We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Historic Buxton Inn

83 reviews
Save
Traveller (54)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (7)
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good25%
  • Average8%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“blue room”(3 reviews)
“main building”(4 reviews)
“basement tavern”(3 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Suites
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (83)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Historic Buxton Inn
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
35
21
7
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
35
21
7
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue roommain buildingbasement tavernrecent renovationsantique furniturecoffee makerfirst floorhauntedporschecolumbuscollegeatriumclerksinkdenison
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2017

I was very disappointed with my stay at the Buxton Inn last weekend. I normally stay at the Granville Inn when I come to watch my son play football for Denison University; however they were booked for this particular weekend. When I arrived to my...More

Thank zyogagirl65
Response from Jennifer V, Manager at Historic Buxton InnResponded 16 September 2017

We understand you are upset by the cleaning fee. However, your review is not accurate nor is it fair. We made an above and beyond effort to clean and remove the damage caused to the linens during your stay and were unable to do so....More

Reviewed 8 September 2017

Visited the Buxton Inn in Granville and dined in the Greenhouse. The food was excellent but the ambiance was better. LOVED it. Andrew was our server and even though it was only his 3rd day on the job, he was more than willing to either...More

Thank bp598
Response from Jennifer V, Manager at Historic Buxton InnResponded 10 September 2017

Thank you for taking a second to share your experience. We are thrilled that your time with us was so enjoyable. Please come see us again!

Reviewed 1 September 2017

We have stayed here and dined here often. Of course we always always stay in Room 9 and have had a "ghostly"experience! Tonight we stopped between shifts and the new chef accomated us. The chef has really improved the menu and presentation. Our greater,and server...More

1  Thank Maurice R
Response from Jennifer V, Manager at Historic Buxton InnResponded 2 September 2017

Sounds like you had a great time Maurice! These are the experiences we strive to provide at The Buxton. Thank you for taking a second to post the review.

Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed in Warner House 2 & 3 adjoining rooms. I am a little spoiled at home with my king size bed but the cozy bed sure snuggs a couple up at night! Parking was easy right out front and all the staff were wonderful....More

Thank Lori K
Response from Jennifer V, Manager at Historic Buxton InnResponded 30 August 2017

Wonderful Lori! We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us and are already scheduled to come back! Thank you for sharing your experience.

Reviewed 27 August 2017

Our first stay at The Buxton Inn was fantastic! The Inn was comfortable, the buildings historic, and the location perfect for a short walk to shops, restaurants and the Denison campus. Best of all was the service. The staff went out of their way to...More

Thank cjreaney
Response from Jennifer V, Manager at Historic Buxton InnResponded 28 August 2017

Excellent! Great service is our goal. Thank you for sharing your experience with others.

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345617
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$108 - US$164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$108 - US$164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (54)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (7)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Alyce M
5 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Jennifer V | Property representative |
Morning Alyce. Our continental breakfast includes items such as cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, toast, coffee, tea and juice.
0
Votes
reneelizzy
6 November 2016|
Answer
Response from Jennifer V |
Evening Renee Yes we do have your resrvation under the last name of Schemine. Your confirmation number is 743472282. Room #9 is already booked. However, we do have availability on other areas of the Inn if you would be... More
1
Vote
PreviousNext
12
Room Tips
"Do not book room 10."
Read review
"Did not stay in main inn but in one of converted houses across courtyard"
Read review
"Not a bad hotel choice in the area but not the best."
Read review
"Do not stay at the Buxton Inn"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing