We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Muthu Westcliff Hotel

Save
Share
18-20 Westcliff Parade, Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS0 7QW England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
US$79
View deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (350)
Room & Suite (86)
Dining (26)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 14/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Updated 14/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 5 hotels in Westcliff-on-Sea
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
This grand, Victorian hotel is close to the seafront with spectacular views overlooking the Thames Estuary. It has recently undergone a refurbishment and now provides individually decorated rooms with a brasserie restaurant serving international cuisine. The stylish and modern rooms offer satellite TV and private bathrooms with toiletries. There are tea/coffee making facilities for guests, as well as hairdryers and an iron and ironing board. Some rooms also boast views over the Thames Estuary. Free on street parking is available for guests, while Adventure Island theme park and Southend's pier; the longest in the world, are both 10 minutes' walk away. The Cliffs Pavilion music venue is a 2-minute walk, and The Royals Shopping Centre is 10 minutes' walk. There are 2 Rail Stations within 0.5 Miles distance.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Beach
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Spanish, Hungarian and 5 more
930Reviews35Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 265
  • 303
  • 211
  • 82
  • 69
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
99ju wrote a review 25 Sep
Witham, United Kingdom49 contributions20 helpful votes
Just spent a night at the Estuary suite room,couldn’t ask for anything nicer it was lovely , great views from the two balconies and the double jacuzzi was a nice surprise, breakfast was lovely I literally rolled out the breakfast room I was so full up, beings as we missed our 25th wedding anniversary getaway because of lockdown last year this was a reminder of how lovely life can be , thank you Muthu
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager Westcliff Hotel, General Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest we are so please to see that we went beyond your expectations and look forward to seeing you again soon Belated greeting - but Happy 25th Anniversary
Read more
Tracey P wrote a review 22 Sep
Battle, United Kingdom143 contributions52 helpful votes
We had a voucher from buy a gift so booked here we have stayed here before we Paid £40 for upgrade for a suite with a front facing room Same room as before with a whirlpool bath Free toiletries water tea coffee and bottles of water and biscuits Room was lovely only negative is the way the tv is situated on a side wall so makes it awkward to sit in bed and watch tv Breakfast was great Parking you have to pay on an app Great location for town snd sea front
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking on app make sure you get code from hotel
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager Westcliff Hotel, General Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest great 5/5 review we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay We will review the TV position :)
Read more
Mrs Fras wrote a review Aug 2021
Essex, United Kingdom8 contributions2 helpful votes
We had our wedding ceremony and reception at the Westcliff Hotel last week. I would highly recommend their wedding package. All of the staff were absolutely brilliant at all times. But I must say that Amy, the wedding coordinator, was amazing. I can’t rate her highly enough, from the first email right the way through the whole process she was brilliant… bearing in mind we rescheduled 4 times! The wedding breakfast buffet and late night snacks were lovely. The bridal suite was lovely, really spacious and comfortable. Quite a few of our guests stayed at the hotel and were very happy with their rooms. The buffet breakfast was very good, hot, fresh and plentiful. I would highly recommend this hotel for weddings, but book your own DJ as the resident hotel DJ is not very good, fortunately we booked a singer as well.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the estuary have amazing views.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager Westcliff Hotel, General Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest thank you for this great review about our wedding service We are pleased that "at last" you have made it to be the Happy Married couple you planned for so many times. We look forward to seeing you again and celebrating you 1st Anniversary
Read more
smithyEastLondon wrote a review Aug 2021
East London362 contributions122 helpful votes
+1
My friend & I booked afternoon tea we met outside and I was not impressed with the rubbish out the front dirty sanitary towels under the bench and the grass needed cutting not well kept Once inside the lady in reception was friendly & helpful There’s no parking and my friend had to pay £6 for the car The actual tea was lovely the sandwiches were fresh tasty lots of variety and lots of them there was a scone jam & cream and soft sponges with jam & cream Very impressive lots of food and piping hot tea I would definitely recommend and would go back Please just get the front sorted out
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Get there early parking is expensive you could park further away cheaper & walk a little further
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager Westcliff Hotel, General Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest thank you for your lovely remarks about the Afternoon tea we have addressed issue of the rubbish blown on to our property over night we look forward to seeing you again soon
Read more
leesparks wrote a review Aug 2021
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom1 contribution
Very Tidy and clean Hotel and same for the room . Comfortable beds and even the Telly worked. Only the Bath Panel let the room down as it was rotting away ( room 308 by the way) Only stayed one night but the Staff I did come into contact with were very friendly and attentive. BIG letdown was the Breakfast unfortunately. On top of the £150 for the room I paid an additional £11 per head for myself and my 2 children,so £33. There was only the choice of 3 or 4 cereals then the very poor buffet style fry up which consisted of greasy fried eggs, bacon, sausage, beans, tomatoes and mushrooms. All quite standard. But where was the variety?? This is 2021, not everyone wants a greasy spoon fry up. Where’s the selection of Pastries?, FRUIT???, maybe Yoghurt? Only one choice of Juice and if I’m really fussy perhaps offer alternatives to milk? I think at £11 per breakfast you Guys have really let yourselves down and I think in this day and age people want variety and quality and I would have given 4 stars if the breakfast had been anywhere near nice. Myself and my 13 year old son did Brave the breakfast but my 10 year old daughter opted for a slice of tomato on dry toast. We did have plans to Spend the next few hours in the famous Themepark riding Rollercoasters etc but needless to say that soon after breakfast my Son and I felt Bloody awful so it’s fair to say that the breakfast Scuppered our plans and the whole reason for our little Jaunt to Southend. In Short, Nice Hotel and nice Staff but Breakfast looks and tastes like it’s from the mid 80’S.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager Westcliff Hotel, General Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest thank you for your review We are pleased to read that you found the staff helpful and friendly we note your comments and will pass them on to the F & B Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$62 - US$153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
westcliff hotel on sea
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEssexSouthend-on-SeaWestcliff-on-Sea
NUMBER OF ROOMS
55
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Muthu Westcliff Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Cliffs Pavilion Theatre (0.2 km), Genting Casino (0.2 km), and Westcliff Beach (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Muthu Westcliff Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Muthu Westcliff Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Muthu Westcliff Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Oliver's On The Beach, Flying Pasta, and Piccolo Italian Restaurant.
Does Muthu Westcliff Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Muthu Westcliff Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Russian, Portuguese, Polish, Indonesian, and Hungarian.
Are there any historical sites close to Muthu Westcliff Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hadleigh Castle (6.4 km), Prittlewell Priory (2.1 km), and Southchurch Hall (2.0 km).
Does Muthu Westcliff Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.