We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Windmill Hotel

14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Windmill Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

45 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 44: English reviews
Start your review of The Windmill Hotel
 Click to rate
London, England
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was staying in town last week at another place up the road and having had a very average meal the night before my friend and I decided to try this place for a meal instead. We weren't too surprised to see some other people from our hotel here who were also a bit disappointed with what was on offer...

Thank Rangi27
Ronald W, Manager at The Windmill Hotel, responded to this review

We thank this person for their review of our restaurant. We pride ourselves on the standard of our cuisine and our service and believe our prices are very competitive.

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was hard to find as the name of the hotel is up high on the wall and there's no other signs. This place is a bar/pub and indian restaurant as well as being a hotel. When I arrived I was greeted with 'you're very late' followed by 'you don't get breakfast' very rude. I hadn't opted for breakfast though...

Thank Ceri T
Ronald W, Manager at The Windmill Hotel, responded to this review

We thank this guest for their comments and apologise if they did not enjoy their stay. However, a few points have been extremely exaggerated and need clarification. Firstly, we are open and honest in our advertisements regarding the Indian restaurant and guests are advised not to book with us if this presents a problem. Secondly, we had not been advised...

Reviewed 10 March 2017

Stayed one night on top floor. Room basic but ok. The hotel has an Indian restaurant attached to it which leaves a strong curry smell throughout the downstairs. This is not a pleasant experience and put me off coming again. Bed was a small double and uncomfortable. Won't be going back as there will be better places nearby for the...

Thank Redrobin105
Ronald W, Manager at The Windmill Hotel, responded to this review

We take note of the comments left by this guest. Our facilities and amenities are openly advertised on our listings and this is reflected in our pricing policy. The kitchen and restaurant are both on the ground floor and adjacent to each other and the aroma Indian food does pervade somewhat. However, if these guests had read our advertisement they...

Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Swift reception service, very friendly staff all up for a laugh, super quick to resolve any sort of issue. Spacious, clean room, warm Restaurant is very nice food and very clean.. will not hesitate to return.

Thank Sarah M
Ronald W, General Manager at The Windmill Hotel, responded to this review

We thank this guest for her glowing comments, it makes all the hard work seem totally worthwhile. We sincerely hope she has the opportunity to visit us again.

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in this hotel. The room was basic but warm and comfortable. The Indian cuisine served in the restaurant is excellent and the staff are both helpful and friendly. I would definitely stay here again.

Thank tazul292
Ronald W, Manager at The Windmill Hotel, responded to this review

We thank this guest for their positive review of our hotel and offer an invitation to stay with us again in the future.

Reviewed 26 September 2016

Not somewhere I would be returning to in a hurry, Not worth the money, wasn't very clean, all mattresses were loopy, stained n smelt fusty, the sofa bed was filfy towels smelt damp, carpet was dirty (socks went in the bin), none matching bedding all mismatched, one double plug socket so if u wanted to watch tv (kept loosing signal)...

1Thank Leanne L
Ronald W, Manager at The Windmill Hotel, responded to this review

We apologise if this guest did not enjoy their stay with us however, there are some comments which need clarifying. Firstly, our rooms are cleaned thoroughly and bedding/towels are changed every day. There is no lift as we are a grade 2 listed building and do not have room for on, but a 1000 steps is an exaggeration. All rooms...

Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed for one night in room 203 (family room) and it was just what we needed to be near our beach hut at Sutton on Sea. Our room was spacious and comfortable. They arranged a travel cot for our baby which we really appreciated. The bathroom could do with updating however as it was very clean we were not...

1Thank CatherineHill
Ronald W, Manager at The Windmill Hotel, responded to this review

We thank these guests for their honest review. It is always gratifying to receive a good review. We always strive to satisfy the needs of our guests. We accept that the rooms are dated, but they are in keeping with the age of the building. However, we will be updating and re-decorating the rooms this autumn/winter. We hope these guests...

Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

This hotel is a family run business and is really nice. The rooms are really clean with tea and coffee making facilities. Downstairs there is an Indian restaurant that doubles up as the breakfast room. The Indian food is so tasty as well. There is also a bar with jukebox and pool table. The bar prices are not bad. I...

Thank Colin L
Ronald W, Manager at The Windmill Hotel, responded to this review

This guest was a pleasure to accommodate and we wish to extend an invitation to stay with us again. The positive comments make all our efforts seem worth while. We are a family run business and always strive to create a comfortable environment which we evidently achieved in this instant.

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2016

basic but clean, no ghosts this time, breakfast very good. thanks to Ron and his team++++++++++++++++ we use this hotel ,because its close to mabelthorpe,struby,and cadwell park, ideal for overnight stops,

Thank graham e e
Ronald W, Manager at The Windmill Hotel, responded to this review

We are always delighted to welcome returning guests. We thank them for their honest comments and trust they will return again. They will always be more than welcome here.

Oldbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2016

We stayed at The Windmill Hotel for one night whilst we were in the area for a wedding. The room was really comfortable, the breakfast delicious and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again 😀.

Thank kemarsh
Ronald W, Manager at The Windmill Hotel, responded to this review

We would like to thank these guests wholeheartedly, for their kind and positive review. It was a pleasure accommodating them and we invite them to come and stay again.

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (1)
Hotel & Grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (14)
Room/Suite (4)
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Dining (1)
Other (3)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alford
8.5 km away
The Grange & Links
The Grange & Links
#1 of 3 in Sutton-on-Sea
344 reviews
0.1 km away
Half Moon Hotel and Restaurant
11.9 km away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#13 of 26 in Skegness
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 km away
Best Western Plus Kenwick Park Hotel
28.9 km away
Petwood Hotel
Petwood Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
871 reviews
17.8 km away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#7 of 26 in Skegness
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hotel is an 18th-century coaching house located in the historic market town of Alford, Lincolnshire, England. If you are planning a trip to the Lincolnshire coast, whether it be a one night stop over to a full week, the Windmill will endeavour to accommodate your needs. All of our rooms are en-suite and offer value for money. We have a well stocked bar offering a wide range of beers, wines and spirits. In addition our Indian restaurant offers top quality cuisine. We are also a pet friendly hotel. You will always find a warm and pleasant atmosphere awaiting you from the staff at the Windmill Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Windmill Hotel

Address: 10 Market Place, Alford LN13 9EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Alford
Price Range: $97 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Windmill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Windmill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Windmill Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take a nose clip to avoid curry smell.”
Redrobin105, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“nothing could be changed thank you so much”
sammy684, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Top floor quieter”
iains35, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Stay on the 2nd floor if it's the weekend!”
LittleMissBea, 13 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Only 8 rooms, and unfortunately ours was on the second floor, so it wasn't really suitable for disabled persons”
karenmC9945NT, 26 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
* /night
View Deal
View all 10 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates