We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

700 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 693: English reviews
Grimbergen, Belgium
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel is at a crossroad of motorways which is convenient. Unfortunately they forgot sound insulation for the windows. Staying in room 220 was also a challenge as the bathroom fan sounded like a helicopter hovering above your head. Why do you need this strong extraction? There is no gas heating anywhere near. The room.is comfortable and nicely refurbished. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
Darren H, Sales Executive at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review

Hello Linda, Thank you for your feedback but we're sorry to hear that your stay was disrupted. Our aim to ensure every guest has a relaxing and comfortable stay with us and we're sorry that on this occasion that didn't happen. The noise issue has been raised and we're working hard to address the problem but if you could please...

Gt Yarmouth
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Often stop here when visiting Darlington. Good Italian restaurant, had meat feast pizza with a fruit salad to finish at reasonable prices. Quality was great. Rooms were modern, clean and tidy. Beer is a fair price but the Moretti Italian lager was £4.50 a pint. Enjoyed my stay and will call again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Per W
Darren H, Sales Executive at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Per, we're glad that you enjoyed your stay here at Scotch Corner.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for two nights as I was working nearby. Hotel is easy to locate, and looks quite grand and imposing on approach. Free parking, and friendly reception staff (though the Christmas tree in reception was so large, the reception desk was almost hidden!). Friendly & professional staff, room was modern & clean and decorated in the usual Holiday Inn livery....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PDScotland
Darren H, Sales Executive at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback PDScotland, We're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again.

Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Traditional from the outside, anything but traditional on the inside. Never had a small room, great friendly staff, plenty of car parking and the food, either breakfast or dinner is always to a good standard

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bigbird1960
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here with my husband for a night when we visit a place in Scotch Corner. Comfortable, beautiful and quiet room. Lovely breakfast. Good value for money. Staffs were friendly and professional.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank einna218
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have stayed here many times on the past. We always book an executive room as there is more space for our little one. I emailed prior to arrival and asked for a baby cot. This was assembled in the room before we checked in. The room was clean, warm and spacious. There was a function on so the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danielle E
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

After a gruelling 5 hour trip we arrived at 8.30pm to be greeted by a most pleasant receptionist who politely acknowledged my IHG platinum and promptly comped a few free drinks and an upgraded exec. Room. One of the quickest and smoothest checkins ever! The room was a good size, very comfortable and quiet and well equipped- sleep was effortless....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
Penrith, Australia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

My family and I arrived from Amsterdam after a long trip from Australia, to stay at this hotel for one night, before attending a wedding nearby. It was perfect for the one night we stayed. Room's were clean, warm and very comfortable. Breakfast was more than adequate and staff very welcoming and friendly. A very pleasant stay. Would recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dynamite17
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

Subject: Holiday Inn Scotch Corner. Awful experience at the Scotch Corner Holiday Inn. We were allocated room 130, which was on the first floor and located next to the supplies room. There were 2 fold up beds outside of our room for the whole of the time and a lot of noise from what we assumed was staff accessing the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 661jad
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review

Dear 661jad, Thank you for bringing your concern to my attention. I am very sorry for the troubles that you've experienced because of some issues with your room's location and how your concern was handled. It is our goal to always provide the best hotel experience to our guests and your comments will help us know what areas we need...

Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2016

The hotel was very nice and the staff very helpful. We were not told there was a party on and the music was on until 1am so we had very little sleep. If they had told us before hand we would not have stayed, Very disappointing.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Shaun B
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review

Dear Shaun B, Thank you for your stay and your comments. We're so sorry to hear that you had a noisy stay with us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. In line with this, we...

169 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (93)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scotch Corner
17.2 km away
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
0.4 km away
Travelodge Scotch Corner A1 Southbound
1.9 km away
Travelodge Scotch Corner Skeeby
Travelodge Scotch Corner Skeeby
#2 of 3 in Scotch Corner
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
590 reviews
18.2 km away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
2,910 reviews
11.7 km away
Premier Inn Darlington Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Darlington-A1 Scotch Corner is ideally located for both the business and leisure traveller. This landmark hotel is on the junction of the A1 and the A66 near Darlington, and close to the towns of Catterick and Stockton-on-Tees with Middlesbrough just a short drive away. Whether you are visiting the area for a business or leisure stay or simply breaking your journey you can be assured a great stay. You will be staying on the doorstep to the breathtaking Yorkshire Dales and the delightful medieval market town of Richmond. If you are staying a little longer you won't be disappointed. The hotel has 91 bedrooms, an Italian Restaurant and leisure facilities adjacent to the hotel for guests which include a pool and fully equipped gym. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner

Address: Junction A1 / A66 Richmond Scotch Corner | near Darlington, Scotch Corner DL10 6NR, England (Formerly Scotch Corner Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scotch Corner
Price Range: $78 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darlington a1 Scotch Corner Hotel Scotch Corner
Scotch Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel Scotch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Durham, United Kingdom
6 months ago
Newcastle, United Kingdom
10 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a ground floor room if you have mobility issues.”
 of 5 bubbles jannyannel, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The rooms are the back are quietest.”
 of 5 bubbles vicrosi, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Pay the extra money when booking and take the executive room”
 of 5 bubbles 885DavidM885, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the front are noisy from the roundabout”
 of 5 bubbles owbel, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We were on the ground floor facing the rear, very quiet:)”
 of 5 bubbles kevino185, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay