We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Golden Lion Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Golden Lion Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

343 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 343: English reviews
Central UK
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We headed into Hunstanton while staying nearby to eat our evening meal a bit earlier than normal - about 4.30pm. Hunstanton seems to be the only place we've been in the last few years where this is a problem, even on a Saturday afternoon. Happily the Golden Lion was serving hot food in the bar at this time and tasty...

Thank Phil M
Brackley, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Had lovely supper last night before the Barbara Dickson concert across the road. Warmly welcomed and subsequent excellent service from Ruth. Lemon sole was very tasty and the sirloin steak was cooked to perfection. We had selected the duck but were told that it could not be cooked pink (as per menu) and needed to be closer to well done....

Thank chrissiegrace
wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Hotel was very nice had a 4 night stay the room was nice the bed was very comfortable the heating was on all the time which was great because the weather was really cold .The food was ok and the staff was very polite.Had 1 night Al a Carte meal sirloin steak chips and mushrooms the steak was a...

1Thank Yvonne D
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The big plus with this hotel apart from its location is the staff, they are so helpful and friendly. Unfortunately our stay was spoilt by the poor quality of the 'Table d'hote' menu and food served at the evening service, on one occasion it was inedible; this was brought to the attention of the Manager. Following an apology we were...

Thank MCR62
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had a great new years break here. The room with a sea view was comfortable. The en-suite was huge, it would have been perfect with the addition of a stand alone shower cubicle. A pleasant surprise was a welcome tray, very welcome and a lovely selection of produce from wine to fruit and many items between. The planning and...

Thank dinghyking
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning dinghyking. Thank you for your review of the hotel. I am pleased that you had a great New Year's break with us. I am so sorry that we did not meet your expectations regarding the food and I have passed your comments onto the kitchen. I will pass your comments onto Cliff when I see him he will...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I paid extra for sea view and single occupation but still good value for 3 nights at the weekend. Lovely twin room overlooking the green with good view of the sea but far enough away to not be worried about the predicted storm surge. Parking was easy but would be more difficult in summer. Not worth paying for reserved parking...

Thank RandallEv
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning RandallEv. Thank you for your review. It is nice to read that you had a lovely break with us and found the hotel value for money. Regards, Zoe.

King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2017

We had planned for a long walk along the beach on a very cold wet day. Decided to go and find hot coffee and was pleasantly surprised that The Golden Lion was open for bar meals. Very pleased we went in. Nice hot meal and good large cup of coffee. Staff pleasant and helpful, have always found it so on...

Thank Ann22051958
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Ann22051958. Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards, Zoe.

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 December 2016

We visited this hotel just for lunch. Although it was just after Christmas it was very busy and only seemed to be serving in a small area near the bar. But the staff was very accommodating and helpful. There were four of us and only a table with two chairs available but they were more than happy to provide two...

Thank Sally S
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Sally S. Happy New Year. Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards, Zoe.

United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 December 2016

I decided to have lunch here with my wife and daughter – big mistake! We only ordered sandwiches but they took over thirty minutes to arrive despite the bar area being virtually empty. When they eventually came, they were incredibly disappointing; very little filling and seemed to have just been thrown together in a hurry. The coleslaw was dreadful and...

1Thank ironthrone
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning ironthrone. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. I can assure you that I will be investigating this straight away. Regards, Zoe.

King's Lynn, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

Good food, nice staff and the building looks good. However the places like the toilets are awful. This needs sorting. If the toilets are this bad what else is! Would I come back. Yes but they need to invest in the facilities.

Thank Jon M
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Jon M. Thank you for your review of your recent visit. As you will have seen we have had a large refurbishment this year which is part of a rolling programme which will look at the toilets in the near future. Regards, Zoe.

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (32)
Dining (1)
Room/Suite (14)
View from Room (6)
Bathroom (1)
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (21)
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Dining (4)
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunstanton
1.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel
2.0 km away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
780 reviews
2.3 km away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
The Lodge Inn
The Lodge Inn
#1 of 1 in Old Hunstanton
508 reviews
0.3 km away
Richmond House B&B and Restaurant
0.2 km away
The Burleigh
The Burleigh
#1 of 23 in Hunstanton
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Food & drink at the hotel
The Golden Lion hotel
The Golden Lion hotel
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Golden Lion Hotel is a magnificent historic building. It is the oldest property in Hunstanton, and the oldest hotel in the area. The Golden Lion hotel overlooks a beautiful sandy beach, with sea views for most rooms. The hotel has recently been refurbished to the highest standards, and offers outstanding facilities. A limited number of parking spaces are available. The peace and serenity of the Hunstanton area offer wonderful opportunities for leisure travellers and lovers of the outdoors. Hiking, fishing, sailing and horse riding are all available nearby.The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Golden Lion Hotel

Address: The Green, Hunstanton PE36 6BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Hunstanton
Price Range: $125 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golden Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Golden Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Lion Hunstanton
Golden Lion Hotel Hunstanton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Golden Lion Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
8 days ago
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
7 months ago
Leicester, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Golden Lion Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No lift to upper floors. Great location for beach, high street shops and buses”
 of 5 bubbles MCR62, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Sea view is worth the money”
 of 5 bubbles dinghyking, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Some sea view rooms overlooking the green get the in house wifi”
 of 5 bubbles RandallEv, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“GREAT sea views at front. No lift and stairs are steep but some ground floor rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 128sylviat, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We asked for a ground floor room, and it was superb.”
 of 5 bubbles L5326YWdavidh, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5