We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Hog's Head Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alnwick
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Hog\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

479 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Hog's Head Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 477: English reviews
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2016

We had friend's xmas party there with the mimic men, dinner bed and breakfast. The mimic men were terrible but the band they had on after was brilliant. The pate was not good and we got a carvery instead of table service. We paid over the odds for bottles of wine when later in the night we found out we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimmi1234
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

Sorry you didn't enjoy the Mimic Men, I'll pass on your comments to the general manager.

Wallsend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Went there for our Xmas dinner night out with a band and comedy duo. First course was the pate which was rock hard and tasted of chewed cardboard.next was the Xmas dinner it came a a carvery poor .last cheese board with mouldy grapes.i didn't think it could get any worse how wrong I was the table we had was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stevebr666
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear about your experience, we have received a lot of positive feed back regarding our party night's how ever - I will pass your comment's on to the management team.

Thornbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 December 2016

Joined a large family gathering to celebrate a wedding at a nearby venue. Location of hotel on a trading estate adjacent to A1 was a little cncern but hotel looked good, well maintained and welcoming. Rooms were surprisingly large, in very good decorative order, clean and well appointed for a three star establishment. Sound proofing effective as A1 was unobtrusive....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David E
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to leave this review. So sorry to hear this, we always appreciate feedback and please be assured your comments about our food will be passed on. Hope to see you again and give us another try!

Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Several members of our immediate & extended family plus friends stayed here whilst visiting Alnwick to celebrate a special family wedding at Alnwick Gardens Treehouse. Excellent location & high standard of service from the Hogs Inn. Friendly staff who were prepared to make this a special stay. Excellent rooms & good food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for your kind words about us. Hope you come back and enjoy your stay again.

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2016

Just spent 3 nights here for a wedding. Rooms clean and comfortable but it was the staff who made it. They were so friendly and accommodating would recommend anyone wanting to visit the beautiful Northumberland coast to consider the Hog's Head Inn as a base.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jomaro1425
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

We do aim to achieve the best customer service to the highest standard, so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Please do come back and stay again!

NORTHEAST ENGLAND
Reviewed 22 November 2016

Having been before and enjoyed our meal we decided to go again WE were a party of nine and booked over table for five pm had to wait one hour for the meal to be served then having ordered a large gammon meal a small one was served in fairness they did say that it could be changed,we asked for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PERCYWOOD
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

I'm very sorry to hear this, we always appreciate feedback and please be assured your comments about our service and food will be passed on.

Uk
Reviewed 16 November 2016

We have stayed here several times , this time it was a bargain , dinner, bed and breakfast. We were given a room on the ground floor and the only niggle is that the shower was slightly feeble whereas the stand in shower is more powerful upstairs. The evening meals were varied and absolutely brilliant. All staff were polite and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 13den
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for the 5* rating! Really appreciate the comments, we do take great pride in our services and aim for the highest standard in every area. Be sure to book back in with us before the 31st of March and get a brilliant deal! Dinner, bed & breakfast starting at only 49.95 pppn! Hope to...

UK
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Stayed with my wife recently for a family wedding. Booking in was very easy, we phoned ahead as we had travelled quite a distance and we're going to arrive a little earlier than planned, when we arrived they had managed to accommodate our request and we went to our room. We were on the side of the hotel near the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mickeybUK
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for your kind words. Really appreciate the 5 stars, we do take great pride in our services and aim for the highest standard in every area. Hope to see you again in the near future!

Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights last weekend whilst attending a friends wedding. Our double room was very spacious and comfortable. The standard of cleanliness was also very high. Unfortunately we did experience trouble with our electricity cutting out. However the man at reception, possibly called Jamie or James?, was extremely helpful and moved us to a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret-Mary R
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

So sorry about the electricity problems and I'm glad Jamie got it resolved pronto for you, I hope you enjoyed the wedding. Thank you for you review, hope to see you again soon.

Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016

In Alnwick for one night only and had a family room at the Hog's Head. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean. Beds are really comfortable. However, the breakfast was awful and had I not paid the bill on arrival I would not have paid for it. As previous posts have indicated the hot food is clearly placed on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gcousins2016
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for taking the time to leave this. We always appreciate feedback and please be assured your comments about our food will be passed on.

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnwick
1.9 km away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
964 reviews
12.7 km away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,144 reviews
11.6 km away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
311 reviews
13.9 km away
Newton Hall
Newton Hall
#1 of 1 in Newton by the Sea
110 reviews
13.8 km away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Hogs Head Inn
Hogs Head Inn
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about The Hog's Head Inn

Address: Hawfinch Drive, Alnwick NE66 2BF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hog's Head Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Hog's Head Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Hog's Head Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“good accessibility on ground floor. Some rooms face onto a road but the double glazing it great - no road noise at all.”
 of 5 bubbles scottishlass026, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try and get away from the A1 side, there is some traffic noise if you open your windows.”
 of 5 bubbles PaulR369, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“You can ask for a dog friendly room or a pet free room”
 of 5 bubbles IreneH742, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Downstairs rooms have baths, upstairs room shower only. Hotel is right next to A1, so could be a little noisy if window open.”
 of 5 bubbles 86kayl, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for rooms at the back as the A1 is next to it and very noisy”
 of 5 bubbles Kimmi1234, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5