We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
7 Clifton Terrace, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1DT England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
US$167
US$145
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/12/21
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Priceline
Booking.comUS$145
Prestigia.comUS$167
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (291)
Room & Suite (66)
Dining (61)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 01/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 01/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#12 of 20 hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Seven Hotel is a brand-new boutique hotel located within the heart of Southend-On-Sea, Essex with 37 stunning bedrooms, including 5 luxury suites, a 60 seater modern British restaurant, Gin-centric cocktail bar and outdoor sun terrace. Sat high upon the cliffs, within the beautiful Clifton Conservation Area, the hotel boasts unparalleled panoramic views of the Pier and the Thames Estuary. Situated directly opposite the Cliff Lift, in this historic part of Southend, guests will be able to access, from the hotel, seven miles of classic seafront and the longest pleasure pier in the world. Light is a key factor to the design, with high windows and stunning statement lighting adding to the unique atmosphere for our discerning guests. Our philosophy is based upon seven key principles: a superb location, a unique award winning design and ambience, great modern amenities, luxurious ethos within a competitive price, fine gastronomy, first-class service and memorable hospitality.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Paid public parking nearby
Car park
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
297Reviews10Q+A29Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 139
  • 55
  • 31
  • 21
  • 51
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
pauline m wrote a review Jul 2021
4 contributions3 helpful votes
This hotel is excellent the room was perfect you could not fault a thing the staff are so efficient the restaurant food is lovely free parking at back of hotel the receptionist was lovely I would reccomend this hotel 100% and would definitely return .
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: You could not fault this hotel it was perfect.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Sarah wrote a review Jul 2021
Whitstable, United Kingdom4 contributions
My partner and myself have stayed in many hotels and this was the worse one ever. We booked the balcony suite for 4 nights, the Air con didnt work so was moved to another room on the same floor the next night which was good. The service was terrible. We waited 40 minutes for our breakfast to come to our room in which i had to chase up. We also had lunch as room service and again had to chase it up. We had to wait 20 mins just for some toast in the restaurant. It seems passing trade is more important than the guests. The bed in the first room we stayed in was 2 beds pushed together and was different heights and very uncomfy. We complained when we checked out and was told the manager would ring us when he got to the hotel in the afternoon to refund some money back. We still have not heard from him. Will never stay there again very disappointing especially when this was our first mini break away since lockdown
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Very small car park so had to pay for 3 days which cost us £60. Do not expect good service just...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Clare Bracken, General Manager at Seven Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback regarding your recent stay. Your original booking was for 2 nights from the 16th - 18th July and once you were checked in you extended your stay by a further 2 nights. As you say, unfortunately the air conditioning system malfunctioned in your room and we were unable to immediately rectify this. We did however, give you the keys for another suite as well as keeping your own suite in order that you could have a comfortable nights sleep. Unfortunately you did not use the 2nd suite. You were also sent a complimentary bottle of taittinger champagne as recognition of the malfunctioning air conditioning. You did however, take up our offer of a different sea view suite the next day. Room service was requested at the peak breakfast time and 40 minutes is our normal waiting time at the peak periods. All of our guests are important to us so it is disappointing to read that you felt the passing trade was more important. We noted that you praised the Head Chef when you ate in our restaurant. The beds in the suites are not 2 beds pushed together so again, this is very surprising to read. I have to say that your review is very disappointing considering everything the staff did to assist you while you stayed with us. It is also very surprising to see that you extended your stay with us even though you are saying that you will never stay with us again. Obviously we respect your decision.
Read more
Caroline B wrote a review Jul 2021
Newmarket, United Kingdom57 contributions20 helpful votes
First visit to this hotel. Good location and easy access to shopping and other local amenities. Looks out over the sea at the front. Limited free parking at the back but there is a car park at the front but it’s not to do with the hotel so it’s pay and display. Very good restaurant and over all friendly helpful staff. Nice outside terraces to sit for a drink or coffee at the front of hotel where you can take in the sea view. Only criticism would be there is nowhere to put your things in the bathroom. A shelf or small table near wash basin would be very helpful. Putting things on the floor tend to get swamped with water from the walk in shower. Others staying in similar grade rooms said exactly the same thing! We would go back.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
LondonLockwood wrote a review Jul 2021
Loughton, United Kingdom691 contributions311 helpful votes
Stayed here in glorious weather and was a great choice of beachfront property. Rooms were superb and had great views out over the estuary ( as did the fine terrace out front ! ) we also ate in the restaurant where the staff were double attentive . Our party all plumped for fish and chips which was as good as any you will find in a fish and chip shop here. It’s location was also a bonus being just five minutes from the seafront and pier. All downhill as well !! Apparently Rod Stewart stayed here when appearing at the Pavilion … Don’t let that put you off .. it’s really very nice and well worth a stay.. comes recommended ! Enjoy !
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Lolls H wrote a review Jul 2021
London, United Kingdom4 contributions
Arrived to be greeted by dominic on reception with the COLDEST and most UNWELCOMED greeting! Literally service with a SNARL!!! Room was the TEENY TINIEST shoe-box with absolutely NO SPACE to freely and comfortably walk around in the room. View of a filthy dirty car park; having booked a Sea-view!!!!! He also SHOVED me at “THE END OF THE ROW OF ROOMS”; and only people of a certain COLOUR would understand what that means; and for those who don’t, it’s like the ROSA PARKS “back of the bus scenario” UPON REQUEST he DECEITFULLY printed me a letter, AFTER I TOLD HIM I DO NOT TRUST WHAT HE’S DOING REGARDING CANCELLING MY ROOM by way of offering me a FULL REFUND; but to Hotel.com he sent them something COMPLETELY DIFFERENT, saying “IF” I cancelled in time I’d get a refund!!!!! Do yourself a favour and stay SOMEWHERE ELSE!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Clare Bracken, General Manager at Seven Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
It is very disappointing to read this factually incorrect review. You booked a “basic double room” through hotels.com. You absolutely did not book a sea view room. You were allocated a basic double room which happened to be at the back of the hotel and you definitely were not shoved there. The suggestion that you make in your review regarding the Rosa Parks scenario is nothing short of offensive. The receptionist that you name in your review remained professional at all times and was not deceitful in printing a letter stating that you would receive a full refund. In fact, the full refund was processed last night and photographic evidence of the receipt was emailed to you this morning. I would like to also add that the Seven Hotel is a diverse organisation. This means that we recognise that each individual is unique and we recognise individual differences. These can be along the dimensions of race, ethnicity, gender, sexual orientation, sociology-economic status, age, physical abilities, religious beliefs, political beliefs or other ideologies.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$90 - US$261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEssexSouthend-on-Sea
NUMBER OF ROOMS
37
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Seven Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Seven Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Escape Live Southend - Escape Rooms (0.3 km), Southend Pier & Railway (0.3 km), and Adventure Island (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Seven Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Seven Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Seven Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Seven Hotel?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Seven Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Istanbul Turkish BBQ Restaurant & Takeaway, The Pipe of Port, and The Mews.
Is Seven Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Southend-on-Sea.
Are any cleaning services offered at Seven Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Seven Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hadleigh Castle (7.1 km), Prittlewell Priory (2.2 km), and Southchurch Hall (1.3 km).
Is Seven Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.