We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Yelf's Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Yelf\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

377 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Yelf's Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 373: English reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2015 via mobile

We stayed at Yelfs on Saturday 20th June as part of my birthday,after climbing up4 floors including the last very steep one,we were very disappointed with the room (35) stains and a burn on the very worn carpet,TV stand that looked like it had come from a teenagers room in the 80s,net curtains were very yellow with holes in them,stains...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leahelli
YelfsHotel, Manager at Yelf's Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback you left regarding your stay with us on 20th June. We pride ourselves here at Yelfs on offering customers the highest possible standards and are disappointed that we did not meet these expectations on this occasion. We are currently in the process of re-decorating and re-modernising the hotel, to keep a high standard 3 star...

Reviewed 9 June 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for a few nights this month. The hotel is near the top of a steep street in the town centre. There is a hotel car park behind the annex building opposite the main hotel which is free. The public areas are clean and comfortable and there is a very pleasant courtyard garden out the back. The room itself...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Abbey2010
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2015

One of the few hotels that would accept a booking for one night only during a Bank Holiday weekend. Manager and staff were really, really helpful. They booked a ferry as well as the room and sorted everything out perfectly. They even got me a better deal on the ferry than I could get myself. The room was very nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jon C
london
Reviewed 4 June 2015

I was struck by the helpful and friendly member of staff when I made my booking on the telephone, and when I arrived I was given a bigger room than the single I booked. The bar meal in the evening was good value and tasty, again with excellent service. My room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast ingredients were of good...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank boredofthis
Hawes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2015

Our room was in the annex across the road and very large but smelt strongly of tobacco smoke. On leaving after 4 nights this was mentioned and they said they had intended to move us after the first night when no other was available. Cleaning very hit and miss. Bedroom OK but bathroom not fully serviced or cleaned despite mentioning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JGW225
Ryde, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 May 2015

An excellent venue for events, Yelf's has been working with Historic Ryde Society for the past three years. The team is very helpful and efficient, and yesterday's cream tea and Babycham event, with author and raconteur Philip Norman was a huge success! Everyone said how much they'd enjoyed it, and a cream and jam covered scone even featured on Twitter...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Diana W
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 May 2015

Stayed in this hotel on a number of occasions and found the staff to to very pleasant and helpful. The rooms we have stayed in vary in decor but are always clean and pleasant enough at this price. Common rooms including the conservatory are very comfortable with a reasonably priced bar and light snacks. The evening meals were excellent.3 course...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Cliff B
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 May 2015

The interior of the hotel is in some need of redecoration and the toilets are far inferior to the hotel itself. Had hot cups of tea in the lounge in comfy settees but sadly listened to two young men talk with the assistant manager about how they were only working on bank holiday as it was double time and something...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RDAW
Reviewed 3 May 2015 via mobile

Me and my partner phoned and booked ahead this bank holiday and being bank holiday we knew we was cutting it fine but they still managed to accommodate us in the conservatory staff were friendly and the dinner was perfect I was told on ordering there was a 35 min wait on food which I could understand being as busy...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Avarcoe
England
Reviewed 26 April 2015

Check in no problems Stairs to room numerous! (over 40) receptionist (pleasant young girl) offered help with bags however since she was no bigger than myself so I helped my husband whilst she struggled with my bag. Very narrow corridor (barely enough room to walk through) led to room. Room not very clean carpet stained/cigarette burns and had not been...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank fiftytreat
YelfsHotel, Manager at Yelf's Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Yelfs Hotel and bringing the issues to our attention. We pride ourselves on exceeding customer expectations and I am sorry we did not meet our usual high standards on this occasion. We have looked at the issues you identified and are currently rectifying the maintenance issues, and...

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ryde
0.2 km away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
0.6 km away
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
#3 of 6 in Ryde
332 reviews
4.7 km away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Travelodge Ryde Isle of Wight Hotel
3.9 km away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
404 reviews
11.9 km away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Yelf's Hotel offers an all year round service, including Christmas, to holiday and business visitors, from single rooms and suites to self-catering accommodation. The hotel is one of the oldest original coaching inns on the Isle of Wight and has been carefully refurbished to retain much of its charm and atmosphere. Our comfortable Bar and Lounge, Conservatory and Patio Beer Garden, and an air conditioned Restaurant and Conference suite provide Islanders and visitors alike with a relaxing venue for a drink or delicious meal during a short stay or longer break. Whatever the purpose of your visit, you're guaranteed a warm welcome, fine food and great service all year round. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Yelf's Hotel

Address: 54 Union Street, Ryde PO33 2LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Price Range: $111 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yelf's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, SpeedyBooker.com and LateRooms so you can book your Yelf's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yelfs Hotel Ryde
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Yelf's Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
newport iow
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Yelf's Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“top floors great views”
 of 5 bubbles 40robert40, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The front of the hotel looks out onto the main street, close to bars and nightclubs; therefore rooms at the rear of the hotel are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles TriciaM450, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't have a room on the front as the main road is sometimes used by boy racers when the pubs close”
 of 5 bubbles David-en8, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“No lifts so better to be onlower floors although higher may have less street noise.”
 of 5 bubbles , 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Any room within the hotel, the annex across the road didn't look very nice as rooms probably look out onto the car park”
 of 5 bubbles maggies889, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay