We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

585 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
See the most recent reviews
Showing 574: English reviews
Kent
Reviewed 16 February 2016

I stayed at this hotel overnight with my husband. The hotel was comfortable, clean and the staff were attentive. However for a hotel in this group it wasn't cheap. We were part of a party that had negotiated a special deal which was priced fairly in my opinion, I certainly wouldn't have picked this hotel at its original price. On...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SueFKent
Steven C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Dear SueFKent, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback after your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that we met your expectations during most of your stay but apologise for the incorrect information regarding our restaurant. This will be looked into. I trust that we can welcome you back again in the future.

london
Reviewed 15 February 2016

Lovely hotel, we were very pleasantly surprised. The pool, Jacuzzi, steam room and sauna were really nice and we had a very relaxing stay. The gym looked quite adequate as well but we didn’t use it. We didn’t eat in the restaurant, we had room service which we were happy with. The petrol station and M+S next door are very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank London_irl82
Steven C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Dear Roisheff thank you for your feedback after a recent stay with us, I am pleased to read that you found everything to your satisfaction especially breakfast and our pancake machine. We hope we can welcome you back again soon and that you will take time to visit our leisure facilities.

UK
Reviewed 14 February 2016

Stayed here twice recently as usual hotel I use was fully booked. Its ok for a night. But there is much better value near by-i.e. St Michaels Manor. First time I stayed standard room-clean -but door handle fell off twice. Second time premier room-poor value-not even a bottle of water in the room. Wi-fi free, everything else extra-even down to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shaz1Uk
Steven C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Dear Shaz1Uk, thank you for taking the time to give us feedback after a recent stay with us. I am sorry to read that you were not completely satisfied after a couple of issues with the room. This is not to our normal high standards of service that we provide to all our guests and again I apologise. I hope...

Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2016

My wife and I stayed here for one night at the end of January. We booked this hotel because it was near to the Harry Potter Warner Brothers Studio Tour. I've heard of Holiday Inn hotels - you see them everywhere. They're a chain. I knew as a hotel i would have a bed and some food to eat, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lewis_DW1985
Steven C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Dear Dellar1985, thank you for your feedback after a recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that we met your expectations and that you were well looked after by the teams. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards

Wetherby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2016 via mobile

The hotel itself is ok. The food represents good value for money and is less expensive than you might expect. The room (55) however was disappointing even with a business rate of £126 per night. Carpets are tired, woodwork looks like it was last painted 10 years ago. The TV didn't work at all. There were stains all over the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DEJohnson
Steven C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Dear DE Johnson, thank you for your feedback after a recent stay with us. I am disappointed to read that you were not completely satisfied especially with the room conditions for which I apologise. We are continually updating rooms so that guests all receive the same high standards and will be looking at room 55 as a matter of urgency....

Beverley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 February 2016

We stayed in this hotel for one night only, whilst on a showtime trip to London. I have to say that we were very impressed with the friendly staff, the cleanliness, the lovely breakfast and the comfortable warm room. The only other things I would like are a larger bed and some biscuits in the room.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Caron M
Steven C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Dear Caron M, thank you for your 5* review after a recent stay. I am pleased to read that we met your expectations and that the teams looked after you well. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards

south UK
Reviewed 24 January 2016

This was a one night stay on business and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The food at dinner and breakfast was very good. The room was good but there was a noise from out side the room most of the night.... now it could have been the dual carriage way or the motorway, but as the room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trev53
Steven C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Dear Trev53, thank you for your feedback after a recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that everything met your expectations other than noise from outside of your room. Please mention this to check on arrival and they will endeavour to find you a quieter room subject to availability. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Reviewed 23 January 2016 via mobile

This holiday inn puts some hiltons and another 4/5* hotels to shame in comparison to what they charge. Good location for ski centre. Staff were efficient Rooms clean&big Brilliant small pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna that was all working great Only complaint that my Stella was put in a warm glass but that's just me being fussy. Overall good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sean W
Steven C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Dear Sean W, thank you for your feedback after your recent stay with us. We are pleased to read that everything met your expectations including the leisure facilities. We apologise that the Stella was not served in a cold glass this of course is not our normal standards and should not happen. We hope that this will not prevent you...

Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 January 2016 via mobile

Came for a family function. We were very well looked after. Stayed overnight in an executive room overlooking the car park. Very comfortable and quiet. Bed and pillows were excellent. Dinner in the restaurant was good. Mixed grill was very good indeed. Fine breakfast, including a pancake maker. Overall impressed by the attentive and friendly staff. Couldn't be more helpful....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen F
Steven C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Dear Karen F, thank you for your feedback after a recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that we met your expectations and that all the teams looked after you well. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards

Cleobury Mortimer, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 January 2016 via mobile

The Holiday Inn in Hemel Hempstead is a modern hotel with good facilities. The room was clean and tidy, the bed comfortable and the toiletries adequate Breakfast was very good, dinner okay and the staff were mainly friendly. The hotel is what you expect from one that focuses on business travellers so close to the M1.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GerryR847
Steven C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Dear GerryR847, thank you for your feedback after a recent stay with us. I am pleased that you found everything to your satisfaction especially the breakfast and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards

151 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (103)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
3.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
689 reviews
4.2 km away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
780 reviews
3.7 km away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
367 reviews
3.3 km away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Cent...
#3 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
724 reviews
7.3 km away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St Albans
2,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8 is in the perfect location for business and leisure guests. The hotel is easily accessible from M1 & M25 motorways and just 1 mile from The Snow Centre, 8 miles from Luton Airport, 21 miles from Heathrow Airport 19 miles from Wembley Stadium. Getting into London is easy as the hotel is just 10 minutes from Hemel train station with direct services into London Euston. Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead combines an excellent range of facilities with 144 air-conditioned bedrooms, including 19 Executive Rooms along with family and accessible rooms. The hotel also offers a Spirit Health Club with indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, fitness gym and health and beauty products & treatments. The hotel has conference and banqueting facilities that are a perfect venue for any occasion. These rooms all feature natural daylight, high speed internet connections and Starbucks Coffee. The Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead offers 3 dining options; Traders restaurant, Lounge Bar and 24 hour room service. Here at Hemel Hempstead, we are proud to welcome families so why not take advantage of our Kids Stay & Eat Free offer! The hotel is just 11 miles from Whipsnade Zoo, 27 miles from Woburn Safari Park and just 1 mile from the Snow Centre. A perfect way to keep those little ones amused! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8

Address: Breakspear Way, Hemel Hempstead HP2 4UA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Price Range: $112 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead m1 j8 Hotel Hemel Hempstead
Hemel Hempstead Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#3 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#5 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Preston, United Kingdom
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are easily accessible via lift or stairs. Access to the car park via a rear door,if required,near the leisure facilities.”
 of 5 bubbles nairieg, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go for an executive room if you can.”
 of 5 bubbles mrser123, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Top floor was quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Fray1991, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Gym is acceptable”
 of 5 bubbles Adler72, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“A back room as it is on a busy dual carriageway”
 of 5 bubbles amandahT3015UG, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5