We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sutherland House

Show Prices
#4 of 5 Hotels in Deal
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Sutherland House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

69 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Sutherland House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 69: English reviews
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 April 2016 via mobile

We really enjoyed talking to the owner, he was very knowledgeable about the local area and it's history. The room was comfortable and a reasonable price for the south. The location was perfect, a short walk into town and to Deal castle with sufficient parking. We'd certainly stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GemTalula
United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 March 2016

We arrived with our dog much later than expected (thanks a bunch sat-nav) but we still had a warm welcome from Garry. Our twin room (No 5) which overlooked the main road was well furnished, very clean, and had everything we needed. The bathroom looked as if it had recently undergone an upgrade and had complimentary toiletries. Hot breakfasts are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WhataPalaver
Sandy, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2016

I had the pleasure of staying in this hotel for one night with my family. the minute gary greeted us at the door i felt so welcome. he couldn't have done more to make our short stay so pleasant and nothing was too much trouble. i loved the honesty bar and the room it was in. in fact the whole...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ifeelathome59
Chatham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2016

We decided to have a short winter break which was not too far from home. The accommodation was excellent and very clean and the proprietor Garry had a great sense of humour and he was a true gentleman, also he was very trusting, one could help yourself to drinks from the bar and all one had to do was to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Purdon186312
milton keynes
Reviewed 10 November 2015

We booked a double room for one night visiting family in Deal. We arrived at the appointed checking in time of 4pm, but there was no answer. After ringing the doorbell numerous times and then contacting the booking agent, who actually telephoned the hotel for us, the door did open. Considering there was not anyone to let us in on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank doggerlily
GKNH, Owner at Sutherland House, responded to this review

Thank you for this somewhat mixed review. On your specific comments may I apologise once more for my late arrival that evening. It was at exactly 2 minutes past 4 pm. Unfortunately my trip from collecting supplies from town was delayed by a practice for remembrance Sunday congesting the roads at the hospital memorial. I did apologise at the time...

UK
Reviewed 22 September 2015

Arrived late one September evening after being left without accommodating after another hotel in the Deal area had lost my reservation and were fully booked. Hotel owner was happy to receive me at such short notice and a lovely room was immediately available for me. Wonderfully decorated property, homely feel, excellent breakfasts. My new first-choice stop over location for my...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Weemor
London
Reviewed 6 September 2015 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the hotel for a friend's birthday celebration. Decor is stylish but cosy and garden is beautiful. We stayed in room 3 which has a gorgeous en-suite bathroom, clearly recently refurbished to a very high standard. The breakfast was very well cooked and the staff friendly and efficient. Heartily recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Monkton42
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2015

Spent 2 nights at this lovely bijou hotel in Deal for a special birthday celebration. I had room 1 at the front on the ground floor and, I could not have asked for better. Although facing the road, I was surprised that, I was not disturbed by traffic. Lovely comfortable bed, spotlessly clean with ensuite shower. Everything one needed and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bonitak712
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2015

We arrived and were shown our room on the ground floor, the window was open and when it was closed because of the traffic noise we realized why it was open the room stank.The place had not been cleaned, there was a used ear plug on the floor(for the traffic noise I think) and a dirty tissue next to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jjwildless
GKNH, Owner at Sutherland House, responded to this review

I was horrified to read the comments by this guest. I must admit to being totally perplexed by the vitriolic description of the hotel. On investigation I have found out that the main cause of the problems experienced by these guests (the smell) was of no fault of the hotel but of seasonal field spraying of slurry in the area...

St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2015

We were allowed our 2 dogs in the comfortable downstairs room, and we all slept very well indeed. We are used to a huge bed at home, but still found the double no problem at all. Breakfast was perfect and I understand evening meals can be booked and on this point, we met a fellow on the sea front who...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Del R

7 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deal
1.5 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 5 in Deal
453 reviews
1.4 km away
Waterfront Hotel
Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 5 in Deal
46 reviews
1.3 km away
Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#2 of 2 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
271 reviews
13.0 km away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
1.3 km away
King's Head Deal
King's Head Deal
#3 of 14 in Deal
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Sutherland House

Address: 186 London Road, Deal CT14 9PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Deal
Price Range: $132 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutherland House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, LateRooms, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sutherland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sutherland House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Qieter rooms are at the back.”
 of 5 bubbles BridgerSussex, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“rooms at the back would be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles postilionni, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“Garry did show us around and I must say all the rooms were good.”
 of 5 bubbles Purdon186312, 12 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Was extremely happy with my ground floor room (No1)”
 of 5 bubbles bonitak712, 4 Sep 2015 | Read review
“go elsewhere. Sleep in the street !”
 of 5 bubbles jjwildless, 1 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay