We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Red Lion

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Red Lion
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

161 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Red Lion
See the most recent reviews
Showing 157: English reviews
u.k.
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed for one night en route to France . 10 mins drive to Eurotunnel terminal. Large room with adequate shower room , comfortable clean bed and towels. Lovely cooked breakfast and friendly staff. On the downside was the thin walls , could hear next door snoring and the smallest T.V. ever. Still good value though.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bn26
Hythe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

Visited the RL this evening. We had suet pudding with mash and vegetables. The meal was very good value, very tasty, quality ingredients and served piping hot. The staff there are also amazing and extremely friendly. Good beer served at good prices. Will definitely be visiting again. Which is good for us as it's very close to where we live.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RichnLee
UK
Reviewed 29 January 2017

Only stayed one night, we were greeted instantly on arrival and shown to our room by a very helpful gentleman. Room was good, spotlessly clean, good bed, plenty of room and tea and coffee making equipment. Bathroom was fine. Had breakfast in the morning which was really good, again fantastic staff. There is free car parking attached to the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank holidaytime
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 January 2017

Stayed for a couple of nights after Christmas. Staff very friendly, food very good and reasonably priced. Room was very comfortable, warm and spacious. However, as other reviews have stated the tv is rather small, wi if is a bit hit and miss and there was no hairdryer ( I'll remember to pack one next time ). Rooms would also...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 145dee
kent
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Went with a group of friends, the food was well cooked and good amount as well. Some people only wanted a light bite like jacket potatoes, but unfortunately they don't do meals like that. Clean and friendly place.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lynjoKent
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Stayed on Boxing Day, greeted by one of the owners (very friendly and couldn't have done more to please), drinks reasonably priced and breakfast in the morning was really lovely (home cooked and good quality). The only downside was the size of the TV which I understand is one of the things to be improved when all the room are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank christinekay564
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 December 2016

visited this pub on a few occasions always found the staff polite helpful and really nice ,out for lunch on 22/12/16 and the starter really nice the special of pan fried pork chop very difficult to chew was supposed to come with green beans and saute potatoes we got peas and soggy new potatoes we ordered a bottle of Rioja...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Row M
Red L, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to review your trip to The Red Lion, Sorry to hear that you were not happy with your lunch on the 22nd, I was not made aware that you had not enjoyed your meal. If i had i would have resolved this for you.My aim is to make sure all of our...

Kent, ENGLAND
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

This is a surprisingly large pub, staffed with a great team who were friendly and attentive, without any stuffiness. Though I booked a table for three mates on the run into Christmas the pub was not particularly full of firms-Christmas-parties as I assumed it would be, if anything, it was almost empty, which was a pity because the quality of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FIRESTONE
Caterham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 December 2016

Nice central location, short walk to the high street and to the seafront. On arrival we had a very friendly and warm welcome from Paul. Really genuine welcome which was nice. Room was a good size with a comfy bed, tea and coffee making facilities, so everything you need. The bar and restaurant is very good as well, clean, great...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kdw72
Red L, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to post a review, Glad you had a good stay. best wishes Paul The Red Lion Hythe

Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

Massive thanks to Paul and the team for a perfect night on 24th Nov, the night before my wedding. Catered for 23 of us and really flexible with the menus etc. Friendly staff who couldn't have been more helpful. I was a bundle of nerves that night and they just kept congratulating me. A few laughs with them too. Food...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KentGirl22
Red L, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, I'm really happy all went well, i hope your big day was all good, and i wish you all the best in the future Regards Paul The Red Lion Hythe

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hythe
1.2 km away
Hythe Imperial
Hythe Imperial
#2 of 3 in Hythe
1,679 reviews
0.7 km away
Stade Court Hotel
Stade Court Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hythe
605 reviews
2.2 km away
Seabrook House
Seabrook House
#3 of 3 in Hythe
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
921 reviews
3.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
0.2 km away
Malt Lodge
Malt Lodge
#7 of 10 in Hythe
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are proud to announce the recent management change. Situated in the beautiful town of Hythe, the Red Lion is a perfectly situated for all types of visitors. Close to the beach and only 30 minutes away from Canterbury. Close to Dover, why not spend a few nights before traveling to Europe. Whether its for one night, a short break or a longer holiday you can be assured of a comfortable relaxing stay with us. Each room features individual decor, en suite facilities, TV, WiFi and tea & coffee making facilities. We offer some deliciously tempting menus from lunches to evening meals and some fantastic mid-week meal promotions. Our Sunday lunches are very popular and we would recommend pre-booking your table to avoid disappointment. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Red Lion

Address: Red Lion Square, Hythe CT21 5AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Hythe
Price Range: $118 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Hythe
Hythe Red Lion
Red Lion Hythe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Red Lion staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ring direct rather than using a booking website”
kdw72, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose a King size bed's really comfy.”
145dee, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms were good as we had 8 of them...it is on a main road but did not bother any of us”
0pamelaa, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Didn't stay, we only ate lunch time”
270sueg, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Go for a room at the rear, we had a little road noise.”
Weekendartisan, 4 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5