We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Crown

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Crown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

357 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Crown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 357: English reviews
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2016

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel. We had a fabulous evening meal on arrival, the room was lovely and the breakfasts were outstanding. It is in a great location, right on the high street but with covered parking at the rear - which was very handy for loading the car in the pouring rain. Would definitely rebook.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maxine B
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review

Thank you, we really appreciate your kind words.

Chelmsford
Reviewed 7 October 2016

We have stayed at the crown on quite a few occasions and always been very happy with the whole experience. We have rebooked in December this year to make up for a slightly spoilt stay in September, the hotel and Adnams were very helpful and addressed our concerns very promptly and efficiently. We cannot recommend the hotel highly enough.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hazel S
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review

We are sorry for the issue in September, we hope you have a great stay as always in December. Thank you for your kind words.

Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Located in the main High Street it is perfect for exploring the wonderfully quaint town that is Southwold. Our room was at the end of a maze or corridors and stairs - didn't bother us, but people less able may find difficult. The room was clean and well furnished with lovely extras. Breakfast is included and there is an excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mellas9
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, please accept our apologies for the service you receieved.

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

We have stayed here a number of times and we were not disappointed again this time. Our room was very clean and comfortable despite the creaking and steep stairway The food was top quality and we found the staff to be very helpful I like this place but the room rates are at the top end!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank d100bunker
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review.

Saffron Walden, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 September 2016

We are intermittent users of the Crown. The main rooms are cozy and friendly. It is not uncommon to strike up interesting conversations with others who are sharing your table. It's a jolly place. Unfortunately, we could not be accomodated in these rooms and ate in the adjoining large room. This has all the charm of an abandoned church hall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debelt
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit.

Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and had a room at the front of the hotel. I am not sure that this is in the hotels control however the room was so noisy from outside with deliveries throughout the night. I got up at 5.30am to go for a walk as it was pointless trying to sleep. If you stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review

We're delighted you enjoyed your recent stay and apologise for the street noise during the night.

Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Recently stayed for three nights and was pleasantly pleased. Nice room, clean with a comfortable bed. Cooked breakfast was very good. Only downsides, Brewery starts work at 6am and is quite noisy. However, probably wouldn't be a problem outside of summer as the Windows could be shut. Also, parking is a problem as there's only limited spaces. On the whole,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Norman L
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

Had a very good stay at this hotel, well placed and very efficient as well as good position right on the high street. Nice accomodation to spend time in Southwold - plenty of nice walks and places to stop and get refreshed.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Beverley M
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words.

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Stayed for the weekend. Room was lovely & clean lots of pillows, bed very comfortable, the room had everything you need, bathroom was great a big shower cubicle with a super power shower and beautiful roll top bath. We had dinner here on our first night the food was delicious and the service from staff excellent. Breakfast again was excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JayneBett
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent visit, such a lovely review.

cambridge
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Dinner for two, £52, one adult, one child. Two courses. Three course child menu - missed off the starter..... BUT offered us steak instead of the standard burger on the menu. Adult food - rump steak (at most a 5oz steak), re fried pickled onions (horrid at best) french beans (9 beans) mushrooms (nicely cooked standard white mushrooms), supposedly peppercorn...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Simon C
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review

Please accept our apologies for your recent poor experience, and appreciate your feedback.

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0.1 km away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Southwold
590 reviews
1.4 km away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
300 reviews
0.5 km away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#4 of 4 in Southwold
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 km away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
908 reviews
19.8 km away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,336 reviews
19.7 km away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An exciting and intimate combination of small hotel, wine bar, pub and restaurant, Adnams Crown Hotel is always buzzing with a lively informality. The food is famously good and the wine list wonderful. You don't have to take our word for it - The Crown is an award winning hotel and was named Suffolk Dining Pub of the Year by the Good Pub Guide in 2013 and 2014. Situated on Southwold's High Street in Suffolk, The Crown is at the heart of activities, and just a few moments away from the seaside. Relax before lunch or dinner in our snug 'Back Bar' with a pint of Adnams famous beer. Free WiFi available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Crown

Address: High St, Southwold IP18 6DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Price Range: $323 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your The Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Southwold
Crown Southwold
Crown Hotel Southwold
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Crown staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
1 month ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Crown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the front overlook main street, not sure of the others”
 of 5 bubbles nono323, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 4 is brilliant”
 of 5 bubbles RogerEJ, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“This is a very old hotel/inn and the stairs are very steep and narrow to negotiate to the bedrooms,”
 of 5 bubbles gillyandkeith, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Front is on the High Street so could potentially have some noise, we were at the back, it was quiet but not scenic.”
 of 5 bubbles JohnSt999, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 14 was charming and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles hazels693, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay