We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel

Visit hotel website
Traveller (60)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (7)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Dunkerleys Seafood Restaurant & Hotel on Deal seafront is highly commended & offers a warm & friendly welcome to its visitors; an award-winning restaurant with comfortable en-suite bedrooms; six with sea views, some with spa baths, all with modern HD TVs & wi-fi for computer access. A perfect retreat for golfers, businessmen, walkers & families alike.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room service
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Bay View
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
67Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
47Attractionswithin 0.5 km
319Reviews
72Photos
4Q+A
84Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 156
  • 91
  • 49
  • 13
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Friendly approachable staff. The waiter who served us, I believe his name was Gavin, he was knowledgable about the menu and he gave us just the right amount of time to decide on what we wanted.A reasonable priced set menu with relaxed surroundings would recommend to a friend for
Read more
We had booked the stay, initially just for one night, online without much knowledge of the hotel. It was a pleasant surprise. The owner is very proactive as well as a great character that makes the restaurant and hotel a hit. He was full of stories from his days as a chef and
Read more
We have just returned from another nice stay, although only for one night. Receptionist was friendly and helpful. We were in a pleasant room that looked like it had been recently decorated. Hospitality tray, iron and ironing board, hairdryer all supplied, free wi-fi. Nice
Read more
Early sun made us visit Deal, somewhere that I spend several weeks convelescence back in 1956 ands had never been back since! Found Dunkerleys on the sea front ans that proved a greatly choice. Welcoming staff and a nice warm environment made it a great choice that was made even
Read more
We had a wonderful meal at Dunkerleys last night and really good value for money. 6 Oysters for a starter and Rump of Lamb for main course £23! Plus an Amuse Bouche and palate cleansing Sorbet thrown in. The wines are excellent value too. Back soon.....
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
Our room
The "Live" light switch with no switch which nearly gave me a shock!
PreviousNext
123456
Good morning Dunkerley's My wife and I stayed with you on Saturday June 24th, this was in celebration of our 20th Wedding Anniversary. We have stayed with you on 3 / 4 other occasions and always had a good experience. Sad to say this time was a huge disappointment for us both. From ordering our starters and main the wait seemed to last forever, in fact it was 2 hours, yes 2 hours from ordering until our mains were delivered to our table. My wife had ordered the Asparagus with the poached egg and Hollandaise. My wife asked if she could forgo the poached egg, when it arrived at the table it consisted of 3 tiny sprigs of Asparagus and a splattering of Hollandaise at nearly £8:00 was this value for money " I think not " a couple of extra sprigs of Asparagus in place of the poached egg might have helped or even some Parmesan shavings just to make it look like there was more on the plate. We were offered no bread, our wine order and drinks to forever to come......not good. In fact the table next to us came in after us and got served before us including their starters and mains, again not good. The next morning at breakfast things hadn't improved, again service was poor and very slow, so much so a couple waiting for their breakfast got up from their table and went next door to the Cafe. When booking out I mentioned the above to the lady on reception and she duly made a note of our concerns and said she would have it dealt with. When booking in my details were taken including phone number and email address. I was expecting a response from Dunkerleys but it fairly obvious this isn't going to happen, which probably tells me something about your customer service. Would I say I had value for my £200 + one night stay...... probably not. Hopefully you'll take note of my comments and take steps to insure they are not repeated. Regards.
I'm sorry you had such a bad experience! That is no fun at all. We stopped in for a late lunch (did not spend the night as we were staying in Dover). It was very slow customer-wise and we received our wine and lunch in a timely manner - not fast, but timely.
1 vote
Show all answers
What about parking.Does the hotel offer a permit for guest's like other resorts Can you park near by
There's a parking lot close to the hotel (on the map) the 'circle' behind the library. Paid parking until the evening and starting again rather early. There's another (between Union and Duke Street) a little further away (follow High Street to the north) where the hours are a bit more friendly.
0 votes
when you book, mention that you are vegan and we would happily accommodate for your diet requirements :)
0 votes
"Overlooking the sea front for sunrise view"
"15 is at the top and back, but nicely decorated"
"Had room number 4. First floor corner sea view."
"Don't go for a standard room"
"Pier View has a excellent view of the pier and sea."
PreviousNext
12345617
PRICE RANGE
US$103 - US$158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
dunkerley`s restaurant hotel deal
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDeal
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing