We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Greyhound

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Greyhound
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

51 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 51: English reviews
Start your review of The Greyhound
 Click to rate
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here last night in room 2 and were disgusted with the cleanliness of the room, large hanging cobwebs from the ceiling, very dusty sides, not sure the room has seen a duster for some time. The bathroom waste bin had the previous occupants used sanitary towels in the waste paper bin, the toilet seat was loose, there were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tmhorwood
GreyhoundWigginton, Owner at The Greyhound, responded to this review

Dear tmhorwood, We value all our customers’ reviews and I can only apologise for your stay, this was obviously not up to our usual standards and is completely unacceptable. I was unfortunately on a training course for two days and your complaint was not passed on to me, please could you contact me thegreyhoundwigginton@hotmail.co.uk and I will happily come to...

Berkeley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 December 2016

We booked this for an overnight stay on our way to Watford for a funeral the next day. We recalled being very pleased with a stay about three years ago. The location is very convenient, just off the A41 but we would not be using it as a walking base, as it was dark when we arrived. Despite the Christmas...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
GreyhoundWigginton, Owner at The Greyhound, responded to this review

Dear Steve C I am very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your meal with us and the Tring ale. I am slightly baffled by your review as you mentioned we do make it very clear on our website that we only offer a continental breakfast, we have never offered a cooked breakfast the continental breakfast actually consists of,...

Reviewed 5 October 2016

I stayed at the Greyhound for the first time a couple of weeks ago and was very impressed by the staff, the welcome, the food, and the room. Ok the room (2) is quite small but adequate, and for a room in this area the price paid is extremely competitive. With my evening meal and a couple of drinks, I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
GreyhoundWigginton, Owner at The Greyhound, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review, its lovely to hear how much you enjoy staying at The Greyhound and our food. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards Natilee

Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for the night. We both slept brilliantly. The shower was good but it was topped off bt breakfast! It was emense. Can't wait to go back. Tring is only a short distance away. There is lots to look round and little shops for your browsing complete with cafes and restaurants

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick E
Reviewed 2 May 2016

Stopped a night here at the end of our walk along the Ridgeway. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff welcoming, but this pub really scores with its excellent food. We were there for "Pie Night" and it was the best meal we had all week. Delicious, generous and imaginative cooking. Beer is good too. So the one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosamund C
Whickham Tyne and Wear
Reviewed 28 March 2016

Having stayed here whilst walking The Ridgeway l had no hesitation in returning when looking for accommodation near to some friends after visiting Bletchley Park. The three bedrooms although smallish were spotless and the beds comfortable. The location is good in a quiet spot in the Chilterns and both the food and the ale are very good and both offered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WAG1940
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2016

We wanted one nights' accommodation when visiting relatives in the area. This pub fulfilled all our wishes. The room was clean, comfortable, and with all the facilities to make us happy. Continental breakfast was excellent, and our stay was good value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 December 2015

An excellent lunch at reasonable prices served by very friendly staff. Large portions, which were rather too big for us, particularly as the puddings looked good and we had no room for one. A variety of ales and a good range of main courses. I recommend the liver and bacon with mashed potatoto or the whale sized fish and chips....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JohnH887125
Co Down
Reviewed 5 October 2015

We arrived on a sunny Saturday afternoon at the end of a long day walking The Ridgeway - Labrador in tow. They were pretty busy but we relaxed in the beer garden with a drink while waiting to check-in. Then after helping us wash boots and paws we were professionally ushered to a very good room, well ventilated with space...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravelluverCoDown
Reviewed 5 October 2015

A group of us stopped at the Greyhound while walking the Ridgeway. We wanted a pint and a snack (a ploughman’s or just chips or a scotch egg to eat at the outside tables). We were told that because we hadn’t booked we couldn’t order anything, despite the really nice menu outside inviting us to try their lovely food and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Johngu47
GreyhoundWigginton, Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this review

Our customers dining experience is very important to us this is the only reason we limit our food bookings. We strongly advise booking as detailed on our website, if we can take extra bookings we always will. You will find most food establishments have menus OUTSIDE this does not mean you are guaranteed a table. There were over 15 people...

13 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tring
4.3 km away
Premier Inn Tring Hotel
2.6 km away
Pendley Manor Hotel
7.4 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wendover
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
West Lodge Hotel
West Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aston Clinton
188 reviews
5.3 km away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#1 of 2 in Berkhamsted
210 reviews
4.8 km away
The Pennyfarthing Hotel
The Pennyfarthing Hotel
#2 of 2 in Berkhamsted
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
You will find the Greyhound in Wigginton in the heart of the village. Step in to discover a traditional pub of unique character with friendly and welcoming staff, well known for its wide range of real ales and fresh food cooked by our award winning Head Chef Andy Batchelor. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Greyhound

Address: Chesham Road | Wigginton, Tring HP23 6EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Tring
Price Range: $80 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Greyhound 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your The Greyhound reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Greyhound staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Greyhound staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I like room 2 (double) but I havent tried the others!”
 of 5 bubbles pauljQ7628SZ, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There are 3 rooms only and all are similar”
 of 5 bubbles WAG1940, 28 Mar 2016 | Read review
“only three rooms !”
 of 5 bubbles J4190MEmichaelj, 15 Jan 2016 | Read review
“We were in Room 1 (twin beds) and there were only two more rooms in this wing - all three rooms overlooked the carpark & the lane beyond.”
 of 5 bubbles Bobbiee, 9 Jun 2015 | Read review
“three very similar rooms in a row in a section at the end of the pub building - only difference between them will be number/type of beds.”
 of 5 bubbles JAWNE, 25 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5