We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Grove Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Grove Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,678 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Grove Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,648: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2015

A wonderful hotel with fabulous amenities and a sense of fun in its design, but most of all tremendously friendly and helpful staff. Excellent spa (with sleek black swimming pool), choice of 3 restaurants, and beautiful outdoor grounds to wander at will. Several lounges to hide away too.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chris G Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at The Grove. We appreciate your comments; it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Grove on a future occasion. Yours sincerely Michael Helling General Manager

St Albans
Reviewed 9 October 2015

1 hour wait between courses and with a 2 year old that is not acceptable. No yorkshire puddings with the sunday roast as the chef ran out and we were told it would be a further 30 mins wait to make more. Food ok but burger came to bits as mince hadn't mouded well. We were offered a small %...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 199gunit
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review

Please accept my apologies for the delay in responding. We were very sorry to read of your disappointing experience at The Stables. You correctly brought the issues to the attention of our members of staff, and I am sorry this was not resolved to your satisfaction during your visit. Clearly this is not the level of service we strive to...

Hertfordshire
Reviewed 9 October 2015

What a feast it is. A choice from just about everything you can think of and all perfectly cooked and expertly presented. Staff are really nice and seem to genuinely enjoy ensuring you have the best time possible and are very proud of where they work. Not the cheapest place for Sunday lunch obviously but you do get what you...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 316Shirley316
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 316Shirley316 Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your meal at The Grove. We appreciate your comments; it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Grove on a future occasion. Yours sincerely Michael Helling General Manager

Watford
Reviewed 9 October 2015

Go to The Grove for breakfast on an empty stomach!! Full English, fruits, yoghurts, pastries, kippers, American pancakes and maple syrup, breads, cereals, cheeses, juices, coffee...............excellent value for money in beautiful surroundings. Make the most of it; book early so that you can pace yourself over a couple of hours!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ElizBorg
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ElizBorg Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your Breakfast at The Glasshouse. We appreciate your comments; it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Grove on a future occasion. Yours sincerely Michael Helling General Manager

Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2015

After a couple of years of 'shall we/shant we' we made one of the best decisions for years !! Lets play golf at the Grove.... Having turned up at reception to book in, we were met by very helpful and friendly staff - nothing was too much trouble - Our equipment was collected and our buggies were loaded and brought...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gary435
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review

.Dear gary435 Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your golf experience at The Grove. We appreciate your comments; it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Grove on a future occasion. Yours sincerely Michael Helling General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2015

I have visited the Glass House for dinner on several occasions and always been happy with my meal. However I went to the Glass House in August for my friend's 50th birthday. I decided on roast beef which was very fatty which was a little disappointing. The staff were very helpful, always attending to our needs but I was not...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sandra W
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2015

This carvery is simply the best excellent quality food and very attentive staff so much so we have been 3 times in a month The only problem on last visit was that the air conditioning was so cold we were frozen. The party next to us were actually moved.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry D
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Terry D Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your meal in The Glasshouse. We were sorry to read of your disappointment with regard to the temperature in the restaurant on your last visit and apologise for any inconvenience caused. Please be assured your comments have been passed to our Maintenance Manager to address. All...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2015

We had a great time celebrating our anniversary with 2 kids, 2 and under. The waitress was friendly and accommodating of our toddler! Food and drink were both excellent and we felt well taken care of.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrses2015
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mrses2015 Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your meal at The Grove. We appreciate your comments; it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Grove on a future occasion. Yours sincerely Michael Helling General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2015

A birthday meal for a family with three generations. Good variety of food which tends to cover dietary needs, vegan and vegetarian choices. However on this occasion the choice for children aged 2 through to 5. Was extremely disappointing. We have visited and eaten in the Glasshouse on numerous occasions. Pizza was not made available just flat bread with melted...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank listchecked
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your meal in The Glasshouse. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Please be assured we have taken note of your additional comments and are sorry for any disappointment caused on this occasion. Thank you again, and we very much hope you will give us the opportunity...

Shenley
Reviewed 9 October 2015

Took my twin daughters to dine at the stables for their 28th birthday. The staff could not do enough for us, including singing "happy birthday" and presenting them with cake, the resturant was spotless and the food was fab. I did try to book the glasshouse but that was fully booked so opted for the stables instead and would have...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank becs1967
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review

Dear becs1967 Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your meal at The Stables. We appreciate your comments; it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Grove on a future occasion. Yours sincerely Michael Helling General Manager

462 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (444)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (80)
Viewed
Dining (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (211)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chandler's Cross
9.9 km away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St Albans
2,070 reviews
2.0 km away
De Vere Hunton Park
De Vere Hunton Park
#1 of 1 in Hunton Bridge
695 reviews
32.0 km away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
11.0 km away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
3.5 km away
Jurys Inn London Watford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Grove, London's country estate, is more than a five-star hotel. Set in 300 acres and only 18 miles from central London, the former home of the Earls of Clarendon is also a luxury 18-hole golf resort, a fabulous spa and unique venue for meetings, weddings and celebrations. Also included in The Grove's extensive facilities are three restaurants including Colette’s, awarded three AA rosettes. A 4acre Walled Garden with urban beach, tennis courts and outdoor pool. A selection of bike and jogging trials to enjoy with complimentary bike hire; and Anouska’s Kids’ Club, graded outstanding by OFSTED makes The Grove a parent and child-friendly resort. Lovingly restored to stunning effect, the property fuses contemporary design and original period architecture with exceptionally caring and professional service. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Grove Hotel

Address: London's Country Estate, Chandler's Cross WD3 4TG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Chandler's Cross
Price Range: $399 - $847 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grove Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove Chandlers Cross
Grove Hotel Chandlers Cross
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Grove Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Grove Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The superior ( Mansion) rooms are great and ask for a view of the Golf course”
Barkis1, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Corner rooms”
heathera142, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms pretty standard - had to climb into the bath to get to the shower - not great if you are elderly.”
katedP456UJ, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Colette's worth a visit. Avoid Breakfast!”
LindseyW559, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The Grove offers private suites in the grounds.”
kathleendelmar73, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5