guest wants to bring there own TV then it is there own choice so we have nothing to do with that. and the hotel has been renovated with the new furniture, new flore, new light in the room.
Read more
sidnaw59 wrote a review Apr 2019
lansing71 contributions9 helpful votes
After 7wks of travelling and staying at many Red Roofs we had this experience at this hotel. At check in ask for a water, (redicard members get water on check in) was told water and ice in room. Didn't happen as had no ice bucket in room. Ask desk for one they gave me a plastic bag. Ice machine was slimy, moldy just gross. Can guess last time it was cleaned. Air conditioner in room was as old as hotel and sounded like 747 on take off. Could not keep room chilled. Reviews said renovated, not mine. Room had one small desk only table space. Sink took forever to drain. Hallway smelled of old stale carpet. No breakfast snack just stale coffee, and this place was $100! On top of all that at 5am they gave a unregistered guest a key to my room! He tried letting himself in, luckily I was close to the door when it opened. Will NEVER stay there again, and would caution others to be aware.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from DevinH800, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Middletown/Franklin
Responded 23 Apr 2019
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the RED ROOF INN & SUITES MIDDLETOWN - FRANKLIN. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please accept our sincerest apologies. Here at our location we do not offer the breakfast and each and every room has the ice backet with the ice bag. and this place has been renovated with new furniture, new flore ,new lights.
Read more
tamster33 wrote a review Mar 2019
Woodbridge, Canada25 contributions17 helpful votes
After driving for 14 hours on the way home from Mississippi we stopped for the night at Red Roof Inn in Franklin, Ohio. Hubby and I were exhausted so we dropped our bag, I changed and crawled into bed not really looking around the room. Hubby decided to have a quick shower. He came out of the bathroom and asked me to look at the towels. They were filthy! Hubby used a pair of sweatpants to dry himself off and called down to have clean towels brought up. These although clean were stained. Next morning woke up and as I was getting out of bed I noticed the sheets were smeared with what looked like mascara. Neither myself OR my husband were wearing mascara. It was clear our sheets had not been cleaned. On closer inspection of the room we concluded it don’t appear our room had been cleaned either. We decided to just pack and get out of there. Before we left we took one more bathroom break. It was then while opening a new roll of toilet paper I discovered a crack pipe hidden behind the toilet roll. When checking out I have the crack pipe to the girl at the desk and voiced my concerns about the cleanliness of the room. Her response was “oh that’s unfortunate”. Yes unfortunate that you charge for unclean rooms but you do include a free crack pipe with every visit!! We couldn’t get home fast enough and cleanse ourself from that filth.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from DevinH800, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Middletown/Franklin
Responded 23 Apr 2019
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the RED ROOF INN & SUITES MIDDLETOWN - FRANKLIN. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please accept our sincerest apologies. I can assure you that corrective measures will be taken to ensure a similar situation does not occur in the future. At Red Roof, it is our intention to have your confidence in our abilities to prevent similar problems in the future. Please know that we value you as our guest and appreciate your business. Thank you for sharing your concerns and I hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you at Red Roof the next time your travel plans require lodging.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$60 - US$99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesOhioWarren CountyFranklin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
49
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Red Roof Inn & Suites Middletown/Franklin
What are some of the property amenities at Red Roof Inn & Suites Middletown/Franklin?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a 24 hour front desk.
Which room amenities are available at Red Roof Inn & Suites Middletown/Franklin?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Red Roof Inn & Suites Middletown/Franklin?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Red Roof Inn & Suites Middletown/Franklin?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cracker Barrel Old Country Store, Olive Garden, and Bob Evans.
Are pets allowed at Red Roof Inn & Suites Middletown/Franklin?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Red Roof Inn & Suites Middletown/Franklin?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Sorg Opera House (7.6 km).
Is Red Roof Inn & Suites Middletown/Franklin accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.