We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Southend

Booking.comUS$68*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$90*
US$68*
US$90*
US$68*
US$90*
US$68*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Southend
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

740 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Southend
See the most recent reviews
Showing 711: English reviews
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Top hotel perfect for a stay in Southend on Sea, the room was spacious clean and very relaxing. Location was perfect just a short drive from the sea front and great access to Leigh on Sea. Staff were so helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keith b
Rohit S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review

Dear guest We are very pleased to get a positive feedback from you.We take pride in delivering our guest a great stay in safe, modern, friendly and a comfortable environment. I am glad we kept to our promise. I will make sure I will take these comments to my team. We look forward to server you again Regards

Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

Great hotel, clean, parking on site which is validated. Restaurant is alright could've just been the meal but chicken burnt and taste or chargrill through the dish - normally wouldn't even mention this but ironically got a mouthful from a bloke about their star rating being similar to Michelin stars. Hmmm. Shout out to Jessica though, who is a trainee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JamesCooney
Rohit S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review

Thanks James , I will take these comments to Jessica , who will be very proud of herself. Yes you are very right in saying about Jessica as an asset; she has delivered some great result within just few months since her start. I will take your comments about the food quality to the restaurant team and head chef. This...

Westminster, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

I have visited here a number of times for drinks and have always found the staff welcoming and the drinks good. my brother has always stayed here when he comes to visit me. As a wheelchair user he has favoured holiday inn as it offered a free room for his PA. However he recently stayed at holiday inn express in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natasha S
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review

Dear Natasha S, First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our Holiday Inn Southend-on-Sea. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us, especially with customer service. We have sent you a private message to discuss your concern further. Sincerely, Orlando A. Case Manager IHGService

Witham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017

this hotel is very up-market,with great views of air port,and runway,very moden,amasing place,roof top bar,with loads relax chairs,great atmusfer,pleanty to see from all the windows.there prices are not bad

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank paul b
scotland
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Hotel was nice enough,close to the airport. Was there on hogmany stayed for 3 nights. Rooms ,comfy beds and en-suite,tea,coffee. Had to purchase bottled water. Bar prices were about expected,breakfast was on the expensive side especially when theres a mcdonalds opposite which always serves a good cup of tea. Rooms i felt were Over priced for this type of hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank markhay
Rohit S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review

Thank you Mark for your positive feedback about the room comfort , bathroom and amenities. Our all you can full English breakfast is freshly prepared on site using quality ingredients you are right in saying there is a Mc Donalds opposite side and the guest has a choice what to go for. But I can assure you our All you...

Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Stayed for 2 night during a recent conference. Everything as expected, vey clean, very efficient staff, good bedroom, comfortable bed & good shower. Breakfast offered good choice & 5th floor bar gives great views of the airport and decent range of drinks. Ideal for a business stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank K20GBM
Rohit S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review

Dear Guest Very happy to get a great response from you . I will take these comments to the team. I am glad you enjoyed the service offered in our 1935 roof top restaurant & bar , the only one in the whole of Essex. Our all you can eat full English breakfast is a big hit and your comment...

Billericay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Attentive staff who were friendly but not too much.The meal was a Groupon 2 course. Starter we chose whitebait and also a chicken ceasar salad followed by roast lamb and roast chicken. Crispy roast potato and parsnip made it stand out from the usual.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mo H
Rohit S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review

Dear Mo H Many thanks for a great feedback on food and service. We look forward to serve you again Regards Rohit

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed 2 separate nights before and after our flights. The hotel was a perfect location for the airport; about 5 minutes walk. The hotel is located next to a retail park and McDonald's so very handy for fast food and last minute purchases. Check in and out was very quick and smooth, staff very helpful and a very reasonable cost...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sun82s
Rohit S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review

Dear Guest It is so good that we served the purpose of your visit. Yes you are very right in saying that the strategic location of this holiday gives a good start to a great travel plus all other requirements are just near by. I pleased to know that you had good stay . We look forward to serve you...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Having stayed in many Holiday Inns can only compare this one at the Airport to be a little lacking. Breakfast menu card not collected so went without on Boxing Day morning.Breakfast on Christmas morning was for one person not two.Charged for Champagne when Prosecco was delivered. Air conditioning was not working so room uncomfortably hot. Main complaint however was that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynne C
Rohit S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review

Dear Lynne Firstly I would like to apologize on behalf of Holiday Inn South end for not delivering up to your expectations during the festive season. I have taken these comments to the respective departments i.e. Food and beverage , House keeping and Maintenance and I can confirm that have taken the learning from this. I am pleased to say...

clayhall
Reviewed 2 January 2017

We have returned from a 2 night stay at Holiday Inn, there were 12 of us and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The food was excellent, the room nicely done. And we were pleasantly surprised with the Bar Prices. It was a lot cheaper that the Holiday Inn in Cambridge where we have been for the last 2 years. The breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clayhalltraveller
Rohit S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review

Many thanks for such a great feed back. We are pleased that we were able to serve the purpose of your visit. Our 1935 roof top restaurant is the only roof top restaurant in Essex. Yes you are right our all you can eat full English breakfast definitely sets one for the right start of the day and is an...

283 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (162)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (121)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
3.8 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,150 reviews
4.5 km away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
693 reviews
3.5 km away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hot...
#8 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
555 reviews
5.2 km away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,427 reviews
1.2 km away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rochford
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay excited……The spectacular Holiday Inn Southend opened on 01st October 2012 !Stay relaxed……The hotel is the latest addition to the Holiday Inn portfolio and has 129 air conditioned bedrooms and features 27 executive rooms and 4 King superior rooms.Stay unique……In a first for Holiday Inn in the UK, the five-storey hotel also houses a fully sound-proofed rooftop bar and restaurant (1935 Rooftop Restaurant & Bar) offering spectacular views of London Southend airport and surrounding Essex countryside. The restaurant is open every day for breakfast, lunch and dinner (open to non residents also), and the bar if open for coffee and range of beverages from 10am - 11pm daily.Stay connected……Holiday Inn Southend will also offer a variety of conference and banqueting facilities, plus a choice of meeting rooms for up to 140 people and is within 40 minutes of central London.Stay devoted…..Choose Holiday Inn Southend for your Essex wedding venue, with flexible facilities we can help make it a day to remember. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Southend

Address: 77 Eastwoodbury Crescent, Southend-on-Sea SS2 6XG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Price Range: $114 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Southend 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Southend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Southend staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question
Sudbury, null, United Kingdom
11 months ago
over a year ago
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Southend staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Did not use hotel facility”
Peter09051946, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“The hotel was built purposely for the airport and therefore well sound proofed.”
Travelledalone, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“The IHG site incudes a rooms options list. Rooms on the south side are quieter as they are away from the Airport.”
cliffordsaxton, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“Best views on the higher floor”
mygeeman, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“One side of the hotel faces the airport- if you like watching planes. The other side faces south onto the hotel car park.”
stevehM7180FS, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$68* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$68
Orbitz.comUS$68
HotelQuicklyUS$90
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates