We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa

02/04/2017 03/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,380 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,365: English reviews
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2015 via mobile

Attended our nephews wedding here and stayed over. Was very dubious regards the negative reviews on TA but understand why. Hotel, room and wedding were great. The wedding was well organised and the young lady who led this was brilliant. However, the customer service and miserable staff let the hotel down. Staff don't seem bothered, looked miserable and not prepared...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scottmaxted
h6617_dm, Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Scottmaxted, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us here at the Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel and Spa. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel and wedding so much but very disappointed regarding your comments on the staff interaction. This is something we regularly get compliments for. Please be rest assured...

Reviewed 31 August 2015 via mobile

Booked a 2 night stay with my fiancée to celebrate a special occasion. Was offered to upgrade room for £15 per night to superior room just before arrival via email. On arrival paid £30 for the 2 night upgrade and were given an executive room (707). Bed was very hard and not what I would deem "executive". It was also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1,149,880
h6617_dm, Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience at the Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel And Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Your comments have been reviewed and investigated by myself and adjustments have been made to our service as a result I...

Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2015 via mobile

Did not stay, merely at bridge event there. Staff helpful, friendly but not really competent. Dinner designed on coach party standards - but we weren't a party, merely individuals playing in a tournament. Lovely looking place, friend said rooms ok.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David S
h6617_dm, Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear David S, Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to the Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel. I am glad to read that you thought the staff were friendly and you appreciated the hotel and surroundings. We treat every guest who stays here as an individual with the standards you would expect at 4 star...

Wallingford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2015 via mobile

This hotel is chosen by my employer, probably due to cost. It has seen better days. The food is fine for the venue and there is a good selection for breakfast. The room I had though was so tired and the carpet was so stained that I didn't want to walk on it with bare feet. If it cannot be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracy N
Ivan L, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Tracy N, I am disappointed to see you did not enjoy your stay, we are particularly busy with corporate clients and have many frequent stays, we would love to have the opportunity to improve your opinion of our hotel. Please do contact me directly should your company wish you to visit the area again and I shall make the...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 21 August 2015 via mobile

It's a very unique looking hotel until you get to your room. It is extremely warm in the rooms, even with the windows open. The plumbing was off. The beds okay. The gym was good. The front desk staff were lovely.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shannon A
Ivan L, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Shannon L, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and we are sorry to see the room was uncomfortable, we have a small number of rooms with air-conditioning, the age of the build makes it quite difficult to deal with. I will get the maintenance team to look into the plumbing issues.I shall pass on your...

Reviewed 19 August 2015

I was hoping that, given the setting and the type of building, that this hotel would be good value for money and provide something special. Unfortunately this was not the case. I had come to this area as I needed to visit the head office for the company I work for over a couple of days. The condition of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luke S
Ivan L, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Luke S, I will look into the points raised and I am happy to discuss, please feel free to give me a call at the hotel. I am disappointed that the problems in the Restaurant were not dealt with at the time as one would have expected. There are upcoming plans to refurbish sections of the building and bedrooms...

Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2015

The building is stunning , the grounds are beautiful , that's where the good ends. Once you go inside the service is good but slow, the food in the main restaurant is very poor and over priced as is the bar. This place is trying to be a five star with 3 star limitations The room 307 £140 for the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank monkey170
Ivan L, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Monkey 170, We are disappointed to see you were not entirely satisfied with your stay, do please contact me to discuss, we would love to get another chance to prove ourselves. Kind Regards Ivan Lynch General Manager

Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

myself and my family stayed in a family room with a pull out sofa bed and a double bed. Unfortunately the sofa bed was so uncomfortable to sleep on because of metal bars running through the middle of it and only had a wafer thin mattress and the base had dropped. I complained to the hotel and was told there...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bigads123
Ivan L, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Bigads123, Sorry to see we did not provide a comfortable nights sleep for one of your guests upon your recent stay. In normal circumstances we would have moved rooms or got a replacement bed from elsewhere, our business levels that evening did not allow us to do so. I would be happy to ensure an experience more likely to...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2015 via mobile

I stayed here one night in August, the rooms are very spacious with good facilities, clean and nicely done, but the rooms are so far away from the main hotel, they should run a taxi service (joking) the shower wasn't great, bit of a trickle. I had dinner in the restaurant and the starter was fine although pricey the fish...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jimbo367
Ivan L, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jimbo367, Thank you for your positive comments and sorry to see there were some issues with your shower and Fish & Chips. We shall discuss and make the necessary improvements immediately. The rooms in the Executive Wing are a bit of a walk at about 120 metres from reception and there is the need to go outside to access,...

Bolton
Reviewed 14 August 2015 via mobile

Weekend away.....romantic break Too expensive .....not peaceful Too busy with weddings to be quiet retreat. Not for us again didn't like mooching about with wedding guests and families when we are on a romantic break from the hustle and bustle of the week

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank laineyw999
Ivan L, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Iaineyw999, Sorry to see your plan quiet getaway was spoiled, at this time of the year we are very busy with Weddings and the turnaround from day to day is quite hectic. Most areas of the hotel are in use and whilst it is busy, there is structure and organisation to proceedings. If you wish to visit again please...

334 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (306)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (58)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (162)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton-le-Moors
9.5 km away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
1.6 km away
Sparth House Hotel
Sparth House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Clayton-le-Moors
223 reviews
5.8 km away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 km away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
903 reviews
0.8 km away
The Maple Lodge
The Maple Lodge
#1 of 3 in Clayton-le-Moors
184 reviews
19.4 km away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa is situated in 17 acres of parkland. Combining a traditional setting with modern technology, our hotel offers both an enjoyable weekend getaway, or facilities for business meetings & conferences. Also featuring a luxury spa, with 8 beauty suites, & Cameo Restaurant & Bar, a relaxed dining experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa

Address: Blackburn Road, Clayton-le-Moors BB5 5JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Clayton-le-Moors
Price Range: $110 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel And Spa
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel Clayton Le Moors
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
over a year ago
LANCASHIRE, UK

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a premier room- they were ordinary so can't imagine what the standards are like!”
 of 5 bubbles ITTS, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in a room that over looked a small courtyard and over looking a fountain”
 of 5 bubbles 492judithj, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“we upgraded - it is worth the extra”
 of 5 bubbles MaxineW811, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If in the courtyard ask for a ground floor room to avoid stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles ac88fairfield, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor on the courtyard is handy for everything.”
 of 5 bubbles Gedoflittlelever, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$73
Travelocity
Booking.com
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates