We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Scalford Hall Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Scalford Hall Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

732 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 732: English reviews
Start your review of Scalford Hall Hotel
 Click to rate
Grantham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Visited with a friend who had a voucher. We were offered a very wide selection of teas. I don't drink tea and ordered a cappuccino for an additional cost of £2.50. It wasn't particularly nice to be honest - l ordered regular coffee later on which was fine. If l was going to be picky, l would say that prawn...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie6468
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I booked a night away here in August 2016 for my husbands birthday, I also asked for wine, fruit and chocolates in the room. It went downhill from arriving very quickly.  Firstly we noticed a large gazebo being erected at the side of the hotel, apparently a large wedding party with a live band was also booked.  When shown to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Angela T
ScalfordHallGM, General Manager at Scalford Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Angela T Many thanks for your review, its difficult for me to comment on your experience as I took over the position as general manager at the beginning of this year and don't have any reference to your stay from August. Kind regards Julian

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Check in was quick, our room wasn't ready but we left our bags at reception. The hotel is a bit dated but staff said they were in the middle of a rwfurb in stages. Will book again. We never ate so can't comment on food. Staff are. Why helpful. The walls in the room are a little thin as could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel R
ScalfordHallGM, General Manager at Scalford Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rachel R Thank you for your feedback, it really does help us to reflect on the business through our customers eyes. The hotel is historic and whilst we are moving through a refurbishment programme we will continue to preserve the character of it's past and try and introduce a few modern twists, its exciting! Next time you stay you...

Derby
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was the worst Sunday Lunch I have ever been served. The soup had a funny taste. The Mozarella salad was bland, Pate was shop bought definitely not made in the kitchen. The roast dinner a carvery, the beef was that tough we could not eat it, we did have this exchanged for the turkey which was better. When presented...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank tinkerbel59
ScalfordHallGM, General Manager at Scalford Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tinkerbel59 Thank you for your feedback, I am a little confused as my Operations Manager dealt with your feedback on the day and you received a full meal which was as they say 'polished off' (Empty plates do speak volumes). When you had a check back from my Operations manager you were, at this point, happy with the service...

Loughborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed for one night on the Half Board option . We live just half an hour away and its a great place for an escape . The room had everything we expected but the evening meal had much more than expected , 3 courses of top quality food served by very hard working staff ! Breakfast very nice too ,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank colin f
ScalfordHallGM, General Manager at Scalford Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Colin f Thank you for your review and I'm delighted that you enjoyed your escape all be it on the doorstep. Our newly formed team of chef's have indeed transformed our food offering and the feedback on all that they produce is positive. I'm pleased that you were able to experience the quality of food and the high level...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I was working in the area so my family surprised me by booking a room so I didn't have to travel home. Impressive looking place from the outside but then I went down to the games room with the kids. Omg this place is DIRTY/ DISGUSTING. We got out of there quick and didn't come back out of the room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank trevslimit
ScalfordHallGM, General Manager at Scalford Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Trevslimit Thank you for your review and your very valued opinion. The games room is in need of a refurbishment which we are working through at the moment. The hotel isn't dirty but staying in your room for your whole stay you wouldn't really be in a position to comment on the cleanliness of the hotel but it was...

Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

the weekend away was a great improvement on last year - welcome is always good with help from the staff to carry machines upstairs - food was really good and I have to say the lamb was superb- food hot - no faults to speak of - we felt very comfortable and looked after - thank you to all the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FairyQueen54
ScalfordHallGM, General Manager at Scalford Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear FairyQueen54 Thank you for your lovely review and kind comments which I have shared with the team. I'm pleased to note that your weekend was an improvement on last year and we look forward to welcoming you all again very shortly. Kind regards Julian

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a lovely overnight stay with a friend. The staff were very friendly, chatty and helpful. The room was standard but comfy with everything we needed. The new barman was chatty and the service was great. The food was amazing!! The breakfast looked good, I'm not a breakfast person but my friend enjoyed hers and, as a vegetarian was pleased...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anita D
ScalfordHallGM, General Manager at Scalford Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anita D Thank you so much for your lovely review, I'll pass on your comments to the team, in particular the kitchen brigade and new barman and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. kind regards Julian

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2017

We have just completed our 9th year for the HiFiWigwam Show at Scalford and words cannot describe how brilliant it was from start to finish during the three days we were there. Special thanks go Lyndsay and the girls on reception, Sven and Ian on the beverage and organisation and last but not least to David the Head Chef and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
ScalfordHallGM, General Manager at Scalford Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter and Rachel Thank you for your lovely review which I have passed on to the team. Everyone involved thoroughly enjoyed working your event and look forward to seeing you all again next year. Kind regards Julian

Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

Two night stay for business. Very tired interior with strong fusty odour. Good sized double overlooking the rear courtyard. Tired decor, stained carpet, no TV remote. Cleanish but not really clean facilities. Breakfast well below par ...luke warm poor quality and clearly precooked. A real shame as providing a good breakfast is such a cornerstone of the hotel trade. Judging...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jane R
ScalfordHallGM, General Manager at Scalford Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jane R Thank you so much for your review and I'm pleased you liked your good sized double room with its views which I agree are fabulous. I've taken on board your comments regarding breakfast and we are currently working through this offering to make sure the most important meal of the day is executed perfectly every day whether...

255 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (211)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (13)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (101)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melton Mowbray
4.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Sysonby Knoll Hotel
BEST WESTERN Sysonby Knoll Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
387 reviews
8.3 km away
Stapleford Park
Stapleford Park
#1 of 1 in Stapleford
906 reviews
3.8 km away
Premier Inn Melton Mowbray Hotel
Premier Inn Melton Mowbray Hotel
#3 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Harboro Hotel
Harboro Hotel
#4 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
238 reviews
3.8 km away
Quorn Lodge Hotel
Quorn Lodge Hotel
#5 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
218 reviews
20.9 km away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Scalford Hall cater for weddings and have a range of set packages along with the option to create a tailor made package just for you. We also hold a civil ceremony and civil partnership licence, enabling you to hold both your ceremony and reception here at Scalford Hall Hotel. Here at Scalford Hall Hotel we also have our very own Gym and Games Room, which is free of charge exclusively for residents. Scalford Hall Hotel has 80 bedrooms, 9 meeting rooms, 10 syndicate rooms and large event room catering for up to 500 guests. In addition there are 2 private dining rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Scalford Hall Hotel

Address: Scalford Road, Melton Mowbray LE14 4UB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Melton Mowbray
Price Range: $112 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scalford Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotel.de, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scalford Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scalford Hall Hotel Melton Mowbray
Scalford Hall Melton Mowbray
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Scalford Hall Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Scalford Hall Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“not over the kitchen as nosiy early in the morning”
FairyQueen54, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“180 and 181 Suites are excellent.”
CorkandClawTeam, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask to see a photo of it before you book”
740yvonner, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose a good room - elsewhere.”
M9446TLkeithh, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“No lifts older manor style so long stairs to floors”
345brianh, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5