Aviator Hampshire

Aviator Hampshire

Traveller (799)
Dining (91)
Aviator Hampshire
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#1 of 7 hotels in Farnborough
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to the top 1% of businesses across select categories.
Located near London on the Hampshire and Surrey border overlooking the private Farnborough Airport, Aviator is one of the most striking design hotels in recent times. Set in over 7 acres of land, the building has a unique presence, a legible form that is simple and elegant to use. The hotel boasts 169 rooms, six meeting and events spaces, three restaurants and bars, a fitness studio, and a vast terrace and lawn. The impressive lobby and atrium of the hotel present three food and beverage outlets comprising the sophisticated Brasserie, elegant Sky Bar and casual dining One Eleven restaurant. All 169 bedrooms, including 19 suites, are luxuriously appointed with high-quality furnishings and modern amenities. All three room types feature a king or super king-sized bed, a large TV with complimentary movies, climate control, a seating area and an ensuite with a walk-in rain shower. The Sky Suites offer spacious living areas, a walk-in shower and bath and impressive views.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Electric vehicle charging station
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Light therapy
Neck massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Doorperson
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Package deal

Location

55 Farnborough Road, Farnborough GU14 6EL England
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 64 out of 100
64
Heathrow Airport
29.7 km
See all flights
Gatwick Airport
42.1 km
See all flights
914Reviews1Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 869
  • 30
  • 6
  • 6
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Johanna B wrote a review Aug 2020
Creswell, United Kingdom13 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I had the pleasure of staying in one of the sky suites airside for the night and we did not want to leave the suite the next morning. The room is enormous and extremely comfortable. There is a very large tv in the lounge area a smaller one in the bedroom and the best one is the one in the bathroom which is lovely to watch whilst having a bath. We loved watching the jets coming in and taking of from Farnborough airport but rest assured your sleep does not get disturbed by them. Also the lovely curtains and blinds make it that your room is lovely and dark for a peaceful nights sleep. I have just looked on their website and at the weekends they do a special offer called a greed package which I believe means you get the suite a bottle of champagne in the room a five course tasting menu with wine pairings and a lovely breakfast in the morning. Sounds ideal for a special occasion. The breakfast in the morning is lovely as they do not have a buffet at present you order from the menu and everything we had was very nicly presented and tasty. As we did not have a dinner package this time we had some dinner on the terrace my husband had a sandwich which was very well filled and came with chips and I had a halloumi and quinoa salad which was extremely tasty. I think the reason we keep returning to this hotel is the place is so lovely and the staff they employ make you so very welcome and do everything to make your stay special.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Grant Robbins wrote a review Jul 2020
The Royal Town of Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited the hotel on the Saturday, the day before we were due to get married. As soon as we walked in you could tell it was a very up market hotel, greeted by receptionist who told us we had been upgraded to a suite of which was very lovely inside, a great addition of a Nespresso machine. Dinner was arranged for us at 8.30 of which were given a complementary Glass of champagne each & upgrade to steak ( I had emailed before to tell them of the occasion, of which each person we encountered knew and did their best to make it a more pleasure able experience) Overall I couldn’t have asked for anything else, I would highly recommend this hotel & the staff are an asset to the company.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steelemeister wrote a review Jun 2020
14 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a delight. Despite the restrictions imposed, of course due to the pandemic, I thoroughly enjoyed the stay.

Five days were spent at the Aviator in Farnborough, prior to flying out of the country. Although many of the facilities were not in use, the staff went out of their way to ensure there were no issues.

Cleanliness, and a continued proactive cleaning program was evident - top marks.

Catering staff, from the chef to the kind individuals who had to interact with us during dinner service, were not only professional, but continued to have a great sense of humour about them. Front of house staff, couldn’t do enough to assist in the minor details to support the stay. On the whole, of this is what the service is like under the restrictions, I’d love to see it operating at its full capability.

I will certainly stay again, in order to take advantage of the bar service and sports facilities ( though local area has enough terrain to have a good (tab) run) when normal operations begin.

Thank you all.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark P wrote a review Oct 2020
8 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Firstly I would have not written this review if the reception staff had shown any interest when we checked out.

We booked this hotel after hearing great things for our wedding anniversary but unfortunately this was not the case.

When I booked the hotel I also wanted to book the main restaurant but unfortunately I was told it was full. It turns out the hotel restaurant is also still open to the public and seem they have first choice over guests staying at the hotel.

After checking into our room we went for a drink in the bar. We had a good experience there so asked if we could book a table for later for drinks but where told we could not reserve a table even though we could see reserve signs on other tables.

As we could not eat at the hotel we had booked the swan pub under the advice of the hotel staff so when going back to our room we noticed we only had one of everything, ie one towel one bottle of water etc. We phoned house keeping and got sent some new towels. Please remember this was a anniversary booking and the hotel was aware of this so you’d least think we would have got the right amount of items in the room.

On the way out to dinner we went to reception to say we were still missing things like extra water, slippers etc. Reception said they would sort and they did but when returning to the hotel later that night we found they still gave us only one water no extra glass and our aircon had be turned up from 21 to 26 degrees. As you can imagine after 4 hours in our room it was so hot and unbearable. We guess this was done as we were probably put down as complaining guests.

In the room we also found the sink plug was broken and the extract in the bathroom would not turn off so this was very annoying all night. We did not report at the time as we expected to speak to someone on departure and we knew there would not be any maintenance working that late at night.

Also just for your record the hot water in the shower can be dangerously hot and seriously needs to be adjusted before someone is seriously burnt in there.

The Service for drinks in the evening was very slow and we were dumped in the corner out the way no where near the bar and seem to be forgotten.

The breakfast in the morning was cold and so was the coffee and before you even got half way though your small plates the large plate had arrived leaving hardly any room on the table. We were also not asked if we wanted any more juices or further coffee.

Finally check out, when we were asked if we had an enjoyable stay we said it hadn’t been good and the Receptionist just laughed and no further comments were made and we left feeling dejected and that they weren’t interested in our issues.

We definitely won’t be back!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steve H wrote a review Jan 2022
Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom9 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed Sat 22nd Jan 2022 on a package that included a 5 course tasting menu, bottle of champagne, breakfast, and a suite. We added a massage for each of us as an extra cost. The room was beautiful, large, spotless, and meant we could relax there during the afternoon and had breakfast in private the following morning. The meal was superb. Not only was the food amazing, but the service from the waiting staff (in particular Ginevra - gracias !) was first class. It was our first stay / meal at The Aviator but we wouldn't hesitate in going back. Thank you for fabulous weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
grwpl wrote a review Oct 2020
Munich, Germany1,218 contribution587 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Good Covid precaution in place and practiced.

Have stayed here a few times and always enjoy the experience. The hotel is modern and stylish from the entrance with grand staircase to the rooms. I especially like the rooms overlooking the runway of this busy airport.

Bedrooms are a good size, bathrooms offer plenty of space and great plumbing. In room coffee and tea faculties, a safe, ( a bit too low down to be easy to use). WiFi works very well and is free and easy to log on.

Book the restaurant well in advance as it gets busy. Very good breakfast offerings. Nice bar, it’s a shame latest restrictions mean it has to close so early.

Parking is a bit of a walk so worth dropping bags at the front door before you park
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lou2109 wrote a review Aug 2020
Heath and Reach, United Kingdom268 contributions31 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Aviator is a favourite of ours having stayed here as a couple years ago before having kids. It was our daughter’s first hotel stay 2 years ago when she was 3 months old. Now post lockdown we returned for our son’s first hotel stay! You’d be forgiven for thinking this isn’t really a family hotel but we found everything we needed for us plus a 2 year old and 8 month old. We booked 2 interconnecting rooms - reservations team very helpful in confirming how to book these - which was great for us. Plenty of space and a comfy travel cot provided with sheets, a bath would have been ideal but I think most of the rooms are shower only so it wasn’t a big deal. The air con was such bliss on one of the hottest days of the year. We also got lucky with an upgrade to an airside room.
With the sunny weather forecast we took a chance and didn’t book for dinner. The brasserie is lovely but it probably isn’t for very young children although they do have a kids menu. We ate out on the terrace (no booking needed) in the glorious sunset which was perfectly informal for an early family dinner. My daughter enjoyed having a run around on the grass and staff were attentive and friendly. We then made our escape to allow those without children to enjoy their drinks in peace!
Unfortunately we couldn’t visit the sky bar due to having to get our kids to bed but we did get drinks to take back to the room.
Next morning we had breakfast which was busy. The food was very good, the only downside was the slightly long wait time for food to arrive. Due to Covid all food is a la carte including cereal etc. which obviously puts more pressure on the kitchen. We missed being able to just pick and choose bits that we wanted especially for the kids but completely understand why this is at the moment. However staff very apologetic for the wait and were kind enough to allow our kids to eat for free given they were so small.
Front of house staff also friendly on check in and check out. Overall a great stay and we will be back - hopefully next time without the little ones so we can enjoy the brasserie and sky bar properly!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KLLG17 wrote a review Mar 2020
London, United Kingdom31 contributions8 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stayed for 1 night at the Aviator hotel as a birthday treat for him booked by family. We had a standard airside room and upgraded to a suite for £100 for the night. It was pretty reasonable as upgrade prices went up by £25 per upgrade so there was a lot of option.

The room itself was lovely, very clean with great amenities. One small issue was that we had Prosecco/beer delivered to our room along with a happy birthday plate with truffles on...by a concierge who clearly had a cold and his nose was dripping! We did not eat the truffles !

We had dinner included in our package, with a set 3 course menu giving 4-5 options per course. Food itself was absolutely delicious and got better with each course. Starter: husband had the sweetcorn soup which was lovely but got cold quickly due to it being presented on a massive bowl. I had smoked trout with pickled ketchup and rye bread. Good but very small portions in terms of the beetroot and pickled ketchup compared with the trout so each bite wasn’t quite equal.
Mains: husband had butternut squash ravioli and said was really delicious and moreish, no complaints at all. I had the rump steak (£7 supplement) cooked perfectly to medium rare, seasoned so well with the best chips I’ve EVER had.
One small comment was that when the waitress was clearly up selling sides, and we said no thank you to any extra vegetables, her reply was “oh not feeling healthy today then”....wasn’t too impressed with that comment!
Dessert wise we both had the Irish coffee revolution (I think name wise) which a baileys dessert which was a set mousse, chocolate etc and was so delicious.

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel, a really enjoyable stay and if you like planes you will love it! Stay airside and you see private jets landing and taking off it’s great!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AviatorbyTAG, Senior Guest Services Manager at Aviator Hampshire
Responded 14 Mar 2020
Dear KLLG17, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent visit to Aviator. I'm delighted to learn of your overall experience, and especially of your enjoyment for all of the food you had, and for the bedroom in which you were allocated. Furthermore, it is also so lovely to see you enjoyed the somewhat unique sights in which our air side rooms have to offer. This being said, however, it is nonetheless disappointing to learn of some of the minor shortfalls in which you've described, but I am glad these did not take away from your overall experience too much. Finally, thank you once more for your review, and I hope to welcome you back to Aviator in the future. Kind regards, Danny Maltwood
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ec02xxx wrote a review Nov 2020
Surrey, United Kingdom142 contributions42 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Visited Sunday 1st having made a booking 3 weeks ago. Glad I did given the imminent lockdown.

Enjoyed an amazing roast, we had pork (on the bone amazing!) and beef cooked to perfection and the gravy was simply delicious. All expertly served by Amber who was able to recommend the starters we chose after we were deliberating...She literally couldn't have done more to enhance our visit. Thank you Amber.

We felt completely safe at the Aviator. Everyone was wearing masks etc. Although I do feel for the staff having to work under these restrictions. Plenty of sanitizer available and the whole hotel looked spotless so a shout out to the cleaners!

After lunch we enjoyed cocktails in the Skybar. Again social distancing was evident, loved the Pandas everywhere and we felt very safe. George helped us choose cocktails and he knew the menu completely. Very helpful. I even saw the card machines being sanitized in both the restaurant and bar!
Will definitely return again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emma P wrote a review Aug 2020
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom41 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just returned from an overnight stay at this hotel, having gone there to mark the occasion of our wedding day which had to be postponed. From the minute we arrived we were blown away by the beautiful decor, the fantastic customer service and all the ‘little extras’ that made our visit so special. The hospitality was second to none and the staff really do make you feel welcomed and that nothing is too much trouble. We received an upgrade to one of the suites at no additional cost and were greeted at our evening meal with a complimentary glass of champagne each to mark our special occasion. The food at dinner and breakfast was delicious and beautifully presented. We honestly feel so relaxed and rested just from one night away and everything about this hotel makes you feel like you are in the lap of luxury. We can’t recommend it highly enough.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Farnborough area.
PRICE RANGE
S$236 - S$387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
aviator hotel farnborough
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHampshireFarnborough
NUMBER OF ROOMS
169
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AVIATOR HAMPSHIRE: UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 841 Photos (Farnborough, England) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Aviator Hampshire
Which popular attractions are close to Aviator Hampshire?
Nearby attractions include Farnborough Air Sciences Trust Museum (0.3 km), Aldershot Military Museum (1.1 km), and FAST Centrifuge (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Aviator Hampshire?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Aviator Hampshire?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Aviator Hampshire?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Aviator Hampshire?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Aviator Hampshire?
Conveniently located restaurants include Brasserie, Sky Bar, and One Eleven.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Aviator Hampshire?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Aviator Hampshire located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Farnborough.
Are any cleaning services offered at Aviator Hampshire?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Aviator Hampshire offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Aviator Hampshire?
Many travellers enjoy visiting FAST Centrifuge (0.6 km).
All Farnborough HotelsFarnborough Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in FarnboroughHotels near Aviator Hampshire
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire