We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Tudor Farmhouse Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

577 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 575: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the hotel after a wedding in the castle. It was comfortable, clean and cosy and the staff were very welcoming. The hotel is a short walk away from clearwell castle so it was the perfect location for us. Breakfast was delicious too which was a good end to our stay. We will definitely be going back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlexBurke92
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AlexBurke92 Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back when you will have more time to explore this wonderful area. Kind regards Colin, Hari & all the Tudor Farmhouse team

Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Tudor Farmhouse Hotel has been a firm favourite with us for many years now and it just keeps getting better and better. Not just my opinion. Many awards and respected 'coffee table' magazines testify to this too. I'm delighted that their hard work in giving their customers a first class experience is being recognised. The warm welcome, ongoing investment...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Clootiedumpling
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Clootiedumpling Thank you for the great review and for being such wonderful regular guests for the past 13+ years! It is always a pleasure to welcome you back and we are so pleased that you enjoy staying so much. We look forward to welcoming you again in 2017. Kind regards Colin, Hari & all the Tudor Farmhouse team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here on Friday and Saturday night to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Its our second visit and just as good as we remembered. It's a gorgeous boutique style hotel, set in a beautiful village. The rooms are cosy and comfortable with plenty of space and furnished luxuriously. We stayed in a Cockrel room.The food was delicious and well presented....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adele G
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Adele G Thank you for the wonderful review and for choosing to celebrate your wedding anniversary with us at the Tudor Farmhouse. We source as much of our ingredients within 20 miles of the hotel as possible - there are so many wonderful suppliers in the Wye Valley and Forest of Dean, this isn't too hard! We were pleased...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed Friday & Saturday as we were attending a wedding reception at nearby Clearwell Castle. The food was excellent and contrary to previous TA reviews, we found the portions satisfactory. The dining room is split into two halves by the kitchen, and from what we experienced, the hotel prefers to serve residents in one half and non-residents in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NewOldGit
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear NewOldGit Thank you for the lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry to hear that you found the television difficult to use - we are always happy to help guests if asked, but we will look at whether this is something that needs changing. We were pleased to read taht you were happy...

Pontypool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2016

We didn't stay but went to the restaurant which was a very nice setting but the food was poor to say the least, the long horn beef was exceptionally poor not what we were expecting. I understand this can be personal choice but but it is not an inexpensive place and at over £200 for our meal I expected a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank azzquicky
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear azzquicky Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your meal. We are not entirely sure when you visited as we have had no negative comments about the beef - in fact this dish has been highly complimented. Had you mentioned this at the time of...

Reviewed 4 December 2016

Just spent a fantastic weekend with friends in this beautiful hotel. Gorgeous room, luxuriously equipped, friendly and helpful staff, the restaurant is excellent, the ox cheek in particular was one of the finest things I have eaten. Location is fantastic in beautiful village in Forest of Dean, but easy links to other places, lots of great walks locally, highly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Barbara S Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay - in particular the ox cheek! We are very proud of our locally sourced menu, expertly cooked by Rob and his team. We do hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards Colin, Hari & all the Tudor Farmhouse team

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 December 2016

This was a late November birthday break . THe hotel was really lovely : where to begin! The beautiful room (the four poster was sooo comfortable), the roll op bath and bathroom , the log fires .... The food was truely wonderful but the thing that I was blown away by the most was the customer service. It was the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Victoria J
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Victoria J Thank you for taking the time to leave us this glowing review of your stay in room 2. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the food, and most of all the service. Sammy works very hard to make all of our guests very happy and really enjoys this aspect of her job. She is also very...

South West England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

Very much enjoyed our overnight stay. Dinner was excellent and locally sourced. Kitchen garden and chickens on site. Would recommend as a treat or relaxing getaway, esp a cockerel room in the main Tudor house.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lhosa D
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lhosa D Thank you for taking the time to leave us this lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your birthday stay. Room 2 is very lovely and particularly romantic with the four poster bed and spacious bathroom, complete with roll top bath. We do hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards Colin, Hari...

Canterbury
Reviewed 22 November 2016

We recently had a four night break including breakfast and evening meal, at the wonderful Tudor Farmhouse, staying in the main building - a bonus if the weather had been bad. Our room (2) was spacious and very comfortable and we slept better than we had done for quite a while, the bathroom had a wonderful shower and a large...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JnrCanterbury
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JnrCanterbury Thank you for the amazing review. We are so pleased that you slept so well and enjoyed your stay. We have passed on your kind comments to the team and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Colin, Hari & the Tudor Farmhouse team

Christchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 November 2016

our room was in the old cider house, each room very different. Although no view from room 19 it had a very relaxing feel with a fabulous bathroom and spacious bedroom /lounge area. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The food was very good, breakfast delicious but we felt the dinner menu would benefit from some different dishes each day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pabarr
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pabarr Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Our evening menu changes seasonally, with a different special each evening to provide some variety. For our guests who stay longer than 3 nights, we make every effort to vary our menu offering, by adding additional dishes for...

180 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (124)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clearwell
6.2 km away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
637 reviews
19.6 km away
De Vere Tortworth Estate
18.4 km away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
35.9 km away
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Shurdington
636 reviews
34.1 km away
Corse Lawn House Hotel
Corse Lawn House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Corse Lawn
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A former working farm lovingly converted into a stylish boutique hotel. Our 20 characterful room and suites feature roll top baths, monsoon showers, Nespresso coffee machines. Our award winning restaurant offers mouth-watering seasonal dishes and was described as a "Culinary Oasis" by Tatler Magazine. We have free superfast fibre-optic wifi throughout the hotel. The Forest of Dean and Wye Valley is a region rich in natural beauty and outdoor activities, castle, culture and heritage and world class food and drink. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tudor Farmhouse Hotel

Address: High Street, Clearwell GL16 8JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Clearwell
Price Range: $191 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tudor Farmhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Tudor Farmhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor Farmhouse Clearwell
Hotel Tudor Farmhouse
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tudor Farmhouse Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Tudor Farmhouse Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Should imagine quiet all the year round, front or back of hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Passpartout40, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Our room, in the old building, was lovely. I'm sure all the rooms are great!”
 of 5 bubbles 303kathrynh, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“just be careful if you use the spiral staircase!”
 of 5 bubbles 468victoriaj, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Choose the loft room for a view over the garden”
 of 5 bubbles Pabarr, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“As all the room are different, you should ask the helpful staff when you book what sort of room you would like.”
 of 5 bubbles MorrisCandS, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay