We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,310 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,298: English reviews
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Really nothing is too much trouble, done with courtesy patience and a smile, this hotel felt like a freind after two days there. From conference coordinators, thank you Karen - to meetings staff Joe Simon and Edwina, to restaurant staff- and to Nigel and Elaine from Gregory AV - you do your customers proud. Many thanks, we would book again... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gilly017
Management response:

Dear Gilly017, We really appreciate the time taken to post your feedback and are delighted the SecuriCare Conference went well, I shall certainly share with the whole Team. We do hope you return soon. Kind Regards, Ivan Lynch, General Manager. More 

Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

in need of an uplift,, ageing decor etc busy night whilst we we there for a wedding evening reception there was a corporate function in the main room which left our party with a poorly stocked bar manned by inexperienced staff ,,, 15 minutes to get served over priced drinks house red was average but poor at £17.95 a bottle... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SharonAndrewMc
Management response:

Dear SharonAndrewMc, Thank you for your feedback, we have taken on a number of new staff for the Christmas period , we shall re-visit staff training. There certainly should be no reason for stock levels being depleted at this time of year, I will bring these issues to the attention of the F&B Manager, apologies for any inconvenience caused. Kind... More 

Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great Night out, filled with fun, laughter and dancing! The food was delicious and the Dj was good, we had a great night, thank you! I would defiantly recommend this place for a Christmas party! The staff was really helpful and nice also.

Helpful?
Thank Diqueh
Management response:

Dear Diqueh, We are delighted you enjoyed the Christmas Festivities, thank you also for the recommendation. Kind Regards, Ivan Lynch, General Manager. More 

Somerset
Level Contributor
224 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a strange, rambling hitch pitch of a place in need of a face lift. The room was comfortable and clean, but it's all a bit drab. I didn't eat at the hotel, although it's probably a taxi ride to any local eateries. The bar area was like the rest of the place though, no atmosphere and somewhat drab.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Trousers99
Management response:

Dear Trousers99, Thank you for taking time to review your stay, glad your room was comfortable and we take your comments on board constructively. Kind Regards, Ivan Lynch, General Manager. More 

Newport, South Wales
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed at this hotel after a 6 hour drive. When booking I asked for a quiet room so I could get a decent night's sleep but the room I was put in was far from that. The doors to the rooms needed slamming to shut properly. The floorboards creaked and the walls were so thin I could hear every... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank PlainLauraJane
Management response:

Dear PlainLauraJane, Our sincerest apologies you encountered noise issues ad we failed to address appropriately. Please do allow us to show you this is not the 'norm', when next in the area please do contact me directly and I will ensure a more relaxing and pleasurable experience. Kind Regards, Ivan Lynch, General Manager. More 

Travellers are raving about these Clayton-le-Moors hotels

Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

I've stayed at Mercure before so booked it due to the brand and lack of alternatives in the area and the fact it was 3 miles from my course location. My other half stayed at the hotel and used the facilities. First impressions are good. Although it's near the M road and a busy intersection I found little or no... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pengadil
Management response:

Dear Pengadil, We are delighted to see you enjoyed the food and your partner the Spa, we shall discuss the issues raised and address appropriately as soon as possible. Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel and we hope you return soon. Kind Regards, Ivan Lynch, General Manager. More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

shower cold so average review. was offered breakfast as compensation but was unable to take up the offer. clean and comfortable.... good nights sleep but the lack of a hot shower in the morning was very disappointing.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
Management response:

Dear Andrew J, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, we are sorry to see there were issues with the water, I am sure we have looked into and addressed, we hope it will not deter you returning and look forward to welcoming you in the near future. Kind Regards, Ivan Lynch, General Manager. More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We purchased the Christmas package and stayed overnight on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day for Xmas 2015, vacating on the afternoon of Boxing Day. We had a lovely festive break and would highly recommend you booking the same if you are looking to escape for Christmas. The hotel offers various Christmas packages to enable your stay to be as long... More 

Helpful?
Thank 999Rachel999
Management response:

Dear 999Rachel999, We really do appreciate your excellent review and are delighted you enjoyed you stay. The approach to Christmas has obviously stirred up some special memories, glad we are part of them. Kind Regards, Ivan Lynch, General Manager. More 

Haworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Firstly the decor and atmosphere is very dour and old fashioned and the whole place would benefit from a more modern/classy upgrade. The spa/heat treatment rooms were absolutely excellent, we really enjoyed spending time in there and its a great feature of the hotel. Dinner in the bar was also good and was one of the best burgers I've had... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Peter J
Management response:

Dear Peter J, It is good to see you enjoyed the Spa and dinner in the Restaurant whilst with us recently. Not so happy you experienced issues with the breakfast offering and service I shall certainly visit and address with the F&B team. The nature and layout of the building and it's extended blocks does present some logistical challenges and... More 

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Food was amazing and spa was fantastic. Stayed one night and will be coming back. Was a great hotel for couples and weddings. The staff were very helpful. The hotel is very large and views are wonderful

Helpful?
Thank anthonythack
Management response:

Dear anthonythack, Thank you for your wonderful feedback, hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Ivan Lynch, General Manager. More 

321 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (291)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (158)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton-le-Moors
9.5 km away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
5.8 km away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
910 reviews
0.8 km away
The Maple Lodge
The Maple Lodge
#1 of 3 in Clayton-le-Moors
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Sparth House Hotel
Sparth House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Clayton-le-Moors
204 reviews
19.4 km away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
706 reviews
5.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Mytton Fold Hotel & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa is situated in 17 acres of parkland. Combining a traditional setting with modern technology, our hotel offers both an enjoyable weekend getaway, or facilities for business meetings & conferences. Also featuring a luxury spa, with 8 beauty suites, & Cameo Restaurant & Bar, a relaxed dining experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa

Address: Blackburn Road, Clayton-le-Moors BB5 5JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Clayton-le-Moors
Price Range: $131 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel And Spa
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel Clayton Le Moors
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
over a year ago
LANCASHIRE, UK

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cross your fingers and hope your neighbours don't slam their doors.”
 of 5 bubbles Pengadil, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Outside block cottage like appartments”
 of 5 bubbles Becs182, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“quieter rooms are the executive ones- but then you'll be in for a very long walk- some of which is via a covered but open air walkway”
 of 5 bubbles PhilandFrances, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the modernised section through the Pendle suite.”
 of 5 bubbles EP55, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“They all seem good”
 of 5 bubbles 395iang, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay