We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bay Prince of Wales Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Bay Prince of Wales Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

405 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Bay Prince of Wales Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 405: English reviews
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2015

Very friendly Hotel,Bedrooms are really lovely done in Pastel Shades and Bed is really comfortable.Window overlooked the garden,Three room Restaurant which is better then one as it is much quieter that way.Service is excellent,and food is great.Entertainment on two out of four nights which everyone enjoyed when we were there.We will go again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GAYLE R
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, we look forward to seeing you again soon. Melanie Mann General Manager

Dartford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2015

This was a Shearing's coach holiday for four nights Monday to Friday. Hotel was small and comfortable and extremely friendly. Most of the guests were on the same coach so we all got to know each other well. I have travelled with Shearing's many times over the years and always been satisfied, however I was sorely disappointed on this occasion....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Carol E
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review regarding the hotel but could I please ask you to re-direct your comments about the coach etc to our head office as I do not have any control over tour drivers used. Melanie Mann General Manager

Reviewed 5 September 2015 via mobile

DO NOT STAY HERE IF U USE A WHEELCHAIR! We were told by sherings when we booked that we would have a ground floor room, even paying to make sure of this. However on arrival we found that our room is down an extremely long non wheelchair friendly corridoor and has four steps, yes STEPS for a wheelchair user!, to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derren M
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

I am very sorry you feel you were mis-lead but I have looked into your booking today and find that the information given to our customer care helpdesk, which is then passed on to us prior to arrival states that you could manage a 'few steps' - there are four steps to reach the ground floor bedrooms which was explained...

London
Reviewed 4 September 2015

It must be said, at the outset, that in its advertisements this hotel group is misleading in describing the Bay Prince of Wales as being in Berkeley! It is actually situated in an isolated position on the busy A38 at Berkeley Road, several miles from the little township itself. As such, a car - for which there is ample free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnJehu
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I have on previous occasions on this site stated that whilst we have a Berkeley post code we are outside of the town itself, I believe this is also stated on our website and brochures. Shower & shampoo sachets are available free of charge at reception, this is listed in the room information pack although...

Reviewed 14 August 2015 via mobile

We came here as it is near my in laws for a family meal out. There is plenty of car parking. The eating areas were comfortable and clean. The menu has a good range of choice, from curry to burger (including vegetarian burger). We were served by a very pleasant lady who was happy to deal with our requests. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1RDavido
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I am pleased you and your family enjoyed your meal and will pass on your praise to all concerned. Melanie Mann General Manager

Banbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2015

My wife and I have just returned from a long weekend at the Prince of wales hotel to celebrate our fifty first wedding anniversary ..This was our third holiday at the hotel and hope to go back again this year.We have never had a problem with noise from the trains or traffic.The staff are very friendly and always willing to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank johnbanbury630
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review, such a great title and lovely to be greeted with your praise on this drizzly wet August morning!! I will pass it on to all of the team. Its always a pleasure to welcome returning guests and we are so pleased you chose to spend your wedding anniversary with us. We look...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2015

Had a Mon to Fri self drive here,its a bay hotel within the shearing group. Firstly its on a busy main road at the front & a train main line at the back,so noise is an issue. There is a big car park so parking not a problem. I looked on here before going to see what other travellers thought...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patricia f
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am sorry you didnt appear to enjoy your stay here, with regards to the noise leve it really does depend on what you are used to, unfortunately the A38 was busier than normal last week due to the M5 southbound being closed for resurfacing work therefore causing more traffic than usual driving past the...

wilts
Reviewed 1 August 2015

You get what you pay for! Its a fairly cheap break away. The hotel was clean if a bit Spartan and dimly lit. Needs a facelift here and there. It had a great car park but its proximity to the busy A38 and the mainline railway Bristol to Birmingham with a whistle board right outside made for a noisy intrusion...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thebushes35
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review although I am very disappointed with your words, I try to look at positives in all reviews but I am finding it very difficult after reading your words 'some of the staff could not have cared less' all of my staff are hardworking dedicated young people who often deal with far more unpleasantries than they...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2015

This Hotel is just outside of the Cotswolds so was a little surprised as we thought that it would be right into the heart so didn't actually see any pretty little villages. The Hotel is rather tired and in need of modernising as is with most Bay Hotels that we have been to!!! We visited Gloucester Quays and had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean M
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sending in a review although I do rather take umbrage at some of your comments regarding location. As a Gloucestershire person born and bred I must correct your statement that we are situated 'just outside' of the Cotswolds. The 'Cotswolds' is an area which contains the Cotswold Hills which stretch from Bath up to Warwickshire and across...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2015

We stayed here on a Shearings tour of the Cotswolds and The Forest of Dean. The hotel is small and comfortable and we found it very relaxing.There is a delightful garden with trees and shrubs. The hotel is spotless throughout and we had a spacious room. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and the food was excellent, with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PETER S
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments, I am pleased you had a 'great' time and enjoyed every aspect of your holiday. I will pass on your praise to all the staff, it so nice to get such a good all round review and we appreciate you taking the time to send it in. Melanie Mann General Manager

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkeley
5.1 km away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
382 reviews
9.5 km away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
601 reviews
8.0 km away
De Vere Tortworth Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Bristol North The Gables Hotel
34.5 km away
The Lansdown Grove Hotel
12.7 km away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on the outskirts of the historic town of Berkeley, on the edge of the Cotswolds, the Prince of Wales Hotel is a former public house built 150 years ago. Full of character and maintaining some original features, this hotel is south of Gloucester and just a short drive to the small local towns of Dursley and Stroud. The hotel has a pleasant restaurant opening onto pretty gardens and a patio area. The Prince’s Bar and reception were recently refurbished creating a warm and welcoming environment. You can enjoy the extensive bar menu at lunchtimes and evenings as well as wonderful local ales. The Prince of Wales Hotel is the perfect base for exploring the Cotswolds and the many other attractions that this part of the country has to offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Prince of Wales Hotel

Address: Berkeley Rd, Berkeley GL13 9HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Berkeley
Price Range: $123 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Prince of Wales Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Liverpool, United Kingdom
7 months ago
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Liverpool, United Kingdom

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Prince of Wales Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They have upgrades rooms,but found the room we had just fine,looking over the fields”
 of 5 bubbles fredt406, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“upgrade to a better room”
 of 5 bubbles KathRichard, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms it seems are quiet! Book early if double room required although staff will do their best to give you the type of room you require”
 of 5 bubbles 928joanh, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Not front as on a busy main road”
 of 5 bubbles 655annd, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 14 is a great room”
 of 5 bubbles 367sylviat, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5